We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the worst, but not even the best...”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Gaweye

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Gaweye
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Niamey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not the worst, but not even the best...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

This hotel is reputed to be the best in Niamay. Well, I have a few reservations. The hotel needs renovation all over, the corridors to the rooms are rather dirty and badly kept, the rooms, if you get one facing the river, are not bad and so are the bathrooms, but nothing fancy and the price doesn't match the pretended quality. If this is the best Niger has to offer, there is a lot to be desired.

Food is acceptable, breakfast is good, but it is not included in the room price. A plus if you look at the breakfast buffet, a minus if you think that you are paying a 10% additional fee to your already high room price. Staff are decently trained and polite. The room service rapid enough not to call for any complaints.

The swimming pool is nice but, especially during week end, full of outsiders with zillions of kids, which makes it rather noisy.

At night they open a grill at the pool, which serves a rather limited selection of food of average quality. However, when the evening comes, not only mosquitos swarm but also prostitutes who approach you quite aggressively, actually more aggressively than the mosquitoes, making the dinner of those who are not interested almost unpleasant.

Well, in a capital city, albeit of a poor Sahelian country, one would expect something a bit better overall.

Room Tip: If you really have to stay here try to get a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurizio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    16
    46
    29
    11
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
4
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

I had hopes the rooms were going to be decent judging from the grandeur of the lobby, Unfortunately, it was a disappointing stay over all. I stayed there twice in February 2013 and June 2013. To start with the rooms the first one I had was clean but smelled of an old musty room. The bathroom was very clean, but faucets were falling apart. Just outside my door was a huge water stain on the hallway carpet. It seemed the entire hallway had numerous stains beginning from the elevator all the way down the corridors. The second room was not any better; worst in fact. All other hotels were booked solid so had no choice but to stay here. The airconditioning was not working effectively - not at all - to combat the extreme heat of Niamey. I practically lived in the hotel lobby or bar to cool off.

On the positive side - their pool side restaurant had good food, especially their brick oven pizza. And they have a Western Union on the main floor. Wifi is decent.

Even though the room rates are higher than the other big hotel, it is quite disappointing. I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globalnomad23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Niamey hotels

Paris, France
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

One of the most negative hotel experience I ever had in 15 years of travel...
No cold water (tap was blocked for whatever reason), and the aircon was so noisy, I spent 3 nights without sleeping. Of course, I mentioned it but no one ever came to fix those problems.
Not to mention the lack of shower gel on day one, the lack of towels on day 2....
As a conclusion: do avoid the Gaweye Hotel, and go to Grand Hotel which is much better!

Room Tip: I wish I had been offered to change room because of the technical problems. But they let me in this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel is what you might expect to find in Niger. It's old and quite decrepit. The lobby and reception area are fine, but the rooms have dirty carpets on the floors and peeling wallpaper with various and sundry stains on them. Also, upon returning to my room one day I found that housekeeping was cleaning the window ledges (a good thing) with gasoline (a very bad thing)! The beds were reasonably comfortable and the sheets were clean.

The issue with the hotel is the price. We paid about $160/night for our stay, which was way beyond what the hotel provided. That being said, it is quite secure for Niger, and there is some value in that, just not enough to warrant the exorbitant cost.

If you do stay here, try the brochettes or the pizza at the pool bar. Pretty decent...

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigwavesound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Its is secure as most foreign officials make use of this place. Quite old and lost its glory kindof...centrally placed around the seat of government with a lake view at the back. Dinner is buffet and you get to eat as much as you want.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
354 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

We stayed at Gaweye during November 2013. Some nights were too hot (A/C centrally controlled, no control in the room), whereas for some other nights, a/c would be on and room would be cold.

Breakfast is not of really good quality, lots of bread products.

Good points to staying at Gaweye are: Internet stable and fast enough (one can stream videos without waiting), great security 24/7 at the parking entrance, room spacious, bar open late serving sandwiches, located in front of national museum and zoo.

Lobby is grand, but older. The whole hotel needs upgrade.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarySL00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

I have been booked to stay in the hotel for seven nights. The hotel seems to have gotten a bigger reservation from some government agency and gave our prepaid rooms to them.......have been camping in their foyer for a few hours with total incompetent personnel not even trying to rectify. I am attempting to get a refund to look for other accommodation, but even that proofs to be problematic for the far less than competent staff and management Warning!!! Do not ever book here!!!! Spare yourself a heart attack!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Willem E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niamey hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Terminus
Hotel Terminus
#2 of 8 in Niamey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel de la Tapoa
Hotel de la Tapoa
#1 of 8 in Niamey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
24.3 mi away
Tenere Hotel
Tenere Hotel
#7 of 8 in Niamey
3.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Niger Soluxe Hotel
Niger Soluxe Hotel
#7 of 14 in Niamey
3.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Homeland Hotel
Homeland Hotel
#8 of 14 in Niamey
3.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Les Collines
#6 of 14 in Niamey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gaweye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gaweye

Property: Hotel Gaweye
Address: Niamey, Niger
Region: Niger > Niamey
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Niamey
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Gaweye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaweye Hotel Niamey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing