We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like coming home”
Review of GocheGanas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
GocheGanas
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Like coming home”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This was my 4th stay in Coche Ganas, three times I stayed there with our film crew, we produced three TV Movies for German TV and I always wanted to come back and share the beauty and style of this Lodge with my wife and children. This year in June we finally made it and it was like coming home. My kids and wife loved the room and facilities and the outstanding view. Some of the staff was still there, the last film was in 2008, and we had tears in the eyes, seeing each other again. it was FAMILY. The Ladies in our family are vegetarian and the cock produced some delicious meals for them, my son was eager to try the Oryx Steak and loved it.
So know I just eagerly wait to come back again, I´m in love with this place and I´m honest about that. And it´s so close to Windhoek, I would always recommend Coche Gansas as a start or a beautiful relaxation possibilty after a journey to the north of Namibia.
Best regards to you folks over there Timothy Peach Munich Germany
PS: And a brand new Mountain Bike, wow, must admit it slightly killed me after the wonderful dinner and breakfast, a new possibility to see the animals, great !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GocheGanas N, Team GocheGanas at GocheGanas, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Timothy,
When customers return to our Lodge is one of the best compliments for us and we are really proud of it. We are very happy that your whole family was comfortable here. We do have a great team who enjoy daily providing our guests with a memorable stay. Thank you for staying with us so many times and for sharing your experience here for others to read. Glad to read that once again we exceeded your expectations. We hope to see you again soon.

Warmest regards,
Team GocheGanas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    76
    26
    6
    3
See reviews for
59
165
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herrenberg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Whenever we visit Namibia we deem it compulsory to spend a night or two at the GOCHEGANS Resort. The warm hospitality of the owner family Stritter and their well trained staff is absolutely extraordinary. The accommodation in luxury chalets situated on a hill, overlooking the farm and having direct access to the game wandering around. There are more than 1.500 pieces of wild animals, amongst them approx. 20 Rhinos. Mr. Udo Stritter and his son Ingo developed the beautiful set up 10 years ago. It is still outstanding what the owners are investing in the heritage of nature conservation and wild animals. We were deeply impressed by everything we saw and experienced.
By the way, the Restaurant and the Bar (both with thatch roof, as all other buildings as well) are unique and serving best food and wine.
Another feature of the quiet place is the Wellness Resort. You are treated like a king. What can top a massage in the open air surrounded by wild animals? Not only the outdoor pool, but also an indoor poll gives the opportunity for sport and fun.
Last but not least it is worthy mentioned that GocheGanas is well situated; only some 25 miles from the capital Windhoek. The international airport is only an hour’s drive away.
OMUHONA SAFARIS recommends this beautiful resort to be visited whenever possible. Everything is like out of the movie " Out of Africa". Everybody who feels to deserve a better treatment should really call at GOCHEGANAS.

Room Tip: All Chalets are equally good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KDS129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GocheGanas N, Team GocheGanas at GocheGanas, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your wonderful review about our Lodge. It is a great pleasure to know that your stay was so remarkable. We are happy to know that you loved the food quality, our luxury chalets, the hospitality of our family and staff and the efficiency of our service. We look forward to your next visit to provide you with the service that you will meet your satisfaction like the last time.

Best regards,
Team GocheGanas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Even now, after my 4th stay: There is hardly any wording appropriate to the gracious lodge staff and the exquisite cuisine, not to mention the marvellous and mystical nature all around. I will come back soon, and once a year at least.

Room Tip: Every bungalow suite is highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GocheGanas N, Team GocheGanas at GocheGanas, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Harry
Thank you very much for taking your time to share your marvellous experience at GocheGanas. Your feedback tells us that we are on the right track in delivering that great service which makes our guests feel special. It is great to hear that you choose to stay with us again.

Warmest regards,
Team GocheGanas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warder, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My wife and I stayed three nights at Gocheganas and were deeply impressed by this unique nature experience. A beautiful lodge on a hilltop with a breathtaking panoramic view of the beautiful nature. A special experience for us was when we saw on the way to the lodge a rhino mother with her baby.
We were personally greeted by the lodge manager, the staff was very friendly and always had a smile for us left. The restaurant also has a wonderful panoramic view and indeed offers a small menu, but offers an excellent quality. We were very surprised that in the wilderness such a quality is at all possible. Our luxurious villa left nothing to be desired: A large tub, an outdoor shower, a comfortable big bed .... and all with a beautiful view. On the own beautiful terrace, we were able to observe animals and listen to the different animal noises while we drank a very nice red wine.
The highlight for us was a game drive early in the morning. We have seen so many different animals and plants. Actually we haven´t expected something like this so Close to Windhoek.
If we will be again in Namibia once again we, will stay again determined on Gocheganas.

Martin and Zissy Frommhagen, Germany

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GocheGanas N, Team GocheGanas at GocheGanas, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Martin
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to read that you had an enjoyable stay. We want to make every guest’s stay a memorable one. Be assured that your great comments have been shared with the entire team.

Thank you again for your encouraging feedback and choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcome you again at GocheGanas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windhoek, Namibia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Gocheganas is a real oasis, but one with amazing food and great staff. From the waiters, bar tenders and management staff...all friendly and outstanding.

Their bloody mary kept me warm as did their amazing beds and duvets.

A fantastic place to stay, but stay for at least 2 nights to get the most out of this relaxing experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SanjayKorteweg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GocheGanas N, Team GocheGanas at GocheGanas, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Sanjay
Thank you for posting this review about your stay at GocheGanas. We are glad to read that you have had an enjoyable stay. Your feedback tells us that we are on the right track in delivering a good service. Our team do their utmost to ensure that our guests feel at home. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I hope to welcome you back very soon.

Warmest regards
Team GocheGanas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
425 reviews
196 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Location is what half of the experience of this lodge is about. We enjoyed the view from the hill, but more the luxury in the huts. Lage bath tube, out door show er on the balcony and excellent roomservice (even a warm botte for the col mountain nights). The food was good notwithstanding what other say. Limited choice, but what can one expect in the wilderness. Service was good; all where really willing to help.
We die a guided walking safari which was a nice experience. They offer many things to do on your own. All together a place to relax, enjoy and take holidays as they should be: without worries.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ortwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GocheGanas N, Team GocheGanas at GocheGanas, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Ortwin
We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us but also had a wonderful journey through the Nature Reserve. Thank you so much for the positive feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Team GocheGanas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This place was so amazing that we cancelled our last nights accommodation on our return from Etosha so we could go back. The view is truly spectacular. Make sure you ask to have breakfast outside so you can watch the giraffes. The rooms are beautiful with gorgeous baths you can recline in with a view outside. The food was incredible and the staff are friendly. In real life it even more stunning than the pictures. We weren't even going to have a stop off near Windhoek on our trip but huge thanks to our travel agent Rose Hipwood @http://www.theluxurysafaricompany.com/ who knew what she doing as the stay here really made our holiday extra special.

Room Tip: We stayed at room 4 and room 16. Room 4 has a better bed as it's a superking size. Room 16 is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller200926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GocheGanas N, Team GocheGanas at GocheGanas, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear guest

Thanks a lot for giving your kind evaluation and using descriptions like "incredible" and "fabulous". We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you back on any future visits in Windhoek.

Best regards
Team GocheGanas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
18.6 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 16 in Windhoek
1,364 reviews
31.4 mi away
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge
#1 of 82 in Windhoek
381 reviews
32.7 mi away
N/a'an ku se Lodge and Wildlife Sanctuary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.3 mi away
Windhoek Game Camp
Windhoek Game Camp
#6 of 82 in Windhoek
81 reviews
44.4 mi away
Leopard Lodge
Leopard Lodge
#54 of 82 in Windhoek
19 reviews
42.5 mi away
Dusternbrook Guest Farm
Dusternbrook Guest Farm
#18 of 82 in Windhoek
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GocheGanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GocheGanas

Property: GocheGanas
Address: P.O. Box 40770, Windhoek, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 82 Speciality Lodging in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — GocheGanas 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated a mere 25 minutes south-east of Windhoek on a hilltop overlooking a spectacular landscape. GocheGanas is a luxury lodge offering a unique combination of wildlife, nature and wellness experiences. 16 Totally private luxurious suites - 15 elegant chalets and 1 crown chalet (extra room with terrace & bathroom), all under thatched roofs with uninterrupted and spectacular views over the surrounding reserve. 25 Different large game species, including white rhino, bat-eared fox, giraffe, zebra, eland, leopard, cheetah and other fascinating species roam the 6 000 hectare nature reserve. GocheGanas boasts with 11 specialised treatment rooms and state-of-the-art equipment; outdoor and indoor (heated) swimming pool; fitness gym and yoga facilities; the Granite Bath (Cave Sauna); fruit and juice bar; restaurant perched on a hilltop; bar with a 360-degree view, sundowner terraces, exclusive conferencing facilities and star-gazing fire circle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your GocheGanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gocheganas Hotel Windhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing