We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nicon Luxury, Abuja
Ranked #51 of 83 Hotels in Abuja
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very good”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Very brilliant hotel treated us kindly, my kids were very happy with the staff theres squash and many other activities. I definitely recommend this hotel. It's also a good price!
"This hotel may have been a luxury hotel at some point. It is nothing like that anymore. Electricity out, no hot water, part of the bed linen obviously nit changed. I checked in, but after two hours decided to to Sheraton. Had to argue a while before they refunded my payment, but I did get practically all back." this is not true!

Room Tip: Rooms on the left hand side as soon as you come out of the lift have a very good view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ayodejji o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    5
    18
    12
    18
See reviews for
3
2
4
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jerez De La Frontera, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

My credit card was skimmed at the reception of this hotel! I am sure while I only used it here. Weeks later money was taken from my account from Florida us. Never loose track of your card one second here!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcelyChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Abuja hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

This hotel may have been a luxury hotel at some point. It is nothing like that anymore. Electricity out, no hot water, part of the bed linen obviously nit changed. I checked in, but after two hours decided to to Sheraton. Had to argue a while before they refunded my payment, but I did get practically all back. If you are with low budget, this could still be an option. I did hear some horror stories from my colleagues staying in some other hotels, so thisnis not the worst.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LPekkala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

This place has grown a bit shabby around the edges in recent years.
It is perfectly comfortable and offers a pleasant stay but it is not the best place as a base for business meetings.
The rooms are large and with great views from the huge windows and while in need of refurbishment are fine.
The staff are helpful.
The restaurant is comfortable with a pleasant atmosphere but seems to mainly focus on buffet meals.
The price is quite a bit lower than other big hotels in town.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012

I would be suspicious of any hotel that feels the need to include the word "luxury" in its name. I have stayed here twice before and each time it seems to get worse. The ATM in reception twice completed a transaction but failed to actually give me any money. My room key card stopped working everyday, meaning that when I came in and went to my room I couldn't get in and had to come back down again to get them to re-instate the card. There seemed to be some sort of conference going on there with hundreds of particiapnts. The normal place for breakfast was allotted to their use and the "ordinary" guests went to a tiny room for their breakfast. The breakfast was fine, cereal, fruit juice, fresh bread. Apart from breakfast, we didn't eat in the hotel restaurant for any other meals as past experience told me that they only did African food which was not to my liking. We went to the Sheraton or the Transcorp Hilton for our evening meals. Transcorp came out on top but at a price! The room in the Nicon was ok, when we arrived we were told we had been upgraded. This upgraded room seemed similar to the ordinary rooms, just a lot bigger. One of the highlights of the hotel is the pool, it is quite big and just what I wanted to cool off and get some exercise. It was a bit cloudy and green looking but I went in anyway and didn't suffer any ill effects. The hotel does have a kind of laid back charm to it and the staff were mostly friendly and helpful. When I look at the prices of the opposition, I think I would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ludwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg south Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012 via mobile

Recently ran a 5 day life masters transformational leadership retreat at Nigeria nicon luxury hotel.
Rooms were good. Conferencing was fair with some broken chairs, and small room for 50 pax. I would have liked a better sound system as well.

Service was great. Staff friendly and effective. Loved doing the team building and leadership action learning activities around the pool area.

Room rate was around USD $250 per night for dinner and bed. I slept like a baby each night.

Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank fishing-charter-fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayonne, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
394 reviews
204 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

I was supposed to stay here during my stay in Abuja but the hotel did not honor our reservations. I was taking part in a college fair sponsored by the US Embassy. The US Embassy staff made all of the reservations for our group but the hotel sold our rooms. We ended up eating at the restaurant downstairs of the lobby while the Embassy sorted out the situation. The food was overpriced and terrible. $30 for a dinner buffet with food that was left out for hours. One of my colleagues ordered a small kids sized box of orange juice and was charged $10 for it. After the fiasco we ended up staying at the Best Western and realized we should have stayed there to begin with.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. There are much better options in Abuja.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lewis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abuja hotels
0.7 mi away
Chelsea Hotel
Chelsea Hotel
#43 of 83 in Abuja
67 reviews
1.2 mi away
Stonehedge Hotel
Stonehedge Hotel
#16 of 83 in Abuja
8 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Abuja Hotel
Sheraton Abuja Hotel
#5 of 83 in Abuja
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Nordic Hotel
Nordic Hotel
#1 of 83 in Abuja
143 reviews
0.4 mi away
Reiz Continental Hotel
4.6 mi away
The Nordic Villa
The Nordic Villa
#3 of 83 in Abuja
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nicon Luxury, Abuja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nicon Luxury, Abuja

Property: Nicon Luxury, Abuja
Address: Plot 903 Tafawa Balewa Way | Area 11, Garki, Abuja, Nigeria
Region: Nigeria > Abuja State > Abuja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Abuja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nicon Luxury, Abuja 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Nicon Luxury, Abuja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nicon Luxury, Abuja Hotel Abuja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing