We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible attitude”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Windhoek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Pension Palmquell
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Windhoek
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Terrible attitude”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

If you would like to be treated like a naughty child by over aggressive german woman, then this is the place for you. Not recommended! Very inflexible, uncompromising, old bedding and rude management. Nice breakfasts though. .. when youre not getting shouted at for something as simple as moving a table a little.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    27
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
9
29
2
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

A group of us stayed here at the start and end of a 14 day safari. It's a professionally run place with decent sized rooms. Dinner is good tho it can take a while to be delivered. Breakfast is excellent. The owner is on hand and takes a personal interest in the guests.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 881swf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We had just an overnight stay at the Palmquell, in a nice residential suburb of WIndhoek. Whole place reminded me of Germany, although we were told it was Austrian-owned. We had a spacious room with three beds in the scattered one-story buildings scattered through pleasing gardens and pool are. Breakfast was full on European breakfast. Free WiFi was nice after not having it in several game reserves.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canuck6616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

One of only two venues I use in Windhoek.

A very german affair. Rooms are very spacious and comfortable. The facilities are pretty good with a nice pool and garden. Breakfasts are very good!! Staff is quite friendly and helpful. When I resided last time there was no wi-fi, which is a huge letdown for any business traveller and the only drawback.

They have a restaurant at the hotel, but unfortunately the meals aren't prepared as well as they could be. A good cook and revised many in desperate need. Sometimes less is more.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rayno P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
245 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

We spent two nights at the Palmquell at a family-run hotel, which the family is looking to sell. We had a large, comfortable room at the bottom of the property. Our verandah looked out over the garden, full of palms and birds. It was a good spot even though a bit away from the pool and reception. The restaurant was very pleasant, although no evening meals were available when we were there. Breakfasts were very good. The Palmquell is a good place to stay, quiet and away from the bustle of the city. However, the hotel is in Klein Windhoek and some distance from the centre of the city; transport is necessary. There are, however, some decent eating places within walking distance. So overall, a good place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diomedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Hotel Pension Palmquell is a comfortable hotel with lovely big rooms, set in lovely gardens with large swimming pool. The restaurant is great with fireplace , serving a small menu of "home cooked" - great for business travellers. The wide breakfast selection was also lovely, although served by a rather rude lady.

Although Hotel Pension Palmquell offers free access to the wifi, this is only available in the dining area which makes it difficult for business travellers who work late into the evening. The underfloor heating wasn't working in my room, although promised it would be fixed during my stay, it wasn't. I had a big double bed, but only blankets for a single bed. The provided towels were small and looked old. The decoration of the room looked outdated, and the TV only showed a few channels (mainly german).

I wouldn't rush back to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Palmquell guest house has rooms are of average standard, and the staff appears a bit stressed and the management perplexed contributing to a less relaxed ambiance. Having small children in the company the pension, however, offers a great garden and a pool, with space for them to play. The first night we had a family room with an extra bed, but it was dark and the noise from traffic just outside was disturbing. Avoid the room near the entryway! We were however able to change this room to a better one after one night. The breakfast was served in the garden and very good. The guest house is well located with a mall and a small shopping center within walking distance.
On the whole we did find the pension rather expensive compared to other guest houses that we visited while in Namibia, and it wouldn´t be our first choice when we return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GWNUppsala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 16 in Windhoek
1,254 reviews
2.5 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
210 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#3 of 16 in Windhoek
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
1.4 mi away
Hotel Pension Uhland
Hotel Pension Uhland
#8 of 16 in Windhoek
184 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Heinitzburg
Hotel Heinitzburg
#4 of 16 in Windhoek
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pension Palmquell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pension Palmquell

Property: Hotel Pension Palmquell
Address: PO Box 6143, Windhoek, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Windhoek
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing