We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy, old and not quite up to what I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Pension Uhland
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Windhoek
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed here just for one night prior to flying out the following morning. We booked a family room for my husband and I and our young son. The family room is right in front of the car park, there were cars arriving very late and leaving early the next morning. We were awaken so many times it was not funny. The rooms are old and in need of a bit of work. The much raved about breakfast was ordinary.

Room Tip: If you stay here state on your booking you do not want to be near the car parking area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Leeanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

The parking is overly cramped, but they do try to accommodate. The rooms are clean and comfortable, though they need to lose the extremely cheap and noisy air conditioning machines and get some decent ones. The lock on the door was broken, and there’s no ventilation in the bathroom, but they had a good breakfast and the TV worked. The mini bar prices were good, too. All things considered, I’d stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank 4whatitsworth2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Friendly reception and service, our room was rather small and not very spectacular, minibar/fridge available, breakfast okay. The bathroom could be refurbished. Free Wifi available but only works close to reception.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZM_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The receptionist was very friendly and helpful. We had booked for two nights but we had to find another place. When we booked the room we specifically asked for a double bed but we were given a room with two single beds put together. After we complained, we were given a room with a double bed. The room was full of dust. The blankets and bed sheets were smelling of dust as well. We found hair in the towels. The showerhead was broken, so the water sprayed everywhere wetting the entire bathroom. The sink was leacking. My husband had to kill a few bugs that were crawling around. The nightstand lamps were broken. Overall, it was a terrible experience. The rooms need maintenance or the price needs to be reduced significantly. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Taihli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Enjoyed our stay at Hotel Uhland. Could walk to downtown Windhoek easily. Wifi in room was a littl
e unreliable, but otherwise had no problems and the staff was super friendly and helpful. Good value!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank saaltier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed at Hotel Uhland for one night prior to leaving on tour and four nights ending our tour in Namibia.
We stayed in a superior room on the second floor, the room was spacious and all facility needed we had in the room.
This hotel is very well located with a short walk to city centre.
The owner helped us tremendously due to our loss of money, passports etc, they did everything to help us out.
We also got a very god contact with the very nice staff working there.
We admire the owners initiative (HUBE) to help children to be able to get education and we really recommend you to go with a staff to a church service if you are there on a Sunday.
Thank you very much Irmgard and Juergen.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Backman189836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jrannersmann, Inhaber at Hotel Pension Uhland, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Gunnel
Thank you very much for your nice comment. We are happy that we could help you in this difficult situation and are really looking forward to welcoming you again another time.

Best regards
Irmgard and Jürgen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We started and finished our trip to Namibia at the Uhland. Its clean, basic and very very friendly.
The reception staff are very warm and friendly with a nice dose of sarcasm thrown in.
We arrived late on the first night and the service was quick, we got out rooms and then had a bite to eat and lovely bottle of wine. We felt relaxed straight away and that was after a 16 hour flight. On our last morning we had to be before dawn and again the service was great, packed breakfast was ready, car arrived on time. no complaints at all. its not fancy but its good.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ausgeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
3.8 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
240 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#2 of 16 in Windhoek
1,399 reviews
3.3 mi away
Jordani B&B Windhoek
Jordani B&B Windhoek
#12 of 16 in Windhoek
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
0.7 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#4 of 16 in Windhoek
220 reviews
3.0 mi away
Safari Hotel
Safari Hotel
#16 of 16 in Windhoek
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pension Uhland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pension Uhland

Address: 147 Dr. Kenneth David Kaunda Street, Windhoek, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Windhoek
Price Range: £38 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pension Uhland 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Pension Uhland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing