We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful warm welcome and very nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guesthouse Terra Africa
Ranked #22 of 101 Windhoek B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 September 2008

We visited Terra Africa at the beginning of our trip and came back at the end. The hosts are wonderful, friendly, funny and very relaxed. Very entertaining. Very nice, big quiet clean rooms. Several areas to relax. Good breakfast. The best B&B we had in Namibia. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GermanTravelGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terra-Africa, Rolf Hansen, co-owner & manager at Guesthouse Terra Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2008

How brilliant to hear these comments from you! I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, as this contributes to a good memory of your visit to Namibia and means that hopefully you will be returning soon again to our lovely country!
Thank you for the comments - we will use them and cherish them to continue in striving to be the best we can be!
Warm Namibian Spring-timeRegards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2008

We spent four nights at Terra Africa. From the moment we arrived, we felt welcome. Rolf came out to greet us with welcome drinks and knew exactly who we were, took us to our comfortable rooms and invited us to settle in before coming out for a coffee in the garden.

The place feels inviting, the rooms are private and the communal areas are comfortable. Rolf has a real flair for the hospitality business and is well-suited to his profession.

Johanna is a smiling assistant. Nothing is too much trouble at Terra Africa. The food is excellent and good value. It’s a great place to relax after a long trip – in our case my daughter and I flew in from Australia to meet my husband coming from the Middle East.

Even before we arrived, Rolf was organising transport from the airport for us and when we returned for a social visit after our tour of Namibia, he was booking a restaurant for us. Sadly, there was no vacancy on the return trip and our stay ‘down the road’ further highlighted the difference between a welcoming B&B and one that doesn’t care much.

Our young daughter was enthralled with the search for resident tortoises and meerkats. She even braved the swimming pool. The garden is very relaxing and peaceful.

Terra Africa is highly recommended, you won’t regret it!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bilasukari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terra-Africa, Rolf Hansen, co-owner & manager at Guesthouse Terra Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2008

Thank you very much for your warm-hearted feedback! It was indeed lovely to have your family with us! At Terra Africa we always strive to give our best as this reflects on Namibia as much as our Terra Africa-style of accommodation and we look forward to welcoming you back to Terra Africa when hopefully returning to Namibia.
I once again also apologize for the hot water porblem experienced during your stay during the switch-over from electic to solar geysers - and thank you for your understanding - we finally got the new solar pannels sorted out and now we can proudly say the Terra Africa too has "gone green" as our hot water, as well as swimmingpool is now heated by solar panels - YEAYH!!
Keep well and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2008

We stayed at Terra Africa 2 days before safari and it was an ideal start to our holiday, Rolf is the perfect host, you feel like a friend more than a visitor, we returned after our 10 days safari and it was the perfect wind down place, we stayed 6 more nights and Rolf and his family and staff did everything possible to make our stay pleasant.

I would reccommend this place without hesitation, its well worth a visit and theres a fantastic garden to relax in after a long hard day travelling!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank EnglandWiMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2008

Our travel agent booked us into Terra Africa for our first night in Namibia. Loved it! We wanted something quiet as we had just traveled over 20 hours. Upon arriving we were given cold drinks, a warm smile, and a very comfortable room. The manager took it upon himself to make sure we had everything we needed. It was so nice to be made to feel like a special guest rather than another annoymous face passing through. Dinner was amazing, breakfast was wonderful. We decided to stay there again after our two week safari and it was perfect.
The location is a short (5 minutes or so) cab ride from down town. It is set on a hill side in a quiet, residential area overlooking a valley. Terra Africa is a family run business, and they have put a lot of care in the details. A true gem!!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank closplu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terra-Africa, Rolf Hansen - Manager & Co-Owner at Guesthouse Terra Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2008

Thank you very much for your kind feedback!
It was lovely having you with us and we look forward to a possible future return!
I trust you enjoyed the rest of you holiday in our beautiful country!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2008

I stayed at Guesthouse Terra Africa for 2 nights in June 2008. It was between 2 trips, the 1st being a 10 day camping trip in Southern Namibia. From the moment I arrived (hot, dusty and tired!!) Rolf and his team really looked after me. It felt like nothing was too much trouble, and they have got the balance right between looking after people and leaving them on their own. Rooms were spotless, comfortable and good size. Breakfast was delicious, and the deck and garden area are real chill out zones with a great view over to the Parliament buildings. Would thoroughly recommend this place to stay for 1 night or 7, am only sorry that I did not have longer. Thanks again to Rolf for looking after me, and big thanks to his Dad for dropping me to my next stop!!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank JAYBDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terra-Africa, Owner & Manager: Rolf Hansen at Guesthouse Terra Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2008

Dear JAYBDublin,

Thank you very much for your response and wondwerful feedback. It's alwyas good to know that the energy we put in at Terra Africa is appreciated and shared! Reading such reviews to the team makes everyone more enthuisiastic to just give some more and make every guest's stay with us more memorable and fun!
We look forward to welcoming you in you Namibian home on your next visit to our beautiful country - untill then: Dumelang!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2008

During our Namibian holiday we had the pleasure of a three night stay at Terra Africa. We were very impressed by the genuine hospitality and helpfulness of Rolf and his team. Like many arriving at Windhoek airport, our luggage was lost. Rolf was extremely helpful in assisting us and other guests with the process of reuniting with our bags. In addition, he recommended and helped us book dinners at great local restaurants. We had our own vehicle; the guesthouse has secure parking. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the breakfast was delicious and healthy. The guesthouse has a lovely veranda for relaxing in the back garden. We had a great stay and would definitely return!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AandRLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terra-Africa, Owner & Manager: Rolf Hansen at Guesthouse Terra Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2008

Thank you so very much for your feedback and lovely response to Terra Africa!
It's always good to hear the good, the bad and the brilliant - and it's hearing that the extra little things we try and do to make a stay more welcoming, are appreciated and valued, that inspires us to just give some more!
I am so please to hear you enjoy your holiday in Namibia - come visit us again at any time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2008

This place has enough good points, but I think tripadvisor travellers should hesitate before making it their first choice.

Windhoek is a strange city. It is really just a base from which to use Namibia's excellent road network to explore the country's stunning landscape. In fact, much the same could probably be said of most of Namibia's urban areas.

The Windhoek city centre is uninspiring, with a parochial feel. Its restaurants are well below par. On the other hand, the centre has some lovely gardens, first class roads with little traffic and feels much safer than other African capitals. Windhoek also seems to have some nice suburbs with some fashionable looking venues - careful research on these areas is probably warranted.

These sentiments should be borne in mind when reading my views on the GHTA - perhaps they left me more unforgiving than normal. Anyway, GHTA is a case of ups and downs. The location might seem a little remote for those without their own transport. However, Namibia is a driver's country and, with a car, there will be no problems.

Despite some anecdotal suggestions to the contrary, GHTA's suburb is not especially nice. While it is a safe, leafy-ish part of the city, it is simply not as established or pleasant as other areas seemed to be. The view of the adjacent hill, where the presidential residence is situated, was no postcard.

As its name suggests, GHTA is more of a converted house than a hotel. Noise tends to carry from the pool areas to the nearby rooms - a problem some double glazing could have cured. Bathrooms are also a little on the small side.

Then again, the house has lovely African decor. Breakfast was tasty. Rolf, who seems to run the place, has a wonderful, engaging personality. He was extremely helpful and passionate about Namibia and its attractions. Most of the other staff were similarly impressive.

Overall, you could do a lot worse and you should not fear staying at GHTA. However, you would probably benefit from trying to find a place that is more of a small hotel than a guesthouse, in a slightly better area. Enjoy Namibia!

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank OJ_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spuddie_jetsets, Owner & Senior Manager at Guesthouse Terra Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2008

Dear OJ_Hong Kong,

Thank you for your views on Guesthouse Terra Africa and in more general, Windhoek.
We always value feedback from our guests, as this will guide us on the correct direction to apporoach changes, upgrades and ideas for future renovations and additions to our Terra Africa House.
Guesthouse Terra Africa remains a guesthouse, focussing on personal interaction and service to our guests, while promoting a homely environment for a stay with us.
We do not classify ourselves as anything other than a guesthouse striving for superb Namibian hospitality, aiming to create a memorable stay in WIndhoek.
Terra Africa is situated at one of the more centrally locatable areas south of the city centre and easy access to and from the city via Robert Mugabe Avenue. We are located in one of the older, safer suburbs of the city (Old Olympia), now being gradually upgraded and renovated into the new upmarket Auas Blick.
The Terra Africa House was indeed a family home (est 1974) untill recently, when converted and upgraded into a guesthouse, so yes, a strong "home architecture style" is visible, as opposed to a boutque mini-hotel as you may prefer.
Namibia has within the past couple of years sprouted in the area of tourism and we ask your patience on behalf of our entire industry, as we still learn, grow and correct mistakes in the aim of becoming a wonderful tourist destination with optimal hospitality and services.
As for our "smaller bathroooms" and "outside noise"- give us a year or two and we'll have those double-glazing windows in place (as per our current renovation plans) and our new luxury rooms will be available for your convenience and comfort, as opposed to the standard range we have renovated after our recent take-over of the guesthouse in Nov 2006!
Thank you for the critique - pro & neg. We value this very much!
Untill your next visit to Namibia and Terra Africa - Dumelang!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
2 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 17 in Windhoek
1,429 reviews
1.4 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#6 of 17 in Windhoek
249 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jordani B&B Windhoek
Jordani B&B Windhoek
#13 of 17 in Windhoek
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Monte Bello Guesthouse
Monte Bello Guesthouse
#7 of 101 in Windhoek
79 reviews
3 mi away
Hilltop Guesthouse
Hilltop Guesthouse
#1 of 101 in Windhoek
280 reviews
2.9 mi away
Windhoek Gardens Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Terra Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Terra Africa

Address: 6 Kenneth McArthur Street | Olympia, Windhoek, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Windhoek
Price Range: £48 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Guesthouse Terra Africa 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hansen & Locher family welcome you to the Terra Africa House. We hope you will relax before or after a trip through our magical Namibia - OR for the business person, a home away from home! Guesthouse Terra Africa has welcomed guests for over a decade to Windhoek and we look forward to seeing you at the Terra Africa House too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Guesthouse Terra Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Terra Africa Hotel Windhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing