We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja
Ranked #46 of 84 Hotels in Abuja
Reviewed 6 November 2011

I have stayed severally with family, friends and solo. I keep coming back because of the excellent staff, who are always willing to make you feel at home, the kitchenette and the sizes of the rooms. There is a noticeable service improvement on every visit.
I do not like the wardrobe in the bathroom. Generally, it is a thumb up.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hawthornabuja, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2011

We are glad to know that you have experienced consistently good service during your various stays with us and we will continue to live up to that expectation. We have noted your comments about the location of wardrobes in the bathroom and are pleased to inform you that we have several rooms where the wardrobes are in the bedroom area; we will be glad to honour your request for one of those rooms during your next stay.

Thank you for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja.

Yours sincerely,

Kayode Aina
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2011

The exterior of the building is not attractive, a little modification can be done especially at the entrance. The rooms are good and of good standard but the price is high, a little adjustment to the price will make it more attrractive.
I stayed for four nights, i enjoy my stay but there is need to improve the meal and add variety. the lunch and dinner is thesame item for the four nights.
There is need for computer and internet in the rooms. the business center is not fully equiped. No printer, no scanner and the internet is too slow, I was frustrated.
You can add a little live performance by the pool side on fridays for (Thank God is Friday) as no activitiy in the hotel, it makes it too dry for a young man.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank william_ajayi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hawthornabuja, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay in our hotel. We appreciate your various comments. On our pricing, we go to great lengths to make sure that our room rates are competitive and are great value for the money; this is why we continue to find ways to provide complimentary breakfast buffet that offers good variety in addition to providing other amenities like spacious suites with kitchenettes and free internet access.

We are sorry for the inconvenience you encountered in our business centre due to the breakdown of our printer/scanner. It was repaired the very next day and we have now added a second printer/scanner to mitigate such downtime in the future. We are currently evaluating the option of adjusting our internet bandwidth to make it adequate for periods of high occupancy as we witnessed a couple of weeks ago. Your observations about the lunch and dinner food variety as well as your suggestions for poolside entertainment are noted for action.

We are glad to know that your overall experience in our hotel was positive; we hope to see you again on your next visit to Abuja.

Sincerely,

Kayode Aina
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Nice location and easily accessible. Its closeness to a mega store (Sahad Stores) is an added advantage. You can get your toiletries and refreshment at anytime. I wonder why liquor is not available at the bar. Management may have to review this in order not to give away a few of your guest that may require such items.

Room Tip: The rooms are spacious and neat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aadeniran A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hawthornabuja, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2011

Thank you for your recent stay with us. We are glad that you liked the location and accessibility of our hotel. We appreciate your observation and suggestion on the non-availability of liquor in our hotel. Our hotel, like all Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham around the world, emphasizes value for the money by providing clean spacious suites with homely feel, free internet access and complimentary breakfast buffet with a wide variety of items for all guests. Bars serving alcohol are not part of our brand concept but our guests are free to bring their own liquor, as many of them do and they actually find it more economical to do so. Others visit many of the bars within close proximity of our hotel.

We look forward to your return and assure you that we will continue to keep our spacious suites neat and refreshed for you.

Sincerely,
Kayode Aina
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

After having stayed in well known intl. hotels in Abuja, Hawthorn Suites is actually pretty ok. Although still not cheap, comparing value for money leaves a positive resume. Liked the excellent breakfast and - facing the court yard - enjoyed the quietness. Staff could be a little more attentive and 'motivated'. But we all have our moods depending on the day, don't we? Cheers, Michael

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool - street views are noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reflect-and-Consider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hawthornabuja, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2011

Thank you for your comments. Free breakfast for all guests is a key attribute of the Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham brand. We agree that breakfast really is the most important meal of the day – this fact drives our continued commitment to keep finding ways to provide complimentary breakfast buffet that offers good variety. This and other amenities like spacious suites with kitchenettes and free internet access are some of the ways we add value to our very competitive room rates.

Your observation about the attentiveness and motivation of our staff is noted; we will continue to improve in this very important aspect. We are glad that you appreciate the quietness and privacy our hotel offers and hope you will continue to make us your hotel of choice in Abuja.

Yours Sincerely,

Kayode Aina
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights. Thay give a 50% discount for weekend rates...otherwise it is ridculously expensive for what is on offer. Even with the discount, the smallest room is about $150 a night.

Cons: The building is poorly built. The woodwork, painting and finishing is of low quality especially in the hallways and other communal areas. The safety latch on my suite door was broken so I had to lock the bedroom door when I went to sleep. Staff courtesy is hit or miss...some are very polite and others are flippant and almost rude. I was a solo female guest and I often felt uncomfortable with the lack of courteousness.

Pros: The buffet breakfast offers a good variety. The bed was averagely comfortable (a little lumpy and uneven). The microwave in the room came in very handy and I liked the open plan nature of the living area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hans411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hawthornabuja, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2011

Thank you for sharing your experience with us about your recent stay. Knowing that our guests expect and deserve the best value for their money, we adopt a pricing strategy that incorporates careful attention to service delivery as well as the provision of value-added amenities like free unlimited internet access and complimentary breakfast buffet that offers a good variety as you kindly pointed out.

Our sincere apologies for the lapses you experienced. The paint patchwork you noticed was a result of a recent repair to the wall and was in the process of being repainted. We are grateful that you care enough to let us know where we need to improve and we shall take your feedback and act on it.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Abuja.

Yours Sincerely,

Kayode Aina
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

A very neat and tidy place with smilingly serving staff out to help you and available at your beck and call.
Very warm and cozy place that makes you feel at home.
Never for a moment i felt to be far away from my home at New Delhi.

Room Tip: Best place for weekends. You get 50% discount
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATULNEWDELHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

This Hotel is awesome and classy. My stay was very remarkable. Nice environment, safe, clean rooms and very friendly and helpful staff. Has a vey well kept pool for the famly enjoyment. I visited from the United States and still had the feelings that I was in one of the top hotels in the States. I will recommend this hotel to all and am looking forward to going back. Good food too.

Room Tip: Make sure you make your reservations ahead of visit to secure a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Austin26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abuja hotels
5.1 mi away
The Nordic Villa
The Nordic Villa
#3 of 84 in Abuja
227 reviews
4.9 mi away
3J's Hotels
3J's Hotels
#12 of 84 in Abuja
29 reviews
2.8 mi away
Transcorp Hilton Abuja
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Reiz Continental Hotel
5.0 mi away
Sandralia Hotel
Sandralia Hotel
#29 of 84 in Abuja
32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Towers Hotel
Grand Towers Hotel
#24 of 84 in Abuja
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja

Address: 1 Uke Street | Garki II, Abuja, Nigeria
Phone Number:
Region: Nigeria > Abuja State > Abuja
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 84 Hotels in Abuja
Price Range: £62 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent full service extended stay hotel in the heart of Abuja. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing