We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great start to a Namibian tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Olive Grove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Olive Grove
Ranked #2 of 97 Windhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A great start to a Namibian tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Arrived late in the evening, so the hotel had already prepared snacks for us. We were warmly welcomed and awoken the next day to the smell of freshly baking bread.

A brief visit but a great start to visiting Namibia

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Globehopper65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    201
    63
    19
    2
See reviews for
68
297
36
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

I absolutely loved my stay here. The service was perfect. Everyone made me feel at home. The executive suite was beautiful. I enjoyed everything here. Sooooooooo relaxing! I will definitely return on my next visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zenseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quijano, spain
Level Contributor
115 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed here first and last night of a month's trip. We arrived late one night, but had advised the hotel and ordered a meal,which was very good. Breakfast the next day again was good. The first room was slightly small, but very comfortable. Our last stay, we had a larger room, with HUGE bathroom.

Both rooms were very comfortable (and with WIFI, which, after over 2 weeks away, was wonderful! Staff were lovely during both stays - I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank quijano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pau, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

A little bit of Heaven, only 15 minutes from Windhoek town center...
We have spent few nights in Olive Grove just before going on a road trip tour in Namibia, and it was such a good choice ! This guest house is intimate, with nice big and comfortable rooms. The atmosphere in the room is very romantic, with a big comfy bed, nice decoration and an amazing big bathroom (including a wonderful stone bathtub and some bubblebath !)
The food of their restaurant is healthy, tasty and refined (i have tried almost all dishes that are on the menu, so trust me I know what I'm talking about ;), we are both french (so extremely picky with food of course ! ;)) but we enjoyed dining there a lot !
The only thing that I didn't like about the place is the red wine, but I'm from Burgundy.. so I have very high expectation in term of wine..
The staff in the hotel is really welcoming and makes you feel like you are home.
The +++ : brandy with chocolate for free brought to you every night in your room !

Room Tip: The luxury rooms are not so different from standard room. The only difference is that they are at 1s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoGagou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

The place is ok for a night or two in Windhoek. Staff was pretty friendly.

Maybe the guesthouse need a little revamp as it seems dated to me. The pool does not look very inviting.

Breakfast was good. Wifi is fast and free.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank endaxi0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Embrun, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed here only as an over-nighter enroute to another location. The hotel is not in a great location and isn't close to any town unless you drive. We arrived about 8pm and had not eaten, we asked about getting a small dinner but all they had was a full menu (no appetizers or smaller dishes) and they offered no alternative. We were leaving to the airport at 7:15pm so we asked the night before if we could get a small breakfast / coffee the next morning before we go (it was included in the priced). The reception staff were non-committal and didn't seem to really care. The other staff provided us a very friendly coffee and breakfast in the morning so I'm guessing its just the reception because the hotel is well rated.

The rooms are spacious but not really my style with cement based bed, floor etc.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FionaEmbrun_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RogerWindhoek, Owner at Olive Grove, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for your comments, which are surprisingly similar to the previous’ guests comments.
Olive Grove is situated in the suburbs of Windhoek and, as per our previous reply, it is literally a 5 minute drive to the main street in the capital city – perhaps your late arrival and early departure did not allow you time to investigate this better. There are two big hotels which are situated right in Independence Avenue, which is the main street of Windhoek.
According to the manager on duty when you arrived, dinner was offered upon your arrival, but this was declined as apparently you had eaten on the plane. Other guests were still busy with dinner, so the kitchen was open and busy. We have a small a’la carte menu, which is displayed on the reception counter, which clearly indicates a choice of starters, mains and desserts, all individually priced to indicate that they can be ordered separately. We also have a light lunch menu and if guests request this for dinner, and provided our kitchen is not too busy with other dinner orders, then we offer this with pleasure too.
Our breakfast starts at 07h00 every morning, a detail which is also mentioned in our welcome letters in the room, but I do apologise if this fact was not properly conveyed to you buy our reception staff.
Your comments about our reception staff are particularly concerning, of course, and we have had a meeting with them to discuss this again.
Please be assured that we take all our guests’ comments very seriously, and that we are confident that the matter of our Reception staff has been adequately addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
47 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed here twice in January.
The hotel is badly located so that one has to take a cab to go anywhere
The reception staff are surly and disinterested. When we requested an early breakfast at 7am we were told we would have to have a packed one from the previous night. At 7am other guests were being served!!
The pool is tiny and has inadequate seating.
There is smoking allowed on the decks, so one cannot open the room windows or doors

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seventy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RogerWindhoek, Owner at Olive Grove, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our guesthouse although, of course, your negative comments are very concerning.
Olive Grove is situated in a residential area, approximately 5 minutes from the city centre by car, and about 20 minutes walking. In a capital city, we don’t think that this is a bad location, but are sorry to hear that you found the location to be inconvenient.
We are very surprised to hear your comments about our reception staff as generally they are always friendly and, we believe, do take pride in their jobs. However, we have obviously discussed your review with them, to ensure that they are aware, and are reminded of the importance of giving our guests their full attention in a friendly and pleasant manner.
The breakfast issue is a complete surprise to us, and to our managers. The staff arrive at 06h30, and by 07h00 we are already serving breakfast. Should anyone request breakfast earlier than 07h00, then we offer them a breakfast tray (we have a small menu available for this), and this breakfast tray is delivered to the guests’ room at their requested time. Should this not be suitable to the guests, then we can do a packed breakfast with pleasure, or depending on the time requested, we will make a plan to have the kitchen open earlier, if necessary. So we really do not understand what happened with your stay; 07h00 is our usual starting breakfast time – it is not even an “early breakfast”, so we can only assume that this was some miscommunication somewhere and we do apologise for the inconvenience caused.
Our pool is small, and we have 6x pool loungers set out around it. We also have a table with 4 chairs next to the pool, and an upstairs ‘relaxation area” with more outdoor seating. Olive Grove is a small, intimate guesthouse – we have never claimed to be anything else.
We kindly request that guests do not smoke inside the rooms or in the dining area, but smoking is permitted on the outside decks – we regret that this caused inconvenience to you. We are not sure whether it would be practical to designate only one outside area for smoking, but we will certainly look at the options.
Once again, thank you for your comments as feedback also helps us assess and improve on our product and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
1.3 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 17 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#2 of 17 in Windhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
4.0 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 17 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Heinitzburg
Hotel Heinitzburg
#4 of 17 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
1.1 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
0.1 mi away
Hilltop Guesthouse
Hilltop Guesthouse
#1 of 97 in Windhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olive Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olive Grove

Property: Olive Grove
Address: 20 Promenaden Road | P.O. Box 90909, Windhoek 9000, Namibia
Phone Number:
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Olive Grove 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olive Grove is a small upmarket accommodation establishment situated close to the city center in a quiet, peaceful area. The guesthouse takes homely atmosphere to a different level. Recently completely refurbished, each room has been decorated and painted with new colour schemes allowing a different feel, but with the same elegant and simplistic emphasis on decor. The open-plan kitchen allows guests to see how meals are prepared, while they enjoy a drink in the lounge. The menu was also reinvented and is now fully a la carte, quite unique for a guesthouse. Home-style food is rounded off with great presentation, pushing up the level of the guesthouse dining experience. Whilst each of the eleven rooms and one suite cater for every need of the most discerning traveller, the emphasis remains one of simplicity and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Olive Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olive Grove Hotel Windhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing