We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All 7 of us were delighted with this guesthouse!”
Review of Olive Grove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Olive Grove
Ranked #3 of 104 Windhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I am a travel agent and led a group of 7 to Namibia in July 2014. Our last night in Windhoek was spent at the Olive Grove Guesthouse. Everyone was totally delighted with the 4 rooms we had and thought the food was absolutely delicious. All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I look forward to bringing another group to Namibia and would not hesitate to stay at the Olive Grove again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ernie0528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 594 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

On our first night in Namibia, we spent a night at the Olive Grove Guesthouse. The suite room was very beautiful (largest bathroom ever!), the location was perfect (very close to center and most popular restaurants) and the staff absolutely lovely. Altogether a lovely experience!

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank OfJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This inn is a bit out of town, with nothing to do unless you get a cab to town. Limited dinner menu, but food was good. Gas lamps on patio had run out of propane, so eating dinner and breakfast was rather cold. Heat was spotty in our room to.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank pjcarnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed 2 nights when we arrived at Windhoek and again 1 night before we left Namibia. Olive Grove is a very nice guesthouse with a friendly staff. The restaurant is very good.

Room 3 is ok and big. The second time we got room 1, which is small, without any chairs or tables and very noisy from carpark and gate. So avoid this room if you can. Luxury rooms on 1. floor are to be preferred.

If you want an even better dinner we can certainly recommend their restaurant next door: The Olive Exclusive.

Room Tip: Avoid room 1. Room 3 is nice and big. Luxury rooms on 1. floor much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Peder K B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed just one night when arrived in the city, the next day going to Wolwedans. The room is very simple, the entrance door in the room is with glasses and you need a curtain to have privacy. Since we were going to an isolated place in the next day, it was not a problem. Good to start to not rely on any comfort. We had dinner at the hotel and it was ok.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank RicardoFromBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

After all the glowing reviews, we were a little disappointed with Olive Grove. The cement-based décor was fine, but the whole place is starting to look worn around the edges and feel a bit tired. A bit of renovation in the rooms could go a long way. All employees we encountered were very nice and happy to answer any questions. We left quite early and they prepared a packed breakfast bag for us, but sadly the contents weren't very high quality.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jiaotze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Olive Grove was our first hotel on our first trip to Namibia. We had a standard room, thus there was a restaurant in front of our door - yet we didn't feel disturbed at all, maybe because we was mostly outside. The room was pretty, clean and comfortable, well actually I can't think of anything negative about it.

The walking distance from the city center is some 20 minutes, so no need for a taxi. To tell the truth the personnel didn't recommend walking by foot because there were cases of robbery on the way, yet we didn't notice anything dangerous.

After reading that the hotel's restaurant were one of the best in Windhoek we stayed for the dinner, and it turned out to be one of the weakest dinners in Namibia. I suppose that it just was a bad luck, maybe the chef got a wrong peace of meat, I don't know, the steak was pretty hard. Breakfast was way better.

On the overall we have enjoyed our stay, felt safe and comfortable, the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tomasz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 17 in Windhoek
1,473 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Heinitzburg
Hotel Heinitzburg
#2 of 17 in Windhoek
387 reviews
4 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#6 of 17 in Windhoek
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Windhoek Gardens Guest House
0.1 mi away
Hilltop Guesthouse
Hilltop Guesthouse
#1 of 104 in Windhoek
296 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Olive Exclusive
The Olive Exclusive
#4 of 104 in Windhoek
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olive Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olive Grove

Address: 20 Promenaden Road | P.O. Box 90909, Windhoek 9000, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 104 B&Bs / Inns in Windhoek
Price Range: £97 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Olive Grove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olive Grove is a small upmarket accommodation establishment situated close to the city center in a quiet, peaceful area. The guesthouse takes homely atmosphere to a different level. Recently completely refurbished, each room has been decorated and painted with new colour schemes allowing a different feel, but with the same elegant and simplistic emphasis on decor. The open-plan kitchen allows guests to see how meals are prepared, while they enjoy a drink in the lounge. The menu was also reinvented and is now fully a la carte, quite unique for a guesthouse. Home-style food is rounded off with great presentation, pushing up the level of the guesthouse dining experience. Whilst each of the eleven rooms and one suite cater for every need of the most discerning traveller, the emphasis remains one of simplicity and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Olive Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olive Grove Hotel Windhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing