We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tourist Must For Dinner”
Review of Joe's Beer House

Joe's Beer House
Ranked #2 of 132 Restaurants in Windhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$22
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Joe's Beerhouse is a place for people of all walks of life to meet. It can seat up to 580 guests at a time and is open 7 days of the week. The menu emphasis lies on game meat but also caters for non-meat lovers. It however is not geared toward fine dining. Reservations are essential as the restaurant is well frequently booked out.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A Tourist Must For Dinner”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We had dinner at Joe's our first night in Namibia. It met all our expectations.
Joe's is a series or outside eating areas and bars decorated in a Namibian motif. It is touristy eclectic not tacky.
The food and drinks were reasonably priced and the portions large. There is a large varied menu that includes beef, pork, chicken, fish and a number of game dishes.
Both the food and wine were very good. Service was good and there was no long wait to be seated or served.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WFBTraveler3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,613 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,027
    1,112
    355
    84
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
“A must experience”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Full of character, a must visit place in Windhoek. We were recommended to Joe's and found it to have really good food and great service.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A bit of everything”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This place is divided into different areas, from a lively sports bar type area to a more sedate restaurant. The food is good and the beer was cold. I had the Oryx Jager Schnitzel.
I sat in the restaurant at the bar, which is a pretty good option for someone dining solo, wanting a quietish meal. But later when I went to the bathroom would've preferred to sit in the more lively sports bar area. But not sure if you can eat in there.

There is also plenty of outdoor seating, but it was too cold for me to try that out.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I has some misgivings about going to Joe's as we knew it was very big and we were tired having driven from Zeerust. I anticipated a long wait and that the vegetarian options would be limited. I was wrong on both counts. Service was pleasant and efficient and whilst my husband and daughter enjoyed their meat meals I had good choice and my vegetarian meal was different and tasty.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mickie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food, but not really what it used to be”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Seeing Joe's Beer House when you are in Windhoek is a must for any traveler, the interior of this venue is very interestingly decorated and the selection of African meals (somewhat western-ised) is quite impressive, but it would appear that service has declines somewhat as waiters were not able to clearly identify which meal is which and two people ordered the same meal (Bushman's selection) which includes 5 types of game meat, but they ran out of crocodile and just made a substitution without notifying the table.

A great vibe with the locals, particularly if there is live music

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Belac10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Joe's Beer House also viewed

 
Windhoek, Khomas Region
 

Been to Joe's Beer House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing