We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty gardens, very nice staff”
Review of Casa Blanca Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Blanca Hotel
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Windhoek
Reviewed 25 June 2010

Situated in a pleasant residential area of Windhoek, this hotel must have one of the prettiest gardens in town. As one might guess from the name, the hotel is white and the exterior in Andalusian style. The gardens are full of colourful bougainvillea and other flowers. The nano-sized ‘swimming’ pool is situated in one of the several courtyards; I suppose it must provide a refreshing dip during the hotter months. Dinner must be ordered by 16h00 and is a set menu; breakfast was a rather simple affair. The staff were extremely courteous, helpful and friendly. For what it is, the casa Blanca is very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
There are newer reviews for Casa Blanca Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2010

Casa Blanca was a great choice for jet lag recovery. The property and the room were quiet and the beds were comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful in arranging excursions to town and beyond. The home cooked dinner was awesome! Peter and Elke were wonderful hosts.

We only spent a couple of nights in Windhoek, but Casa Blanca would make a great home base for an extended stay in the Windhoek area.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4evertravelbug8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2010

We stayed there two time, at the beginning and at the end of our tour in Namibia. In these occasions our evaluation was different: the first time we were amazed by our huge and nice room (and bathroom) and by the nice welcoming of our hosts. The second time we had a room on the ground floor that was good but not as charming as the previous one. The first time we met the owners (I suppose)and we had nice time and fun with them. We arrived very late and so theycooked for us and spent some time with us. The second time probably they weren't there and the staff was normal (not so welcoming). However it is a very good accomodation in Windhoek

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vally81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2009

We loved this hotel as the rooms were nice with great beds and hot showers. The grounds were clean and well kept. The service was very friendly and hospitable. I felt like I was among family.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wasillarocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2009

I have stayed at this guest house since its inception. I have found the attention to detail exceptional creating a very comfortable stay. The owners, together with their staff, make sure of your comfort at all times.
I travel (on business), as a rule, with my wife who is quite happy to remain at the guest house during the day sitting outside soaking up the sun and in summer, using the pool.
As we have stayed here so many times, the relationship with the owners, Elke & Peter, has become peronal.
The breakfasts are substantial & they serve a preset delicious dinner at night. I have found this establishment ideal as a businessman whether with my wife or alone & recomend it to anyone coming to Windhoek either on business or pleasure

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SelmanCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2009

This is a beautiful small hotel or large guest house with totally gorgeous gardens, interesting decor, yummy breakfast and a range of comfortable and stylish rooms. More importantly though, the hosts went out of their way to find room for us even when the hotel was already full, chatted, gave advice (and remained cheerful and helpful even when our youngest threw up on the garden path ;-)

Totally recommended; one of our nicest stays in Namibia.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KatefromNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2008

I was surprised to be the first to review this very pleasant small hotel / guesthouse.

We arrived at this hotel late in the night and departed quite early, so there may be a limit on our knowledge of the place. It should also be borne in mind that Windhoek seems a city of either small hotels / guesthouses or fairly large (and apparently not highly regarded) commercial operations. So the lover of the small to mid-sized boutique hotel may find slim pickings (the Olive Grove, but perhaps not the Heinitzburg if its restaurant and tripadvisor reviews are anything to go by, looks worthwhile in this regard).

Further, with Windhoek's guesthouse-type operations, it is best to be a little more tolerant than one would be with a true hotel. These are often family-run establishments, without quite the level of professionalism that one would normally expect. On the other hand, they can have a great deal of character and be very warm and welcoming.

So it was with CBH. It is decorated very tastefully, with lovely pool and courtyard areas. The owners gave us a warm welcome, despite our late arrivel (after 9.00 pm). They even opened up the laundry for me to do our ironing (my preferred outlet for my masculinity), ahead of our early departure. A new iron / board would not go astray, but I'm told I'm more fussy than most about having ironing facilities in my accommodation.

The owners even kindly let us have a local friend drop in for breakfast, without charge, notwithstanding that we had not had the time to notify them in advance. The breakfast and service were quite good.

We were lucky enough to get the upstairs room with a balcony area, which had significant privacy and nice views of Windhoek. The room and the shower were nicely decorated and spacious. There was a good, though not blue chip, range of toiletries and a well stocked mini-bar (newcomers to southern Africa should try a vodka and red grapetizer....mmmmm).

The suburb in which CBH is located seems very leafy and upmarket. There is some sort of bar / steakhouse in the immediate area which looks okay. Otherwise, as we were leaving the city, we noticed some very nice areas with a few fashionable looking bars and restaurants not too far from Pioneers Park. This is worth researching further, not least because on a previous visit to Windhoek we had found the city centre and its venues decidedly underwhelming.

CBH is then a very good choice. It should be approached as more of a guesthouse than a boutique hotel. As such, it is well worth a stay.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank OJ_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
1.6 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
236 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#2 of 16 in Windhoek
1,393 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Pension Uhland
Hotel Pension Uhland
#8 of 16 in Windhoek
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Jordani B&B Windhoek
Jordani B&B Windhoek
#12 of 16 in Windhoek
43 reviews
1.1 mi away
Safari Court Hotel
Safari Court Hotel
#13 of 16 in Windhoek
255 reviews
1.2 mi away
Safari Hotel
Safari Hotel
#15 of 16 in Windhoek
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Blanca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Blanca Hotel

Address: 52 Fritsche Street | P O Box 30547, Windhoek, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Windhoek
Price Range: £81 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Blanca Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Casa Blanca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing