We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do NOT stay there! It's TERRIBLE and a complete RIP OFF!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Windhoek Thuringerhof
Ranked #72 of 95 Windhoek B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Do NOT stay there! It's TERRIBLE and a complete RIP OFF!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2011

My husband and I booked the Junior Suite in the Thuringer Hof in Windhoek for 3 nights and were completely disappointed by the hotel and the terrible service! One could hardly believe this is even a 3 star property. The very entrance and reception area of the hotel is dull and very small. The Receptionist had no clue about restaurants in the area and couldn't advise us of anything at all. He couldn't even offer us a map of the city. We had 2 big suitcases and nobody even offered to help us with our luggage. There is only ONE lift which works on a part-time basis!! and took more than 20 min to come up...... It's super old and we were scared to go inside, but had no choice, considering we had so much luggage. We finally found our way to the room, and there, the KEY didn't work!!!.... My husband had to take the flight of steps back to Reception again, while I waited for by the room........ He finally came back and this time, was accompanied by the SECURITY guy!! The latter tried to open the door with the car, but it didn't work.....he then tried the master key of the hotel...... He apologised, saying the door was broken and would be fixed by the maintenance team the NEXT day! and that meantime, we had no key!!! Which basically meant that we could close the door from the outside, but to get into our rooms, we would have to get someone from Reception to accompany us everytime!.... Ok, the worse is to come: To our dismay, the so-called Suite had only A SINGLE BED!!!!!!!..... We had no choice but to go back again to Reception to complain!!!!! We were told that the hotel could only change the bed for a double room the NEXT day, even though it was still 7pm!....and there was no one from housekeeping or maintenance who could help!.... We were led into a TINY TWIN room for the night...... The basin tap was loose and could barely stand straight.... The shower area was tiny and the water sprinkled everywhere, wetting the whole area......What an utter nightmare! ..... At night, we couldn't sleep, coz of the noise coming from the street. The next morning, we went out and made sure that we reminded Reception to get the door of the Suite repaired so we could move in that afternoon. We came back at 5pm and it was still NOT repaired!!!!!!!!!!.... Pathetic service! Nobody seemed to care, which was the most frustrating thing for us...... The staff doesn't care and are terribly inefficient.
The parking space: it's at the back of the building in a very dirty area, a tiny place, unworthy of a hotel chain! The breakfast in the morning was equally bad, very poor and didn't look very clean. I tried the 'hot food' which was completely COLD!
It was our worst experience ever and on the second night, we were so shocked at how pathetic the hotel was, we decided to leave one night earlier.
I have NOTHING good to say about this hotel, don't go there!......

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nutella_226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    8
    30
    18
    17
See reviews for
7
21
5
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2009

I had a few days in this hotel before starting a tour. It has a great central location, and a great courtyard restaurant. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deskfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2009

Booked the Hotel Thuringer Hof as it was advertised as a 4 star. Definitely was not - see it is now advertised as 3 star. Room clean but no coffee/tea facilities and very stuffy. Booked non-smoking room but were given a smoking room, tried to change but were told hotel was full - we only saw other guests at breakfast otherwise the hotel seemed empty. The road noise made it impossible to sleep for the 4 nights we were there, even with windows closed it made no difference. The restaurant was closed and we had breakfast on 4th floor, lift worked on a part-time basis. Hot buffet was thin bacon and grey looking scrambled eggs otherwise the usual continental breakfast which was ok.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grumpy1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Windhoek hotels

Sydney
Level Contributor
94 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2008

This hotel was selected for us as part of a group tour that started in Windhoek. It certainly doesn't sound like the same place described in a previous review as a boutique property. This is a plain-jane, non-descript hotel, with very little to recommend it other than it puts a roof over your head, the rooms are clean, and the location is fairly handy to downtown Windhoek. The hotel is now managed by the omnipresent (in southern Africa) Protea chain, and while it has been given a fresh coat of paint and a few other token refurbishments, other items, such as the yellowed and cracked enamel of the bath-tub, betray the real age of the hotel. Room amenities were basic, and, comparing notes with others in the group, randomly bestowed. We had a single coffee mug to share for coffee and tea, and no glasses at all, either in the bedroom or the bathroom. Others in the group were more fortunate. No tissues were supplied, and there wasn't even a holder for the toilet-paper in our bathroom. Staff were obliging and friendly however. The water pressure for the shower was nice and strong - ironic in this country which is subject to water shortages. The restaurant which forms part of this property was mediocre at best, featuring lacklustre food re-heated from a tin (or so it seemed), and appalling service. The fact that it was 90% empty suggests that the locals already know this.

  • Liked — Well, the beds were comfortable
  • Disliked — Depressing aura
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntonyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2008

We stayed our first night in Windhoek in this hotel. It was an ok experience. It had maybe 15 rooms and a bar/restaurant on the first floor. The location was very convienent for exploring the city. The room was small, but clean with a small TV and a coffee maker (didn't use it). The price included breakfast which was very good and included eggs with sausage and bacon. There was no internet access, but the staff did arrange for taxis for us.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2007

Hotel Thuringer Hof was the perfect choice for my husband and me. We tend to seek out smaller, more intimate or boutique accommodations. Searching the internet produced the popular and recommended hotels, but this was the one that caught my attention. Our room was freshly remodeled, nicely decorated, convenient downtown location and contained a great restaurant. The staff was helpful and friendly with our many requests. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone desiring a deviance from the typical large hotel.

  • Liked — Intimate size, great location, good food, helpful staff, new room/decor
  • Disliked — no complaints at all
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank CharlieSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Windhoek Furstenhof
0.6 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pension Uhland
Hotel Pension Uhland
#8 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tilla's Guesthouse
Tilla's Guesthouse
#28 of 95 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pension Steiner
Hotel Pension Steiner
#22 of 95 in Windhoek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Windhoek Thuringerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Windhoek Thuringerhof

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Windhoek Thuringerhof
Address: Independence Avenue, corner of Bahnhof | PO Box 112, Windhoek, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Windhoek Thuringerhof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Windhoek Thuringerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing