We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Guesthouse Terra Africa
Ranked #20 of 95 Windhoek B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“An Oasis”
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

We have been to Terra Africa Some five times now. This is our start and end point when we visit Windhoek with the family. The accommodation is very central and the staff are wonderful. With a nice small garden it is the spot to sit and have breakfast or just relax and hang and talk about Namibia.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank AvH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    65
    31
    3
    0
See reviews for
20
82
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
431 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed here at the start of our roundtrip through Nambia. It is a good location to start your trip. Nice rooms in a garden with a pool. Wifi, but rather slow.Save place to park your car. Good breakfast. The owners are glad to make reservations for diner and ordering a safe cab. Great superspar supermarket nearby to buy supplies.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amsterdam05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

The flight from Franfurt had a 12 hour delay leading to a very short stay at the guest-house. We arrived at midnight without having diner. The host helped us greatly with hot coco and cookies for the kids. Nice rooms and good beds. The breakfast was good. The biggest regret our kids had was that they did not dive into the swimming pool. It was the only heated pool we have encountered during our complete trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peete722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertGlobeTrotters, Family Member Owner at Guesthouse Terra Africa, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback and response.
As a family and family-business we pride ourselves at always trying to give the best we can to our guests that choose our Terra Africa House above the rest!
We look forward to welcoming you again in our Family Home.

Kind regards,

Rolf Hansen
on behalf of the Hansen-Locher Family and the Terra Africa Team :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
netherlands
Level Contributor
122 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

In safe and nice reidential area, we had a nice first rest stop after long overnight flight. Arrived early morning from airport and were served extra breakfast at an extra cost (normal) and were seated in lounge until room ready, which was rather quick as most guests depart early. Nice breakfast and lounge area, pretty garden and pool area. Good free wifi also in room. Spacious enough room with basic ok bathroom. Breakfast itself was also pretty basic with eggs to order and cereals etc. hosts professional and friendly. 5-10 min drive to many restaurants.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank panda58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We stayed here for one night and really enjoyed the service. The hosts were extremely nice. The rooms are big and spacious with a television. The wifi signal is really good unlike most lodges in Africa. The breakfast service was very good and attentive.

The main gate is remote operated so it saves you the work for opening an additional lock while parking your car coming in/out.

Overall we really liked this sweet , homely and nicely decorated place.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

I recently visited Namibia on business and stayed at the homely Guesthouse Terra Africa which definitely left a mark on me and I will definitely return myself for a holiday!

Terra Africa Guesthouse in Windhoek is situated in the southern valleys of the city centre and is the first establishment in Namibia to operate as an art gallery as well as an accommodation. The rooms are all elegantly designed with different themes to suit all tastes.
The room mod-cons include flat screen TV’s, air conditioning, mini bar, hair dryer, as well as the simple touch of sample cosmetics in the bathrooms! This lodge really has focused on the clients comforts. The rooms are surrounded by absolutely stunning gardens with a pristine pool which unfortunately I did not have time to sample but very much needed on a hot day in Windhoek!
All staff I encountered were super friendly and efficient and my breakfast was made to order within moments. The breakfast buffet is suited to all tastes with a typical ‘European’ spread as well as the traditional cooked breakfast options. The guesthouse is adorned with beautiful pieces of art and high quality luxurious materials making all areas comfortable and inviting.

I can safely say i recommend Terra Africa and I will definitely be staying there when i go back on holiday

- Elizabeth Shaw (Product Manager, Jenman Safaris)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JenmanSafaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We stayed here on two occassions at the beginning and end of our trip through Namibia. We found the owner and staff to be very helpful and hospitable. The guesthouse itself is basic and like staying in grandma's house really. Rooms homely but a bit cramped; breakfast adequate but not flash. Nevertheless, we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: If you want a more upmarket, modern experience, then this is not for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moonwaker123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
1.4 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#2 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jordani B&B Windhoek
Jordani B&B Windhoek
#11 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
3.0 mi away
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
#2 of 95 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hilltop Guesthouse
Hilltop Guesthouse
#1 of 95 in Windhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Terra Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Terra Africa

Property: Guesthouse Terra Africa
Address: 6 Kenneth McArthur Street | Olympia, Windhoek, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Guesthouse Terra Africa 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hansen & Locher family welcome you to the Terra Africa House. We hope you will relax before or after a trip through our magical Namibia - OR for the business person, a home away from home! Guesthouse Terra Africa has welcomed guests for over a decade to Windhoek and we look forward to seeing you at the Terra Africa House too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Guesthouse Terra Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Terra Africa Hotel Windhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing