We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite adequate”
Review of Hotel Pension Moni

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Windhoek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Pension Moni
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Windhoek
Liverpool UK
Level Contributor
144 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Quite adequate”
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Stayed here before and after our Namibia self drive holiday. The hotel is located amongst business premises at the end of a cul-de-sac, and opposite a building site (October 2012). It didn't appear very inviting upon our arrival in the dark, but looked much better in the morning light, after a pleasant breakfast and a coffee by the pool.
Rooms were quite basic, but clean, and we slept well until 7.00 am when the builders arrived. There was no room safe or air conditioning, but a ceiling fan.
There was a car park, protected by key or electric gates, and the property felt safe and secure, and I wa glad we stayed here rather than in the centre of Windhoek (20/25 minute walk).
Staff were friendly and attentive.

Room Tip: Ground floor garden rooms are bigger, I think. First floor rooms are accessed by concrete steps - no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ornsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    52
    31
    5
    2
See reviews for
24
42
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights at Hotel Pension Moni – before and after a trip to Sossusvlei and Sesriem. On the first night there was unfortunately no hot water for a shower in room 5, only very lukewarm water. The second night we stayed in room 3 and there was plenty of hot water for a shower. The breakfast was very good – and they refilled the cheese and cold-meat platter when it ran out. The bird-life is fantastic at the bird-bath and bird-feeders, with Blue Waxbills, Red-headed Finches, African Red-eyed Bulbuls and Rosy-faced Lovebirds aplenty.

I can definitely recommend Hotel Pension Moni as a comfortable place to stay for a night or two – I would not recommend it for a longer stay though.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stranger_and_pilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oegstgeest, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Visited Moni twice last month and it is a well run modest but nice place, rooms are good and well fitted out. Only issue is that it is a bit out of the way, nearest retaurant is in the shopping centre about 10/15 minutes walk away along a dark road. Enough choice for breakfast and people were nice and friendly. Good prive quality ratio

Room Tip: Get a room around the swimming pool, I had a room near the entrance and then it is a coming and goin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdriaanNed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walla Walla, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We were three friends traveling on a budget, so couldn't afford two rooms. We had a tough time finding a place with three beds until we called Hotel Pension Moni. They provided a clean, comfortable room, plus friendly service, and a convenient location.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bdroth01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockhart, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

My wife and I just completed a four day stay at Pension Moni and couldn't have asked for a better experience. We were there for safari and largely just needed a base for a few days and Pension Moni was excellent for that, with the staff going out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed whether it was storing our large luggage while on safari to helping arrange taxis and food delivery.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SShafer01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAST SUSSEX, UK
Level Contributor
86 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Whilst we only spent 1 night at HPM, it was quiet, clean and convenient for town. There is secure parking and the staff and the manager are pleasant and anxious to please. Probably not the place for a long stay but ideal as a base pre or post safari.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PIGASIMU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
111 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Small but neat and clean and very close to the center of Windhoek. Parking limited but the excellent staff went out of their way to make the stay for our group pleasant.

Room Tip: Downstairs are better for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Afriod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
2.3 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Pension Uhland
Hotel Pension Uhland
#8 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
0.3 mi away
Hotel Heinitzburg
Hotel Heinitzburg
#4 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#2 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pension Moni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pension Moni

Property: Hotel Pension Moni
Address: Rieks van der Walt, Windhoek, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Pension Moni 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Moni Hotel Windhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing