We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Verdi Guesthouse
Ranked #64 of 104 Windhoek B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Our first night on the arrival in Namibia. - Room 3

Extremely cold room, small, shabby and dirty with black hair in 6" long pieces on the bed and the floor. A cold corridor to wash, shower and toilet. An inadequate fan heater on all night to try to get warm. Very dull lighting. .

Breakfast good, the workpeople delightful.

Second visit. - Room 11

Better, larger room, warm with air conditioner. This apparatus ceased to be programmable by the next morning. Old TV with one working channel and massive interference. Beds 'gritty' ?! Floor in urgent need of vacuuming. Gas water heater in bathroom somewhat frightening when it 'explodes' when turning on the hot tap. One more explosion and the appliance shut down; no pilot light, no hot water! Some several minutes after complaining two persons tried for some time to get it working, which eventually they did. Shower doors not closing properly. Broken light fitting above mirror in bathroom with exposed electrics. No plug in the washbasin. The overflow exit from the washbasin was filthy. Kettle broken - lid loose - no milk. Generally a very poorly serviced unit, which corresponded to our impressions on the initial visit.

The door has to be closed using the key, as the latch doesn't work.

Again breakfast and staff as above.

Grounds quite large but minimally cared for. This could be an excellent venue, but not up to the standards that an international traveller expects. We know many people who would not have stayed here, and neither would we but having already paid.........

Suitable for travelling workers, not tourists except, maybe backpackers.

Room Tip: See before booking if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Morton J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

I booked the Villa Verdi for three nights, and indicated that the third night may be unnecessary if my Conference finished on time. It did, and they refunded my last nights rental happily, despite the fact that I only told them after 13h00. I was very impressed and will certainly use this as my accommodation in the future, in Windhoek, as well as recommending it highly.

I had a larger room (Room 14). It was well appointed, spacious, and restful, opening onto a small garden. The room was scrupulously clean, and the shower was more than generous - I have experienced, and hate, showers that generate no more than a fine mist.
The breakfast was good, the bacon and eggs done to perfection.
Best of all were the staff, who were attentive and cheerful, and organized taxis and restaurants promptly and efficiently.
I am intrigued at the negative reports I read, because my experience has been very different. My three travelling companions had similar good things to say about Villa Verdi and they had smaller rooms. Perhaps the management has upped their game.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rball2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Villa Verdi. We actually stayed here 5 nights over 3 separate visits (beginning, middle and end) during our 19 day Namibia vacation. Therefore, we had three different rooms. Every room we had was very large and clean. The breakfast was wonderful ... I'm still trying to figure out how they make their scrambled eggs so delicious. Best of all, the entire staff was warm, friendly and very accommodating. If we are ever lucky enough to come back to Namibia, I would love to stay at Villa Verdi again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed at the Villa Verdi on our 1st night in Namibia. It was booked by Trailfinders, thro' a local agent, Ecco tours. We were tired from the flights and were taken to a room that can only be described a a hovel, small, sticky/dirty and with a small double bed and a bathroom which if cleaned would still have been dirty. We were told we had booked a budget room. We refused the room and on checking the details, we had been booked in a standard room. Some 5 mins later we were taken to another room. Perfectly adequate as a room, but still suffered from the tacky surfaces and not altogether clean. The towels were like tissue paper and there were no toiletries. We asked for a meal (we arrived at about 16.30) and were told that the restaurant only provided lunch. This was basic food, at best, but after long flights we weren't going out. But what was surprising was that the guest house is part of a group Leading Lodges in Africa, and in a 1 page advert in it's magazine ( left in the bedroom) it talks about it's fantastic restaurant and the lunch and dinner it provides. Breakfast was adequate to poor. All in all this place is to be avoided not only because of the accommodation, but also the fact that they tried to take advantage of weary travellers

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank moscovy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I We did not see other rooms but ours was a disaster. Our reservation was booked by Africa Geographic Travel. We had paid for and expected to arrive at a 4-5 star lodge but were told by our private guide that it was a guest house in not a very good neighbourhood and it had previous "cleanliness issues". Drapes were falling off their rods, Only 2 dim light bulbs, Soiled battered wicker chairs. A warm bare refrigerator, Noisy ceiling fan, Bed side lamp was bent. Shower floor tiles so dirty I stood on a bathmat while showering. There was not even a bar of soap. Basic poor quality tourist breakfast and 4 lazy staff chatting at the front desk seemed offended when I interrupted their conversation. It was a disgusting way to end our 4 fabulous weeks in Africa. We had stayed in such beautiful places and met lovely people.

Room Tip: I We did not see other rooms but ours was a disaster. Our reservation was booked by Africa Geographi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

After I read some of the reviews I was a bit reluctant to go there. But the business twin room was nice,clean and comfortable. Lovely pool , relaxing area,front stoop. Friendly staff. I would recommend Villa Verdi to any one.

Room Tip: Be specific what type of room you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannes C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

VillaVerdi is one of the best option if you want stay close to town (5 minutes walk) but also in a very quite place. Staff is very helpful and friendly. Breakfast is very good. This guesthouse is situated in Windhoek West a very nice and quite area close to the Polytechnic of Namibia and very close to WDH downtown.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefano A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
4.1 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#4 of 17 in Windhoek
243 reviews
5 mi away
Hotel Heinitzburg
Hotel Heinitzburg
#2 of 17 in Windhoek
387 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 17 in Windhoek
1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#6 of 17 in Windhoek
255 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Pension Uhland
Hotel Pension Uhland
#9 of 17 in Windhoek
203 reviews
6.2 mi away
Safari Hotel
Safari Hotel
#17 of 17 in Windhoek
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Verdi Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Verdi Guesthouse

Address: 4 Verdi Street | Windhoek West, Windhoek, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 104 B&Bs / Inns in Windhoek
Price Range: £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Verdi Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Verdi set the standards for boutique accommodation in Windhoek. Unique decor and personal service are the hallmarks of this city oasis that welcomes you with warm Namibian smiles. Surrounded by lush, tropical gardens, Villa Verdi is a tranquil haven situated within 10 minutes walking distance from the centre of Windhoek. The cool central lounge, decked out in comfortable African décor, is a central meeting point for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Verdi Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Verdi Guesthouse Hotel Windhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing