We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and clean middle range etablisement. A good deal in Windhoek”
Review of Hotel Pension Moni

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Windhoek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Pension Moni
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Windhoek
Barcelona, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good and clean middle range etablisement. A good deal in Windhoek”
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Good price/quality relation. Rooms tranquil, pleasant, spacious, clean. Mostly around an interior court with swimming-pool and garden. Secure parking inside the facility. Not far from the city center (10/15 min. on foot) and shopping mall (although streets are quite solitary for walking, even during the day). A good place where to stay in Windhoek. Good breakfast, free wifi.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HenryM-Stanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    52
    31
    5
    2
See reviews for
24
42
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA living in Angola
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

A friend and I stayed at Hotel Pension Moni twice during our visit to Namibia - once at the beginning of our trip, and again at the end. The rooms are clean and plain, but completely adequate. The breakfast was very nice. The best part was the proximity to a shopping mall and a short taxi ride to anywhere in town. The staff was very helpful with recommendations and arranging taxis.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auburngirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heemstede, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

We found extreem friendly poeple and very quet other guests in this pension. All was excellent, good beds. In the garden it´s good swimming and resting after a heavy day. The breakfast was good and all you need can be covered. Very near a big shopping center, the center of the city is not so near.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lexwinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2010

Clean. Friendly. Cute. Relaxing. Helpful. Close to shopping. Perfect place to stay while provisioning in or exploring Windhoek. Basic with a boutique feel.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueberry027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
München
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2010

We stayed in the groundfloor room overlooking the pool. The room was large, clean and it felt like being back in a pension in southern bayern ( meant as a compliment :-)
The hotel has ample parking space and the parking space is within the gated courtyard - extremely safe. The Maerua Mall is at 10 mins walking distance and that takes care of all your shopping needs.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ghatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2010

We stayed at Hotel Pension Moni at the beginning and end of our trip and found it good value for money. The staff are very helpful. The rooms are spacious albeit quite basic. Breakfast was tasty, but not really geared towards a really early start. The 2 mornings we were there it was supposed to be served from 7 am onwards but only really got going half an hour later. The pool was a nice size but quite dirty. So overall this is a friendly no-frills place with basic set-up where you get what you pay for.

Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Babs1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Moody, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2009

Two couples had rooms reserved here for one night on way out to Namib Nauklift and then again for one night on return before heading to Botswana. This Pension was among the worst I have ever stayed at anywhere. Rooms were fine, basic. Location was relatively close to downtown area. What was so appalling was the management. On arrival we were given one room in the main pool area and one that appears to be an add on..overlooking the parking lot/entrance at the frotn and the garbage bins at the back! The manageress was not there and the girl on duty finally agreed to change this room for another in the main building as she admitted the pension was ot fully booked. After an afternoon out we walked out to the near cross street and caught a cab downtown for dinner.. cost was $40. At breakfast the next morning there was a selection of cereal, some fruit and some buns and cheese and meat. I took the last bun and they weren't replenished..but there were still people who hadn't had breakfast! A sign offered bacon and eggs..we were advised there was no bacon. period. No substitutes, or apologies offered.
After breakfast we asked the desk to call a cab for us to go downtown shopping and waited about 15 minutes..on arrival the cab quoted $90 to go a shorter distance than we'd gone the night previous...needless to say we sent him away and walked the 1/2 block to pick up a local cab.
On our return to Windhoek two nights later we discovered we had once again been allocated the room (#12) that overlooked the car park and garage bins. Despite her best efforts the girl on duty couldn't seem to change the room. I needed to make a long distance collect call to my CC company and couldn't get the room phone to allow the call. I went to the desk and the girl on duty managed to put through the call from the desk phone...it was at this point, while I was on the phone with the CC company, that the manageress made her appearance to yell violently at the girl, berate her for stupidity for letting me use the desk phone and generally behave in an obnoxious and unacceptable manner..especially in front of a paying guest. She never did inquire as to why I had to use that phone. At no point in our stay were we welcomed or asked if everything was ok. I would rate the rooms as basic and the management as very very poor. I would not recommend staying at an establishment that treats staff and customers in such a manner. I've travelled a lot and stayed in places from $8 night beach huts in Thailand to very highend lodges in Tanzania...I don't consider myself a fussy traveler as long as the accomodation is reasonably clean..BUT I can't tolerate employees being treated as if they are of no consequence. I know this is a long review and thank you for bearing with me to this point if you're still reading! I think what really highlighted the appalling service was the fact we'd just come from Cape Town and stayed at An African Villa..with superb
service and breakfast. While Pension Moni isn't expensive it certainly isn't a real budget accomodation..and price is no excuse for poor management practice.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveller47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Windhoek hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Pension Uhland
Hotel Pension Uhland
#8 of 16 in Windhoek
194 reviews
1.8 mi away
Jordani B&B Windhoek
Jordani B&B Windhoek
#12 of 16 in Windhoek
43 reviews
2.3 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 16 in Windhoek
1,368 reviews
0.7 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
0.3 mi away
Hotel Heinitzburg
Hotel Heinitzburg
#3 of 16 in Windhoek
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pension Moni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pension Moni

Property: Hotel Pension Moni
Address: Rieks van der Walt, Windhoek, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Pension Moni 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Moni Hotel Windhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing