We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax, enjoy and adhere to the luxury”
Review of GocheGanas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
GocheGanas
Certificate of Excellence
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
412 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Relax, enjoy and adhere to the luxury”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Location is what half of the experience of this lodge is about. We enjoyed the view from the hill, but more the luxury in the huts. Lage bath tube, out door show er on the balcony and excellent roomservice (even a warm botte for the col mountain nights). The food was good notwithstanding what other say. Limited choice, but what can one expect in the wilderness. Service was good; all where really willing to help.
We die a guided walking safari which was a nice experience. They offer many things to do on your own. All together a place to relax, enjoy and take holidays as they should be: without worries.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ortwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GocheGanas N, Team GocheGanas at GocheGanas, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Ortwin
We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us but also had a wonderful journey through the Nature Reserve. Thank you so much for the positive feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Team GocheGanas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    75
    26
    6
    2
See reviews for
58
161
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This place was so amazing that we cancelled our last nights accommodation on our return from Etosha so we could go back. The view is truly spectacular. Make sure you ask to have breakfast outside so you can watch the giraffes. The rooms are beautiful with gorgeous baths you can recline in with a view outside. The food was incredible and the staff are friendly. In real life it even more stunning than the pictures. We weren't even going to have a stop off near Windhoek on our trip but huge thanks to our travel agent Rose Hipwood @http://www.theluxurysafaricompany.com/ who knew what she doing as the stay here really made our holiday extra special.

Room Tip: We stayed at room 4 and room 16. Room 4 has a better bed as it's a superking size. Room 16 is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller200926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GocheGanas N, Team GocheGanas at GocheGanas, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear guest

Thanks a lot for giving your kind evaluation and using descriptions like "incredible" and "fabulous". We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you back on any future visits in Windhoek.

Best regards
Team GocheGanas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
196 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This to be a 4.5 star venue? The view is definitely so, but old towels in the bath rooms, hangers that are as old as the establishment, unfriendly management staff, food that belongs in a 2-star establishment makes me wonder where Gocheganas got their 4.5 star rating from. The last time I've been there..... Then again the prices are that of a 4-5 star venue....

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Horst S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GocheGanas N, GocheGanas Team at GocheGanas, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Mr. Horst,
Thank you for rating the view 4 - 5 star. The GocheGanas Lodge view is definitely unique and breathtaking.
The other statements you mention we rate as unreasonable to a great extent. Of course, we are very disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay at GocheGanas and we do our utmost to please every guest at all time. The GocheGanas Team is focusing on highest possible standards constantly and we certainly use all comments constructively.
With best regards,
Team GocheGanas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The rooms are absolutely wonderful and the bathroom had a fantastic view on the mountains. The week-end getaway was exactly what i expected from an upmarket establishment. The food and cocktails was wonderful, with friendly and assisting staff. The wellness center is tranquil and a swim in the heated pool a must. the Giraffes are almost domesticated and were in view distance of mere meters. Value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melanideklerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GocheGanas N, Team GocheGanas at GocheGanas, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear guest
We want to say thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Your great feedback is extremely appreciated and we would love to welcome you again at GocheGanas.

Best regards,
Team GocheGanas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We had a great time at Gocheganas. The staff was really friendly and helpful. The food was really delicious. The spa treatments were also enjoyed very much. We wish we could have stayed for longer. The list for the treatments in the spa should be replaced it was very worn as were some of the wine lists. Other than that we we really happy with everything and can only recommend Gocheganas to anyone that wants absolute tranquility and relaxation in a very comfortable surrounding. We will be back.

Room Tip: We had room 4. All rooms have great view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PackSaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GocheGanas N, Manager at GocheGanas, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Sir
Thank you very much for your positive and highly appreciated input on tripadvisor.
On the basis of your valuable and well noticed statement , the wine lists in the restaurant have been promptly replaced as well as the list in the spa.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again at GocheGanas

Yours sincerely
Management & Team of GocheGanas Nature Reserve & Wellness Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
177 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

A friend gave us a game drive to this place. It was really fantastic. The service of the staff is great. They have good knowledge of what is happening in the Namibian nature. The food in the restaurant is also great. Moreover you will have a great view here. The spa is also good.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank WillemHWindhoek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GocheGanas N, Team GocheGanas at GocheGanas, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Willem,

Thanks a lot for visting us and giving your kind evaluation. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you back on any future visits in Windhoek.

Best regards
Team GocheGanas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This is such an amazing place to visit. I would recommend it to anybody. it was an escape get away surprise for my birthday to which I was not disappointed at all. we stayed in Cats Eye 5. the meals were prepared excellently and the service equally good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annemarie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GocheGanas N, Team GocheGanas at GocheGanas, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback about your recent stay at GocheGanas. We are grateful to hear that you had a lovely stay.
We hope you will visit soon again.

Kind regards,
Team GocheGanas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
18.6 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 16 in Windhoek
1,312 reviews
16.1 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
221 reviews
31.4 mi away
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge
#1 of 78 in Windhoek
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Auas Safari Lodge
Auas Safari Lodge
#10 of 78 in Windhoek
87 reviews
29.3 mi away
Windhoek Game Camp
Windhoek Game Camp
#6 of 78 in Windhoek
78 reviews
44.4 mi away
Leopard Lodge
Leopard Lodge
#54 of 78 in Windhoek
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GocheGanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GocheGanas

Property: GocheGanas
Address: P.O. Box 40770, Windhoek, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — GocheGanas 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated a mere 25 minutes south-east of Windhoek on a hilltop overlooking a spectacular landscape. GocheGanas is a luxury lodge offering a unique combination of wildlife, nature and wellness experiences. 16 Totally private luxurious suites - 15 elegant chalets and 1 crown chalet (extra room with terrace & bathroom), all under thatched roofs with uninterrupted and spectacular views over the surrounding reserve. 25 Different large game species, including white rhino, bat-eared fox, giraffe, zebra, eland, leopard, cheetah and other fascinating species roam the 6 000 hectare nature reserve. GocheGanas boasts with 11 specialised treatment rooms and state-of-the-art equipment; outdoor and indoor (heated) swimming pool; fitness gym and yoga facilities; the Granite Bath (Cave Sauna); fruit and juice bar; restaurant perched on a hilltop; bar with a 360-degree view, sundowner terraces, exclusive conferencing facilities and star-gazing fire circle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your GocheGanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gocheganas Hotel Windhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing