We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful staff, clean room and comfy bed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Pension Uhland
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Windhoek
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I was allocated room 9. The air con unit was noisy but I used the ceiling fan instead and this was fairly quiet. Tea/coffee making facilities provided, but no milk. A good selection in the mini bar at reasonable prices. TV was basic and reception varied. A clean room and good shower. There were some small stains on the carpet. An efficient laundry service-in by 1000 washed and dried by 1600. A good choice at breakfast, especially the yoghurt. Dinner snacks were provided and although the choice was limited, the food was tasty and freshly cooked. This was convenient and saved going out to the city centre by taxi. It is a 10-15 minute walk to the main shops on Independence Avenue. Very helpful staff on reception. The packed breakfast, due to an early morning flight was small and disappointing. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014

Stayed at the Uhland for one night prior to leaving on tour. The staff were very helpful and friendly and helped us get our bearings with great tips about traveling in town.. The room was plain but comfortable. The breakfast were very good and the breakfast room inviting and sunny. Stayed by the pool waiting for pick up after our stay and the honor bar at the pool is a great touch. The location was good - a bit of a walk into town but not too bad. Would recommend this hotel to people wanting a home base in Windhoek.

Room Tip: If you can't walk up a fllight of stairs be sure to mention that at booking time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kardex2dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I've stayed at Uhland Hotel during 43 days, i was in a business trip from Feb 2014 to March 2014 in Windhoek, i needed a hotel near to the city, with internet and comfortable room.
after few days i've been feeling as a part of that big family, i even went over my dog phobia and get close to the dogs.
beautiful birds are around the hotel, it is the best way to wake up in the morning.
The staff were able to provide what i needed for breakfast and prepare special snacks for dinner. i would recommend this hotel for anybody going to Windhoek

Djamila from Algeria

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Djamila-23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jrannersmann, Inhaber at Hotel Pension Uhland, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Dear Djamila

Thank you very much for your nice comment. We also really enjoyed having you here with us. I am very proud of you that you managed to get over your dog phobia a huge step and even managed to cuddle Schoko a few times. Thats greally great! We really love to have nice guests like you.

See you next time!
Irmgard and the whole team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I stood there for two nights, one in a standart room and the last night in a superior one. Both rooms were clean , tidy and very confortable. The breakfast was great. The staff is very nice and hellpfull.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tuanamorgado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I've stayed here several times in several of the rooms on solo trips as well as with my wife, it's actually the only place I stay in Windhoek because it has everything I need. Secure parking, comfortable rooms, stocked mini bar, patios, tropical birds, a friendly hotel dog, a swimming pool and a help yourself bar adjacent to pool. Excellent breakfast and most importantly helpful and friendly staff.
Short walk to the awesome Joes beer house and downtown.
They even pack you a breakfast to go if you unfortunately have to catch a super early flight.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Dazz14115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jrannersmann, Inhaber at Hotel Pension Uhland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Dazz14115

Thank you very much for your nice comment. We really appreciate your detailed feedback and are looking forward to welcoming you the next time!

Best regards
Irmgard Rannersmann
Owner Hotel Uhland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

After struggling to find the hotel at first due to the recent change of the street name from Uhland street to Kenneth Kaunda street (although we were telephonically warned about this by the staff, our GPS was broken and nobody we asked on our way, including the police, new where either street were), we were glad to walk into our clean and comfortable air conditioned room with en suite bathroom. Our room also had a small safe, a TV and kettle with tea and coffee and crockery and the free WiFi worked well in our room. The The bed was comfortable and the breakfast was very tasty and included a nice selection of meats and freshly baked bread. It is clear that the owners take a personal interest in their establishment. A small problem regarding a billing error was sorted out with a simple telephone call after our departure and we received our refund within two days. This location is within walking distance of the station (even for the not so fit) and the city centre (for the fit). We will be back if we visit Windhoek again.

Room Tip: We chose a room with an aircon (at a higher rate), which we appreciated due to the hot summer weathe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eldridgevn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jrannersmann, Inhaber at Hotel Pension Uhland, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Eldridgevn

Thank you very much for your detailed feedback which we really appreciate. It was nice having you here, sorry again for the billing mistake.

See you soon!
Irmgard Rannersmann

Owner Hotel Uhland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This place was well located. The best thing was the staff who were really friendly and very helpful. I spent 2 nights here at the start and end of a tour and stayed in two different rooms. The rooms could do with an update but were comfortable. Both rooms were clean and a good size. The second time I stayed the bathroom was tiny and flooded, not a great design. The breakfast was good and lots of choice. We had dinner (not included) on the first night due to late arrival. That was distinctly average.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
3.8 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#6 of 17 in Windhoek
249 reviews
1 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 17 in Windhoek
1,431 reviews
3.3 mi away
Jordani B&B Windhoek
Jordani B&B Windhoek
#13 of 17 in Windhoek
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Safari Hotel
Safari Hotel
#15 of 17 in Windhoek
258 reviews
0.5 mi away
Roof of Africa Hotel
Roof of Africa Hotel
#9 of 17 in Windhoek
179 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#2 of 17 in Windhoek
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pension Uhland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pension Uhland

Address: 147 Dr. Kenneth David Kaunda Street, Windhoek, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Windhoek
Price Range: £31 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pension Uhland 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Pension Uhland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing