We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Guesthouse In Windhoek”
Review of Olive Grove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Olive Grove
Ranked #2 of 99 Windhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed at Olive Grove before flying to Sossusvlei as part of a tour around Botswana, Zambia and Namibia organised by Melanie at &Beyond. We actually visited Namibia two years ago and were meant to stay here but they were fully booked so we stayed in the Heinitzburg which while lovely I don't think was any more special when it came to interiors (though it is a great spot for sundowners).

The guesthouse is really clean and I know the concrete style isn't to everyone's taste but we love it and had encountered it lots of other places in Namibia. We arrived quite late and as I wasn't sure the kitchen would be open for dinner too late (as it happens it closes around 9 or 9.30pm) I'd booked a table at Joe's Beerhouse down the road. The staff happily called us a cab and we headed off for dinner. We returned, enjoyed the port left in our room and went to bed for a good night's sleep.

Breakfast was excellent, lots of options though we decided on the Namibian. There's a buffet laid out first too, so plenty of muffins etc. to gorge on first. I'd happily stay here again for a night or two.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travjourno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (561)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 561 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed at the Olive Grove twice last year on our visit to Namibia. We enjoyed it so much that we booked again for three stays this year during our visit to Namibia. It is a comfortable, relaxing place. The staff are friendly, but the service has taken a step backwards. This became more apparent with each of the three visits. Stay one: The inside of the toilet lid was dirty - in fact had blood on it. As I needed to use it rather quickly I used my own saniztised wipes to clean it up. The curtains in the room were not only hard to open/close but to even handle felt grubby, and on inspection were more than grubby (Room three). On our second stay the bathroom was nice and clean - curtains still dirty, and we had to ask for several things that should have been in our room.
On our last night in Namibia we were back there. Different room. No towels. I asked and waited nearly half an hour to get them. There was were no biscuits with the coffee and we were not given a turn down service with the extra's that others got.
On the plus side - the food is good and fresh. The staff are always cheerful. One of the staff found someone to clean our car for us, and I am sure that the hire car company have never had such a clean car returned before. Because my husband was sick on the last night and did not have a meal (prepaid) they were happy to negotiate this with me - so thank you very much.
The location is convienient and because of the cheerful staff we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meredith95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RogerWindhoek, Owner at Olive Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you for your kind and, under the circumstances, generous comments about our guesthouse. We are truly mortified to hear your comments about the rooms and housekeeping shortcomings and would like to give you our assurance that we have had a very serious housekeeping and management meeting, and believe that this matter has been resolved. Every room is always supposed to be checked by a manager before the guests check-in, and we will ensure that this system is now consistently and properly followed, to ensure that acceptable, high standards are maintained. Our most sincere apologies for your unfortunate experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Staying at Olive Grove on our first and last nights was an excellent choice : quiet residential area, warm welcome from the the owner and her staff, big nice room with all commodities, good dinners and breakfasts on the terrace and a quiet place near the small plunge pool to relax after or before a long trip !

Room Tip: Room 6, opening on the upper terrace, was very large with comfortable beds, an open bathroom, fridge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grannyG7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed at the Olive Grove for two nights before beginning our tour of Namibia and found the Olive Grove accommodations to be very comfortable and the service to be excellent. Surprisingly our dinners at both the Olive Grove Guesthouse and the Exclusive next door were excellent. We chose to dine at each as the menu is limited but different at each. We actually found dishes at the Olive Grove to be slightly better than at the Exclusive, but the latter has a more beautiful dining area. Prices were similar at both and reasonable. We walked from the Olive to the center of town and back during the daytime and found this to be an easy way to see the city in a few hours.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms are slightly larger but more expensive. If staying on the first floor, try to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monty1424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

A comfortable and relaxing place to take a load off after a long trip. The restaurant at the Olive Exclusive next door is exceptional. Be sure to enjoy a bottle of wine from a superb wine list with the owners, Roger and Lindy.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Philip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed at this facility twice during our safari in Namibia. Rooms were nice, but room temperature not easily regulated. One night we were cold and the other was quite warm. The curtains were not easy to open or close at the doorway; rods very high and curtains were tied to the rod. Lighting in bathrooms could be brighter.

Service was good; especially from restaurant cooks and servers. We ate in the restaurant and the food was good and reasonably priced. Nice selection of starters and main course selections. Very good desserts.

The facility has a small pool and courtyard seating area.

The property is fenced and has a remote controlled entrance gate. There was a safe located in the room to secure valuables.

Allow adequate travel time if you are going to the airport.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fraudsnoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Stayed here one night in August, got there very early in the day and they took care of us and gave us a room fairly quickly. Rooms are nice, but not posh. Beautiful patio outside our room to relax on and enjoy the weather. Food was excellent and service very good.
Location is off the beaten track which I found to be nice.

Room Tip: Get a room on second floor with a patio .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TXtraveler67_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#2 of 17 in Windhoek
1,401 reviews
1.1 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
1.4 mi away
Hotel Heinitzburg
Hotel Heinitzburg
#3 of 17 in Windhoek
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 17 in Windhoek
243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilltop Guesthouse
Hilltop Guesthouse
#1 of 99 in Windhoek
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Olive Exclusive
The Olive Exclusive
#6 of 99 in Windhoek
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olive Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olive Grove

Address: 20 Promenaden Road | P.O. Box 90909, Windhoek 9000, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Windhoek
Price Range: £90 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Olive Grove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olive Grove is a small upmarket accommodation establishment situated close to the city center in a quiet, peaceful area. The guesthouse takes homely atmosphere to a different level. Recently completely refurbished, each room has been decorated and painted with new colour schemes allowing a different feel, but with the same elegant and simplistic emphasis on decor. The open-plan kitchen allows guests to see how meals are prepared, while they enjoy a drink in the lounge. The menu was also reinvented and is now fully a la carte, quite unique for a guesthouse. Home-style food is rounded off with great presentation, pushing up the level of the guesthouse dining experience. Whilst each of the eleven rooms and one suite cater for every need of the most discerning traveller, the emphasis remains one of simplicity and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Olive Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olive Grove Hotel Windhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing