We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Away from stress”
Review of Hotel Thule

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Thule
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Windhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Luanda, Angola
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Away from stress”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Spent 4 days with my family, and it was a good one. Rooms are definitely spacious and well maintained. Wi-fi worked wonderfuly... no complaints at all.The staff was very friendly and helped us in all our requests, even when I needed to watch my Formula 1 race, they promptly agreed to change the central channel to allow me to watch it.We only had breakfast there and it was very good. By the way, the architecture of the reataurant area is outstanding, and the view blends well with your meal, specially if you are looking for a bit of romance or even a family time.The place is a well defined secure and beautiful location, with a nice view of the city. With 2 children, it would have been nice to have a family room which allows them their own room while we have ours, specially after coming from a previous hotel where we had this space. Also, it would be nice if they can upgrade the TV sets in the rooms, as they look a bit too ols fashion...Nevertheless, it was indeed a good stay, and I would recommend it if you want a nice place to relax!

Helpful?
Thank Helder K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    92
    24
    4
    2
See reviews for
32
75
15
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

Great location, beautiful views of Windhoek, large rooms, wifi really works in the rooms. Dining - the restaurant has a great view as well breakfast was good, dinner was just normal, seems like they have a new manager who is really trying to improve their standards.

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dax C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Hotel Thule is a superior hotel unlike larger hotels. It has commanding views over the suburbs and the city and enjoys the best location in Windhoek. The rooms are luxurious, very large with all mod cons (incl. comp. Mini Bar!) plus luxury bathrooms (bath & sep. shower). A big feature for me are the very comfortable beds plus excellent aircon. The staff, service and food quality ALL excellent and I love the small cozy (privately situated) pool with wonderful sun loungers. The hotel is situated in the upmarket suburb of Eros and I went for a long walk as the area is attractive. Another unique aspect of Hotel Thule is the fish pond containing big Koi! I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front on the first floor are best but all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1ON1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johannesburg
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

I stayed at the hotel for 4 nights (Monday to Thursday). The first 3 nights the food was good as usual but on the last night it was disgusting!

The previous night both my guest and I had exactly the same items and the fillet steaks and dessert were perfect but on Thursday the steak was chewy and tough (I don't think it was fillet) and the creme brulee was watery and tasteless. In addition the waitress did not ask if I enjoyed the meal even though I had left half my steak on the plate! She also did not bring me the normal feedback form - I had to ask for it (maybe she knew I was not happy?)

On the Thursday night the hotel was hosting an Old Mutual function so it seems as though the chef was dedicated to them and we residents got the apprentice chef! If I had stayed at the Thule for just that one night I would have given it a 1-star rating and would not go back but because I had three good meals I am giving it 4-stars.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KrugerToKalahari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windhoek
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Had an overnight stay, very good service and food. Magnificent views over Windhoek, not to be missed, will recommend to friends.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gesa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fenstanton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

This was our first experience of Namibia and we were not disappointed. This a great location popular with locals for sundowners and you can see why. The views are excellent Any short comings in the hotel are made up by very friendly helpful staff. Rooms are large and clean. Food good although breakfast is a simple affair but hot food is cooked to order. Pool is really only a plunge pool. Overall we had a relaxing time.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NigelFerrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

I visited for 4 days in January 2012 and had a generally good impression of Hotel Thule. The main building is placed on the top of the hill, overlooking Windhoek, so you can enjoy this from the restaurant, the terrasse or even the pool. The location is on a hilltop, so you should not walk to other places, but rather take either a cab or rent a car.
The rooms are in some separate buildings, ajacent to a parking lot with a little garden and a fountain with fish. My room was one floor up, overlooking the parking, thus also giving a view towards the city. Big room, comfortable beds, good amenities, large bathroom (separate shower and tub), free wifi, safe, TV (8 channels, locals+CNN+movie channel). The minibar is included and holds water, sodas and local beer.
The breakfast buffet is good, not with a very wide selection, but of very high quality. Personally I am fine with just 4 types of cerials, 10 types of bread, selection of juices and milk and a cook that wil make omelets and other egg-type dishes for you.
I tried the restaurant one evening, and again the quality was very high indeed. I has austrich carpacio for starter and Oryx steak as main course, delicious indeed. The menu is varied so you will find something for your taste also.
The staff is very friendly and attentive, especially the day time manager, that spend much of his time ensuring the you are pleased with your stay.
I will both love to come back and recommend this to others.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacob57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
1.5 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 16 in Windhoek
1,368 reviews
4.2 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
232 reviews
1.5 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Heinitzburg
Hotel Heinitzburg
#3 of 16 in Windhoek
362 reviews
4.9 mi away
Windhoek Country Club Resort
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pension Uhland
Hotel Pension Uhland
#8 of 16 in Windhoek
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Thule? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Thule

Property: Hotel Thule
Address: 1 Gorges Street, Windhoek, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Thule 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Thule was originally a one-time luxury home built by the late Edmund Lafrenz in 1960 as a sumptuous home for himself and his late wife, Liselotte. It was purchased by Windhoek businessman and entrepreneur, Wolfgang Egerer just before the turn of the century, who then reconstructed it into the beautiful up-market 25 bedroom hotel it is today. The outstanding panoramic views over Windhoek are a unique and unparalleled feature of this pearl of Namibia. Hotel Thule offers first class accommodation, quality service, tranquillity and style to ensure customer satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Thule reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing