We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Pension Uhland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Pension Uhland
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Windhoek
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

The hotel is centrally situated,close to Joe's Restaurant.
They have secure parking and rooms are comfortable and clean.Buffet Breakfast is good with nice bread.Management and staff were very friendly and extremely helpful,provided electrical supply to our 4x4 vehicle to operate freezer and made reservation for dinner at Joe's.

Room Tip: Room #4 and # 5 had portable aircon while #3 had ceiling fan only
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wicus13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    92
    45
    5
    4
See reviews for
32
73
19
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ganserndorf, Austria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

It is an ideal hotel for t he first or last day of a holiday. Staff is very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast is very good and held in buffet style -> if something is missing just ask a member of staff
Parking spaces inside
city center in walking distance

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingrid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moultrie, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

It is very easily accessed, right off Robert Mugabe street; however when I write a.c.c.e.s.s. I mean
- a - Accessible
- c - Clean
- c - Comfortable
- e - Easy
- s - Stop
- s - Start
Easy stop and start meaning check-in and check-out smooth with no problems.
They had a really good breakfast and because I notified them the day before my flight they even made me breakfast-to-go on the day of my early departure. The coffee was hot and nice and strong at 6am when I had to leave. The staff was friendly and their facility is nice and secure. You can go to bed there and sleep comfortably not just because the bed is comfortable, but also because you don't have to worry about your vehicle being broken into or people stealing from you in the middle of the night. It's reasonably priced and considering the quality of the breakfast, the security, the comfort, it's a great deal. If you want opulence and price isn't an issue, go somewhere else, but if you want a good deal this is a good place to start or finish a trip.

Room Tip: If you want a room with no air conditioning or heat it is a little cheaper, but do yourself a favor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARK G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edegem, Belgium
Level Contributor
660 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in hotel Uhland: our first and last night in Namibia. The staff is very welcoming, helpfull and friendly. On both occasions we had room nr.2. Breakfast was more than ok, we liked the good "german" bread. We would certainly stay again in this hotel.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Hugo_Nina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
905 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 489 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

I have just returned from two months Overlanding in Africa and spent my last three days relaxing in the Uhland.
It is a great place to stay about 5 minutes from the main street, Independance Avenue and about 15 mins from the main shops.
it is quiet, safe, clean and very homely and welcoming. Ute at the front desk looked after me from the second i arrived to the moment I left.
The rooms are nice, the breakfast very good and the small pool area was very pleasant too. It was so reasonable too in price. The restaurant in the evening has a very limited menu, don't rely on it. The cooking is fine but not all of the things on the menu are always available!
I absolutely recommend this place and should i return to Windhoek - and i hope to - I will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bozeman-Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jrannersmann, Owner at Hotel Pension Uhland, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear Bozeman
Thank you very much for your nice feedback, we enjoyed having you here with us and are looking forward to your next stay.
Irmgard Rannersmann
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

We spent three separate nights at this Hotel and on each occasion found staff to be welcoming and very helpful. Stayed in three different rooms and found all of them to be very comfortable. One of the rooms had a rather small bathroom, but this was compensated by the size of the bedroom. All rooms open onto a patio or balcony. The on-site dining room offered a great breakfast and evening meals which, although not "fine dining" were well prepared and tasty. If you are not looking for five star classy accommodation, but like a good value, clean, comfortable and friendly hotel, we would recommend Pension Uhland to everyone.

Room Tip: Room 4A has a very small en-suite compared to others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smith_susan407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Pension Uhland is a little out away from town centre, but this seems pretty usual for Windhoek (and taxis are relatively inexpensive, so no real problem). Breakfast room has great views anyway! Room was fine, comfortable ... the decor could have done with some updating though and the design of the bathroom was a little strange, leading to minor flooding in that area (no shower curtain, no step ...). And the dogs, I don't mind dogs, but there were lots of big dogs and they were a bit in your face. Positives: room and beds were comfortable, breakfast room was nice, staff were helpful. Things to be improved: room design and perhaps keep the dogs out the back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BurmeseDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jrannersmann, Owner at Hotel Pension Uhland, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear Burmese Days

Thank you very much for your comment, we really appreciate feedback.
In a place like ours there is always something to renovate and although we have made lots of ameliorations already, there is still more that we want (and are going) to improve.

We do have two large dogs (Schoko and Mokka) which are very friendly and are not entering the breakfast/ dining room or guest rooms. As many of our guests really love the dogs we bring them to the hotel during day time. If somebody tells us that he or she is afraid, we keep the dogs out of the way.

Best regards
Irmgard Rannersmann
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
3.8 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 17 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 17 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
3.3 mi away
Jordani B&B Windhoek
Jordani B&B Windhoek
#12 of 17 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
0.7 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#2 of 17 in Windhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.5 mi away
Roof of Africa Hotel
Roof of Africa Hotel
#10 of 17 in Windhoek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pension Uhland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pension Uhland

Property: Hotel Pension Uhland
Address: 147 Dr. Kenneth David Kaunda Street, Windhoek, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Pension Uhland 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Pension Uhland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing