We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Pension Uhland
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Windhoek
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Too bad”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Stayed in Hotel Uhland April 4th - 6th, 2013. Good value for money: clean rooms, minibar & small swimming pool. Charmaine and her colleague were extremely nice and helpful. Only problem: Hotel Uhland advertises that wifi is available in every room, which isn't true. Had to actually walk to reception to get proper signal. Upon check out I advised the reception clerk (older, German lady) of the fact that wifi signal is not as advertised to which she replied:"Impossible!!", smacked a pen on the counter for me to sign the Mastercard slip and refused to look at me or answer. Very strange indeed. Won't be staying at Uhland again, shame!

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jrannersmann, Inhaber at Hotel Pension Uhland, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your comment. We have put up several antennas to get the internet signal everywhere on our premises and we have checked it with our own laptop, it is possible to get a wifi signal in everyroom as advertised. The quality of the signal varies and also the reception of the signal depends very much on the antenna of the laptops. As the main antenna is near the reception, the signal is very strong there. Most of the computers will connect also from the rooms as soon as they did connect once.
Unfortunately our receptionist did not respond correctly to your complaint. I really do apologize for this. She surely did not want to be unpolite, probably she was concentrating on the check out procedure. Please accept our sincere apologies.
I hope you will come again.
Irmgard Rannersmann, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    93
    46
    5
    4
See reviews for
32
74
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lier, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

pension in a nice neighbourhood of windhoek, in a house where they've build rooms in the garden, we got a room with airco at the pool and away from the street first and after half an hour they moved us to another room without airco and in front of an aviary with nice birds that made lot of noise at sunrise, all this because we had obviously booked a cheaper one. more then half of the rooms were empty so did'nt see the need for it. No contact with owners, and at check-out no pleasantries, not a family atmosphere at all. They were making conversation with german speaking guests and everything breathed german roots, as the name suggested. Room was clean and big but nothing homely or cozy here.

Room Tip: in the courtyard is nicer and more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manuel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Compared to other B&B's / lodgings available in Windhoek this one is definitely sub-standard for the price you pay. Although very clean the furnishings are old and the place seems to be falling apart. It could do with some maintenance as the door handle in my parents bathroom fell off and my bathroom tap was rather loose to name but a few irks.

Friendly receptionist and staff although the owner / manager doesn't seem to be a "people person".
A very basic breakfast buffet - definitely nothing to write home about.

All in all I'd recommend it if you were looking for a 1 star basic B&B for about half the price. Considering Windhoek has many other places to choose from I'll definitely not try it again as I think one could do much better.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaffaCirce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Mids
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

I stayed in this small hotel both before and after a tour of Namibia. It was just right; welcoming and comfortable with simple, good food after a long flight. The location is good for exploring what is a very clean and smart small city. Pension Uhland has to be better than staying in standard, souless, capital city, chain hotels. Should I find myself working for a time in Windhoek I would also not hesitate to stay there.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeasonedTraveller055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

This establishment is a simple bed and breakfast in a reasonable area of Windhoek, where the music from the nightclub on Uhland Street can still be heard at 3 am – don’t forget the earplugs. The welcome from the receptionist was very hearty and all problems that we had were solved quickly and efficiently by the various ladies working the reception area. The room was very clean.

We had a superior room, which makes me wonder what the basic rooms look like. Some of the rooms are raised and are accessed via steps, relevant for people with a lot of luggage or who have difficulty climbing steps. The room we had was pretty dark and there was no where to hang cloths up properly, except for limited space under-counter hanging space. The beds were clean and comfortable and the bed linen was clean and in good condition. The toilet/shower room had no ventilation or external window. The interior decorating is mediocre but there is a mini-bar, even though this ran loudly with the a/c unit. The room also had a television and there were no problems with the free Wifi. The shower worked well and there was hot warm water available all day. We were woken in the mornings by a combination of road traffic noise and singing from the birds in the garden menagerie.

Parking is nor really a problem, unless all the rooms are occupied and then it becomes chaotic, due to lack of space. The water in the swimming pool was consistently milky during our stay and apparently has been like that for some time. Some of the loungers were covered with reserving towels even before people had had their breakfast.

Breakfast was very good and the service personnel very attentive. The owners were not on site during our stay but their employees did a good job of looking after everyone. If it were not for the very friendly and helpful staff, the rating would be lower. Acceptable for a one night stay before moving on to tour or leaving the country.

Room Tip: The site is quite small, so there will be little chance of getting away from the traffic and nightcl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jazzman101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
533 reviews
225 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 432 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Found this very easily with a simple google map of Windhoek. And what a very pleasant place it is. Bright helpful informative greeting set the standard for service throughout our short stay. I must have found a different place to some reviewers as I found a modern bright airy building with immaculately clean and comfortable rooms. All facilities, speedy wifi connection, hairdryer, tea and coffee making and in room service fridge with drinks hardly any more expensive than at the supermarket. The room also had a common balcony running across the rooms on our floor with table and chairs so you could have an outside view over this part of Windhoek. Secure parking through the electronic main gate. The bright modern theme was carried in the dining room where only a ‘snack’ menu for evenings is offered. This turned out to be salads or toasted sandwiches and fries, which were very good indeed and all we needed rather than finding a restaurant. Breakfast was the usual hotel buffet with a good choice of juices, cereals, breads etc and cooked eggs and bacon. A really friendly comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KS&HC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
241 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

A very helpful staff that answers your questions - and then answers the question you forgot to ask. The breakfast buffet is fantastic! They also have electric adaptors for the local outlets - for those of us who didn't bring adaptors designed for the southern Africa configuration.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
3.8 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
3.3 mi away
Jordani B&B Windhoek
Jordani B&B Windhoek
#11 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
0.7 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#2 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.5 mi away
Roof of Africa Hotel
Roof of Africa Hotel
#10 of 16 in Windhoek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pension Uhland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pension Uhland

Property: Hotel Pension Uhland
Address: 147 Dr. Kenneth David Kaunda Street, Windhoek, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Pension Uhland 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Pension Uhland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing