We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great introduction to namibia”
Review of Olive Grove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Olive Grove
Ranked #2 of 99 Windhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The guest house was spacious, clean and very central. The room was comfortable with all the conveniences you need. The bathroom had a super shower even though at first it looked a bit basic. The bed was very comfortable and we had a great nights sleep to start our holiday. Staff were friendly and very helpful.The breakfast was prepared as we waited so it was fresh. We were surprised to have a full English out on a small terrace in the morning sun.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carey326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (560)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 560 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2013

We started our Namibia vacation in this place. Arriving very early - at about 8 am. - we were offered breakfast and our room was ready at about 10 am. The personnel was very friendly and helpful. We also got a safe parking place on the premises.
We got some information on Windhoek and indication how to get there walking. It takes abotu half an hour to get into the center. Quite OK during the day, for the evening we were recommended to take a taxi and also got the numer of a safe company.
The room had an opend bath-room and toilet, coloured in olive (what else?). The big tub looked interesting, I just had the feeling that it would not have been very comfortable due to straight walls.
Breakfast was very good. A combination of a buffet and fresh made variations of eggs (namibian with sausage, norwegian with salmon, etc.).
Altogether - a very nice place to begin a vacation with nice people to look after oneself.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed here on our last night in Namibia, on our way from Etosha to a 7.15 flight to Jo'burg.
The bedrooms are comfortable. The hot water bottle and complimentary port were a nice touch during the quite cold winter nights. The bathroom decoration is polished concrete which was fine for us, but not perhaps to everyone's taste.
Dinner is served in an open area closed in with a curtain and a bare concrete ceiling - but its actually quite cosy perhaps due to being in the same room as the kitchen. The dinner was nice.

In the morning we got a couple of wake up calls and were on our way in good time, armed with breakfast packs provided by the hotel (but the sandwich proved too dry to eat...)

So definitely a good spot for an overnight in Windhoek.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oldboltonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The Olive Grove is located quite close to the centre of Windhoek. It has secure off-road parking, comfortable rooms, friendly and helpful staff and an excellent restaurant. We were well looked after and the hot water bottles given as we returned to our room after dinner were a nice surprise (winter nights in Namibia can be cold!). We were able to leave our bags as we shopped for supplies before heading north from Windhoek.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We spent our last night in Namibia here and were very impressed by the friendly, helpful staff and the spacious room that we had. The location is about 10 minutes walk from the city centre, although the hilly layout of Windhoek makes it a bit more of a slog, but the main attractions are all accessible by foot. I'd definitely stay there again

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank RobinS57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

After some long and short plane rides, we landed in Windhoek, our take-off place for our vacation. The Olive Grove Guest House was in a largely residential area and was well appointed. The staff was super friendly and accommodating. If your plane arrives in the early to mid-morning, you will likely have to wait for the previous room occupants to vacate and then for the room cleaning. We were on the upper floor, I believe in room 6. I had read earlier reviews about cooking odors and noisy staff possibly being an issue. When we were there, the staff was not noisy during the day. Some light, agreeable odors came in through a window, and were thwarted by closing the window. The room was very spacious and comfortable and had both a tub and a shower. I appreciated that they used refillable bottles, for shampoo, lotion, etc. We looked at a few of the other rooms upstairs during the cleaning in the morning. They were each different, including the size of the room, however, each was charming. Dinner and breakfast were quite good. Although I believe on the web site it states that central Windhoek is walking distance, they recommended we take a taxi for safety. The Olive Grove has a lot of nice touches such as for bed turn down there were two chocolates and two small individual containers of port, along with hot water bottles in the bed to warm it. A definite recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SusanMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This upscale Bed & Breakfast is located in a suburb of Windhoek. It is suitable for the first or last night of a trip across Namibia. Rooms are clean and the premises are secure; friendly staff who can cook up some good food. The location is conveniently close to downtown Windhoek which makes it easy to stock up on supplies if you are going on a road trip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobetrottingSwede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#2 of 16 in Windhoek
1,400 reviews
1.1 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
1.4 mi away
Hotel Heinitzburg
Hotel Heinitzburg
#3 of 16 in Windhoek
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilltop Guesthouse
Hilltop Guesthouse
#1 of 99 in Windhoek
266 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Olive Exclusive
The Olive Exclusive
#6 of 99 in Windhoek
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olive Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olive Grove

Address: 20 Promenaden Road | P.O. Box 90909, Windhoek 9000, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Windhoek
Price Range: £88 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Olive Grove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olive Grove is a small upmarket accommodation establishment situated close to the city center in a quiet, peaceful area. The guesthouse takes homely atmosphere to a different level. Recently completely refurbished, each room has been decorated and painted with new colour schemes allowing a different feel, but with the same elegant and simplistic emphasis on decor. The open-plan kitchen allows guests to see how meals are prepared, while they enjoy a drink in the lounge. The menu was also reinvented and is now fully a la carte, quite unique for a guesthouse. Home-style food is rounded off with great presentation, pushing up the level of the guesthouse dining experience. Whilst each of the eleven rooms and one suite cater for every need of the most discerning traveller, the emphasis remains one of simplicity and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Olive Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olive Grove Hotel Windhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing