We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique property. Food, cheetah, views, GREAT. But that's all there is.”
Review of Amani Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windhoek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amani Lodge
Palo Alto, California
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Unique property. Food, cheetah, views, GREAT. But that's all there is.”
Reviewed 26 July 2011

30-40 minute trek out of Windhoek onto remote hill top. No true game around, but dining room has a glass wall into the cheetah pen which is amazing. Our family room was nice, spacious, with a lovely deck. Landscaping and pool area is lovely. Wild horses, warthogs, and a feral cat wander the property. The big cat experience is a very good way to see lion, lepoard, and cheetah - more like a wild animal park than wild bush experience. We saw no other game about. Staff were very nice and accomodating.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DSK3some
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    13
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
19
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

Stayed here for 1 night at the end of a 2 week trip in Namibia and was one of the highlights of the holiday.

Despite reservations regarding the 'big cat experience', for which there is an additional charge, this was very well done and the owners are very upfront in what they are trying to achieve. These animals are held in captivity but would not survive in their natural habitat.

Great food but disappointing service from the reception staff. Our guide for the big cat experience, however, was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JonandVib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aptos, CA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2009

The setting is lovely, and the male lion's roars in the evening add a lot to the atmosphere. Service is spotty and communication with staff can be difficult. There is no literature in the rooms, or anywhere, to tell you what activities are available - you must ask, and even then the information is minimal. Food was fine, well presented, but not special. Do we aware of the warning regarding money in your room. I came back from a walk and found my door open, even though I am certain I locked it securely. I'm not certain if any cash was taken, however.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BeenAroundAptos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wien
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2008

We had been 2 years ago at the amani lodge. The lodge himself is very beautiful, the food fabulous and the owner and his son are extraordinary people.
Unfortunately some money was stolen out of our room which was closed. Later we read that this happend to other people as well.
We found it a bit disappointing that inspite of knowledge by the owner he didn' tell his guests about the situation.

  • Stayed March 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Umfolozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
674 reviews
199 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2007

We had a very enjoyable 2 night stay at Amani Lodge.

This family run business specialises in rehabilitating animals with a long term view to reintroducing them back into the wild. This is a delicate topic as some places like this can be glorified zoos, but at Amani they have got it just right in my opinion.

Located about 20 km from Windhoek, Amani lodge can be found about 5 km off of the C26 along a gravel road which is passable by 2WD car with care. The accomodation is in small lodges with great views over the open countryside. Although basic the accomodation is comfortable and clean The pool is a little cold but the owners have plans to heat it.

The food at the hotel is of an excellent standard served in the beautifully designed bar/restaurant/lounge building that affords great views of some very tame cheetahs by a small water hole.

The highlight of the trip to Amani is the Big Cat tour of the Cheetahs and Lions.

  • Liked — The Big Cats, the food and the welcoming staff
  • Disliked — The Cold Pool
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Baxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windhoek, Namibia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2007

As a consultant at a local tour operator I was invited along with another colleague for a night at Amani Lodge, just outside Windhoek.

Instead of leading you through my varying emotions during the short stay, I think it would be more useful to express my eventual satisfaction with an enjoyable nights stay.

The activities are based on big cats, but DO NOT go here under the impression it is some sort of animal sanctuary, the animals are held in captivity - but the owners are very straight forward in this respect. The animals would have had no chance in their natural habitat and so now actually serve a purpose in assisting various causes - such as the use of cheetah semen to reduce inbreeding amongst smaller populations of cheetah around the world.

The Lion feed, is done from a viewing stand with a fantastic close up view of the Lion enjoying some water and meat. Please note that it is not advised for small children to attend this activity.

The drive then takes you to the cheetah enclosure, here the experience feels a little more natural - the cheetah come running down the slopes at speed towards the vehicle - really impressive and requires some skill with the camera to get a good shot! They are then given some meat and you have the opportunity to get some really nice photos once again.

Dinner in the evening is another highlight, there is a sociable nature about the setup of the Dinner area / lounge / bar so conversation can be really interesting (and you can expect a real mix of country representation amongst the guests) and the food is fantastic! Franco / Namibian cuisine is probably the best description - even if it does sound somewhat cliched.

The rooms are basic, but clean, private and functional. The hot water bottle in the bed was brilliant touch (although a word of warning would have been appreciated!)

So if you are staying in Windhoek and would prefer something with a little more to offer than your everyday B&B / Hotel this is definitely a good choice and offers pretty reasonable value for Money (but again, note that the wildlife experience is not some sort of conservation effort and should be enjoyed for what it is - educational entertainment!)

  • Liked — The view from the room and of course the activities
  • Disliked — Waiting for the hot water to warm up for the shower (but this is solar heated so acceptable!)
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank Gerald_Hatton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
1.5 mi away
Jordani B&B Windhoek
Jordani B&B Windhoek
#12 of 16 in Windhoek
43 reviews
24.9 mi away
Dusternbrook Guest Farm
Dusternbrook Guest Farm
#20 of 82 in Windhoek
121 reviews
0.5 mi away
Uzuri Guesthouse CC
Uzuri Guesthouse CC
#46 of 82 in Windhoek
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.7 mi away
Leopard Lodge
Leopard Lodge
#56 of 82 in Windhoek
19 reviews
11.7 mi away
Windhoek Game Camp
Windhoek Game Camp
#6 of 82 in Windhoek
81 reviews
13.9 mi away
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge
#1 of 82 in Windhoek
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amani Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amani Lodge

Property: Amani Lodge
Address: 20km Southwest of Windhoek, Windhoek, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 82 Speciality Lodging in Windhoek
Hotel Class:3 star — Amani Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Amani Hotel Windhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing