We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One Night At Hawthorn Suites Abuja”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja
Ranked #48 of 80 Hotels in Abuja
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
95 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“One Night At Hawthorn Suites Abuja”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

I spent a night at the hotel. Check in was fast and staff were courteous. I made a reservation by phone two days earlier which was confirmed by the front office. However, upon arrival this had been cancelled. Fortunately, they had enough rooms on my arrival and I got one.
The rooms are quite large, with a kitchenette, working area/ dinning table. Perfect for a long stay.
Unfortunately the bathroom of my room was a bit cramped with sharp edges on the walls which could lead to injury.

Room Tip: Look for rooms with a large bathroom, well spaced WC and bathtub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManRash2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    26
    15
    6
    6
See reviews for
6
3
8
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Harcourt, Rivers, Nigeria
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

Though I stayed for a few days at Hathorn Suites, I enjoyed my stay. The security of the hotel is good. The front desk officers are well trained from my interactions with them. The rooms are good. Their rates are affordable.

It was a good experience. hope to visit Abuja again, when I do I will love a second experience at Hawthorn suit.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Obinna Kingsley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyten, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

This hotel has only big rooms with kitchenette. Bathrooms include wirlpool - but not ever working. Water installation gave me problems: only hot water. That got fixed after 2 days!!!!
Maintenance is poor, furniture only Chinese with typical quality problems. Overpriced.

Room Tip: Rooms are all quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swk42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

Very, very comfortable bed and a spacious room...good space to work. The room and the hotel were clean, the gym was OK and they served a great breakfast with lots of selection. An overall pleasant stay...but like some of the other reviewers mentioned, needs some general maintenance and upkeep, which I think they were in the process of doing.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramstein-Miesenbach, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

I stayed at the Hawthorn Suites twice for several weeks at a time. Once in August 2010 and again in November/December 2010. It is only a 10-15 walk from Treasury House. I stayed at 3 different places in Abuja and this was the best for me.

The hotel is quite newly renovated so everything is clean and in working order. The kitchenette has only a microwave and mini-bar but I made do. The room/suite is spacious and comfortable. The table and chairs serve comfortably as a computer work centre. The beds are comfortable too - not those nasty foam slabs on wooden platforms that seem to be in all the hotels in Nigeria.

I had one incident where a male staff member seemed to be imposing himself into my room but I ejected him and, after speaking to the manager, it did not happen again. When I left the window open, a lizard crawled up the wall and into my room on the 3rd floor - but I knew it would not hurt me - this is Nigeria after all...

My only complaint is about the fitness centre. It is located in a small building in the back garden. The windows do not shut properly and the air conditioner is not adequate, so it is impossible to cool it. The staff do not turn on the air conditioning so even if I went there well after the opening time, the room would be stiffling hot. I even tried calling ahead and asking to have the air conditioning turned on so that it would cool off a bit for me to go down 30 minutes later. They would say they were doing it but no one ever did. I found that in Nigeria people cannot say no. So they say yes whether they are going to follow through or not. It was frustrating but it is their culture and I had to adapt.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Logical7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
93 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Stayed at the Hawthorne three times now and basically quite happy with it. The place is reasonably new, the checkin staff friendly and the rooms spacious. My rooms were always the same, with a large open plan bedroom, sitting room and a kitchenette.
Tried dinner there once, Prawns and rice and that tasted ok. Nothing great, but perfectly edible. Would have loved a beer with the food, but there is no alcohol at the hotel. There was a breakfast buffet which was included in the price.
Like so many things it is amazing that even in a reasonably new hotel the attention to detail and maintenance is so lacking. AC units that don’t work, a space age bathtub/shower which was squeezed into the bathroom leaving wall exposed and untiled, a coffee machine in the room, but not coffee to put in it, bathroom fittings loose and coming off.

For Abuja it is a good choice at a decent price, certainly much better than the Transcorp. Just a shame that it is being let down by the details.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Africa_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Adaku D.A

My experience this time was wonderful, although expected considering my past experience. There was a lot of improvement at my last stay with my colleaques during NOG12 held in Abuja in February. A serene environment, sucurity presence felt (very important),the rooms were ok, at least there was no complaint from myself nor my colleaques and they all recomended the hotel, and wished to use same come next NOG13 or on any of their trips to Abuja.

For myself, Hawthorn Suites, is more of a home in Abuja for visitors, torrists and the likes.
The customer service was a lot better and above all, have a listening Asst. General Manager Mr. Henry..., there is nothing like it, always at customers service at all times irrespective of his status, and down to earth.

Well I leave the rest for the next visit, and do hope they keep up the tempo...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Achonu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abuja hotels
2.0 mi away
Stonehedge Hotel
Stonehedge Hotel
#19 of 80 in Abuja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
5.2 mi away
Nordic Hotel
Nordic Hotel
#1 of 80 in Abuja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sandralia Hotel
Sandralia Hotel
#14 of 80 in Abuja
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Chelsea Hotel
Chelsea Hotel
#45 of 80 in Abuja
3.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
5.0 mi away
3J's Hotels
3J's Hotels
#6 of 80 in Abuja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
2.8 mi away
Transcorp Hilton Abuja
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja

Property: Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja
Address: 1 Uke Street | Garki II, Abuja, Nigeria
Region: Nigeria > Abuja State > Abuja
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 80 Hotels in Abuja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent full service extended stay hotel in the heart of Abuja. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Jovago.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing