We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Verdi Guesthouse
Ranked #65 of 101 Windhoek B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 August 2010

I was a bit worried about staying here after reading earlier reviews but the guesthouse hs obviously undergone some changes and the rooms were clean and tidy, we did not have any security issues, evening meal was good value, but the breakfast could have been better. However, I feel it is a bit overpriced compared to other alternatives.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaboroneKenneth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2009

This was the single worst hotel and a huge rip off. The "staff" was completely useless and could not help us with a simple reservation (I am not sure if the staff was able to use the phone) but rather stared blankly at any request we had including a request for hot water for tea at breakfast. The rooms were completely overpriced and not at all pleasant. The shower doors did not meet and water leaked everywhere. The rooms were incredibly cold and the "staff" could not understand why their tiny heater we asked for did not heat the drafty cold room which, by the way, looked like a motel. This hotel is completely overrated, over priced and pathetically run. STAY AWAY! Aside from it not being worth the money, it is not worth the sheer agony of staying here. They should be embarassed for charging the money they did and for the "service" they provided. A truly shocking experience and one of the worst I have had.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank unhappyinnamibia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2009

Could be a lovely hotel, but is highly overrated. Service was slow, rude, and inadequate at reception and breakfast room. Paths leading to rooms were no lit up until at least two hours after nightfall, making it a bit dangerous, especially for little children. The empty soda cans and pizza cartons from a take-out dinner were left in the room the whole time we were there (2 nights). Furnishings were straight out of Ikea, no problem with that but do not call yourself a fine hotel if the furnishings are not up to par. Only 3 TV channels were working properly, TV sound was not set up right either. Overall bad impression, will not go back.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank getmeoutofangola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2008

Simply Terrible. It would be the worst place we have ever stayed. The room was dark and cold. The airconditioner didn't work so the staff provided electric blankets and heater. Sometimes the hot water worked. The place had a spooky feel to it.

The food wasn't too bad though.

But don't buy any wine. At US$ 50 for an ordinary wine, it was the most expensive we purchased travelling 5 African countries.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigkahoonaOssie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2008

We stayed at Villa Verdi in Windhoek at both ends of a self-drive week through Namibia. While their website growingly claims that they ... "set the standards for boutique accommodation in Windhoek" ... we sadly found that this was not the case.

The first night, we were put in a very sparsely furnished room adjacent to the pool (Room 5), where the curtains on the glass doors didn't even cover the glass properly. On the return visit, the staff enthusiastically advised us they were putting us in Room 13 (the Honeymoon Suite), which was much nicer, although we were later to be advised by another staff member that ..."We've had some problems with that room". The problems turned out to be theft, as we were to find out on departure. Someone evidentally has a key to the room, as our camera, bank cards and money were stolen from the room while we were at dinner. The management claimed concern and promised to write a letter in support for an insurance claim, but we've heard nothing from them to date.

The good news is that the food in the dining room was excellent, but this was a sad way to end what was a great holiday traveling through Botswana, Zambia and Namibia.

John & Peggy A.
Canada

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank ja051945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2008

We stayed here on our first night in Namibia. Room ready, very clean. Staff freindly and very helpfull.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tula45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2008

Windhook , Villa Verdi: A friendly experience.
19 May 2008.
Rooms are large, comfortable, perhaps a little cold, but you can ask for an electric blanket . All the stafff in the Guest House are kindly and efficient. They help us with the luggage, which has been lost during the flight in South Africa by the airline (Malaysia Airline). We enjoy the breakfast and dinner, the first night outside, in the garden and the last one inside because it was too cold. We stayed there the first and the last night of our trip in Namibia. The hotel is localizated near the shops, just five minutes walking.
We have travelled by self driving for more than 4000 kilometers and really enjoyed everything in Namibia.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SilviaNamibia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
4.5 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 17 in Windhoek
1,429 reviews
7 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#6 of 17 in Windhoek
249 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Pension Uhland
Hotel Pension Uhland
#8 of 17 in Windhoek
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
6.2 mi away
Safari Hotel
Safari Hotel
#15 of 17 in Windhoek
258 reviews
4 mi away
UrbanCamp.net - Camping, Leisure, Windhoek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Verdi Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Verdi Guesthouse

Address: 4 Verdi Street | Windhoek West, Windhoek, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Windhoek
Price Range: £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Verdi Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Verdi set the standards for boutique accommodation in Windhoek. Unique decor and personal service are the hallmarks of this city oasis that welcomes you with warm Namibian smiles. Surrounded by lush, tropical gardens, Villa Verdi is a tranquil haven situated within 10 minutes walking distance from the centre of Windhoek. The cool central lounge, decked out in comfortable African décor, is a central meeting point for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Verdi Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Verdi Guesthouse Hotel Windhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing