We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private family dinner at the "On the Edge Restaurant"”
Review of Hotel Thule

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Thule
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Windhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Private family dinner at the "On the Edge Restaurant"”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We were invited to a private dinner party at the "On the Edge" Restaurant, situated at the Thule Hotel. The dinner room was very beautiful with the best views of the City from a hilltop. The food was excellent and the service friendly and professional.
Great place for a private dinner party with enough room for children to run around.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moctar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    91
    24
    4
    2
See reviews for
30
75
15
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

What a splendid eveing was had ! excellent food, awesome view overlooking Windhoek and the mountains surrounding... We were a party of 5 and sampled most of the Main Courses on offer...they were all 5 Star in preparation and and taste. Service was equally wonderful and so overall I can confidently recommend this Hotel restaurant to those looking for an up market evening out of fine dining ! go and enjoy ...my favourite...the Oryx !!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andre J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaipur
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Restaurent is located where u get a superb view of the city , particularly at night ! Food is average . Ambiance is good ., though expensive . Not many ppeople are aware of this hotel .navigator also mentions the name of street , not the hotel .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DOSIMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

In hindsight its definitely not the romantic hotel I envisaged for my husband and I but the rooms were very clean, if a trifle outdated - circa 1970's. I know the history of Thule as I went to school in Windhoek..... It was also incredibly cheap accommodation we thought. We don't normally spend so little on hotel accommodation! I would categorise it under a business hotel though..... Unfortunately for us we didn't eat in their restaurant that evening and enjoy the wonderful views but stupidly chose to eat at the Stellenbosch Wine bar and bistro, which was a lesson in patience. (The restaurant is reviewed separately). Thule is amazing for efficiency - it was the shortest check-in/check-out ever! We also found their staff very friendly and polite. Loved the view whilst having breakfast the next morning. Breakfast was more than adequate.

Room Tip: I'm no help because I wouldn't choose to stay there again
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bongitole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We had dinner with a group of seven. Even though the booking had not worked out, the very friendly staff provided an extra table directly on the window front. Food was very good, the steak grilled to perfection, the oryx wonderfully done. Good, if not exhaustive wine list. Staff as good as it gets in Windhoek. In the top five of Windhoek restos.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akka J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitewood, South Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

As we pulled into the paring lot, one cannot help but take in the magnificent view of the city. Our room far larger than expected and the restroom.....well, I've NEVER been spoiled with a heated towel rack! The bed was comfortable and the sitting area very nice, the entire facility very clean and relaxing. I was ill when we checked in, so the sprite that was in the mini-bar was a god send! The staff very friendly while maintaining the utmost professionalism. Breakfast was wonderful and being able to sit on the 'balcony' to enjoy the view was a nice touch. Dinner on the Terrace watching the lights come on across the city while the sun was setting was absolutely awe-inspiring. A perfect end to our adventure in Africa. My only suggestion to the management would be to put an alarm clock in the room. I don't sleep well if when I wake in the night and can't see what time it is and my watch doesn't have a light on it nor did my cell phone work in Africa.

Room Tip: Only thing that would have been nicer would have been a balcony room over-looking the city, but I do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wyoconnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camps Bay, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We were in Windhoek for a wedding and needing two nights accommodation. The hotel is well positioned; up high, in the suburbs on the right as one enters from the airport, before one gets to the city centre. You need a car to get around.
Was disappointed on arrival because the rooms are in a 'motel' like block to the left of the main circular building which you see in the photos. Also, despite having booked a month previously and double-checked the week before, they did not have a double-bed room available for us. In fact gave us a key to a room that was still occupied. So we were directed to an upstairs room with twin beds. It overlooked the front carpark. All rooms either face this way or are at the back looking at the hill behind.
The room was exactly as per website photos: large, clean, but rather devoid of character. Lighing was poor in our room (17) and the extractor in the bathroom (windowless) did not work. The bed, my twin anyway, was comfortable and there was plenty of warm bedding. Windows opened on to carpark, which was mainly quiet. Great heater/air-conditioner; former needed at this time of year. DSTV in room so we could watch the British Lions / Wallabies match.
Only mirror was in the bathroom over the basin. The extras where mixed - you get little bottles of shampoo, body wash, conditioner, but only one small soap to cover the basin and shower (Room 17 doesn't have a bath).
Small, badly positioned cupboard in bedroom. But a chocolate next to the bed each day and a free bar fridge (couple of beers, cola's, Mars bar.)
Walls are quite thin; could easily hear our neighbours telephone conversation.
Service was generally good and staff were helpful. Was impressed with response to my falling ill and staying in bed all of the Saturday morning, way past house-keeping time. Delivered plain meal to the room (not on room service menu) and cleaned the room once we left and after their shift officially had ended.
Gates to the hotel are locked quite early in the evening and we were locked out upon our return on the Saturday night at 23h30. Guard was asleep; we had to phone the hotel to get someone to let us back in.
Overall felt price was too high for what we got and would probably look elsewhere if returning to Windhoek.

Room Tip: Saw Room 3 as we walked past - looked bigger, better appointed, more character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucinda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
1.5 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 16 in Windhoek
1,346 reviews
4.2 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
227 reviews
1.5 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Windhoek Country Club Resort
1.6 mi away
Hotel Heinitzburg
Hotel Heinitzburg
#3 of 16 in Windhoek
358 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pension Uhland
Hotel Pension Uhland
#8 of 16 in Windhoek
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Thule? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Thule

Property: Hotel Thule
Address: 1 Gorges Street, Windhoek, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Thule 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Thule was originally a one-time luxury home built by the late Edmund Lafrenz in 1960 as a sumptuous home for himself and his late wife, Liselotte. It was purchased by Windhoek businessman and entrepreneur, Wolfgang Egerer just before the turn of the century, who then reconstructed it into the beautiful up-market 25 bedroom hotel it is today. The outstanding panoramic views over Windhoek are a unique and unparalleled feature of this pearl of Namibia. Hotel Thule offers first class accommodation, quality service, tranquillity and style to ensure customer satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Thule reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing