We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe for business travellers”
Review of BON Hotel Abuja

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BON Hotel Abuja
Ranked #15 of 82 Hotels in Abuja
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Safe for business travellers”
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed here in Jan for 4 nights. Very pleased with high level and visible security guards in and outside the hotel.
Excellent and friendly staff throughout the hotel. South African chef provded excellent food in the buffet and a la carte dining.
Has a small outdoor Swimming Pool.
Only 1 minor issue with the credit card machines on checking out. This hotel did not accept Amex only Visa credit cards.
For peace of mind and value for money this hotel is ideal for business.

Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Bushtucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    28
    22
    5
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
2
2
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

When you visit some where like Abuja, the most important thing on your mind is SAFETY. This hotel offers full security, fully secure and fenced complex as well as the location being fairly safe, or as safe as Nigeria can really offer. Baring this in mind my interpretation of areas being dangerous could be different to yours, however I have travelled to many dangerous places.

When I first arrived at Protea which is 35-45 minutes from the main airport, I was greeted personally by the managers and hotel staff, this is a very nice touch. The rooms do take a while to be prepared if you arrive early as there is only a limited amount of rooms to my knowledge. My pride and joy being my passport was collected and photocopied for immigration purposes and immediately returned back to myself.

The restaurant is a small but comfortable room with about 5 tables and a breakfast buffet, lunch and A La Carte dinner. The food was great quality with very attentive staff that would clear your table as soon as you were finished. Drinks were always replenished, the choice of food would appeal to pretty much everyone.

Once I received my key I headed to my room which was air conditioned very well. The fridge under the TV was ice cold and that to me is perfect. There is no odour in the room that some African hotels have, the bed was comfortable and large. A desk to do some work and of course complimentary wifi with 4 routers to enable a fair choice of connection.

The bathroom was primarily an area that I initially felt a bit uncomfortable with appearance wise, baring in mind it was clean. The tiles were cemented in and you could tell a repair had been made, the shower head was not properly flush fitted to the wall, these are some of the reasons to why I initially felt a bit startled. However when you realise where you are, this truly does represent a hotel of good choice and not really a place to be massively fussy unlike some parts of Europe, Asia or America.

The hotel had a swimming pool which was nice and clean, a terrace area for those who wish to chill and also those who smoke. The gym facility was good, with your usual cardio and weights.

Room service was a rather lengthly wait, with 45 minutes to 1 hour 10 minutes, this was explained on the phone prior to my order as they were quite busy in the dining area, this is something that could be worth bearing in mind if you wish to order.

Noise levels of the hotel were fair with no noise in the corridor unlike what you get in many other hotels. The windows kept the outside noise in well so you have a pleasant night sleep.

Allow 15 minutes max for checking out as it can be rather busy at certain times.

I do recommend this hotel as a high recommendation here in Abuja. I feel the staff are extremely attentive and welcoming, this is a must in any hotel, especially as Nigerians are known to being quite abrupt (no offence intended by my speculation) and also the owners I do believe are South African and are truly wonderful people.

I hope this review helps, if you have any further questions please don't hesitate to ask.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stewpot1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
54 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

I stayed here for two nights for business. It seems to be centrally located and in a safe neighbourhood.

There was visible security and staff went out of their way to assist us. Room was big enough and very clean. AC worked well and if we had power outages I didn't notice.

Breakfast was the full works, and tasty too. A chef can prepare fresh eggs for you.

There is a pool though I didn't use it. Would definitely be happy staying again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zinizana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

This hotel is pretty much as described by others below. And like anything in life, you get out what you put in. I enjoyed my stay but I can understand why those more used to European standards might find it frustrating. Power outages can be frequent (a plug that cuts out when this happens will save your laptop), although the hotel generator is quick to jump in.

It's a small, well maintained hotel in a largely residential area, so don't expect magnificent vistas from your window! They take their security seriously which is sadly an increasingly important consideration for anyone visiting Nigeria. The furnishings in my room could do with freshening up. It was however kept very clean and I slept really well. Staff were quick to identify any problems (e.g. failed light bulbs) and address them. The TV service was limited but there was enough on in English to me something to view even if it was largely BBC News. The food was good and the menu offered a reasonable, if expensive choice.

Like Mr Biffo I did initially have problems with my key card although they were quickly resolved by asking the staff on reception to authorise it through to my departure date. If they don't get it right first time here, they are very willing to do what it takes to fix any issues for you, so long as you explain what's wrong.

Which brings me on to the main asset for this hotel: their employees. They are really good people. Very friendly, very polite, very willing to help or just to say hello. There isn't a lot to do in Abuja and being able to talk to people about themselves really helped me understand the country a little better. The manager always took the time to ask how things were and the chef (who is a great guy) was very willing to cook, adapt or even add meals as I wanted.

I'd happily stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJSINV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

I have a stayed in a number of hotels across the world but this place will stick in my memory.

This is small hotel in an upscale part of town on a residential street. During my stay (3 nights) there were no keys. Every time you wanted to get into your room you had to go to the front desk and ask to be let into your room. This grew old very quickly!

My first room was terrible the smell from the toilet was horrendous and I was moved to another room.

There is a small restaurant which served mediocre food.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrbiffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Abuja hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

This is a great hotel with excellent customer service. From the moment we arrived at the hotel with the security guards, to the smooth, quick and welcoming check-in process. This hotel really shows that if management really train their staff and motivate their employees that they will attract repeat customers.

Small and intimate hotel, location is very secure and very well development. I went out late at night and felt perfectly safe. Staff always greet you with a smile..it is the simple things that matter!

Rooms were tastefully furnished, excellent housekeeping, complimentary small bottle of wine and chocolate (which was a nice little treat), complimentary bottle water, complimentary N1,000 drinks voucher, international TV stations, safety deposit box, fridge, AC, large comfortable bed and pillows.

Hotel restaurant staffs were excellent, very professional and are priced reasonably. Breakfast was a buffet which had a mixture of Continental and Nigerian dishes. The Chef cooks certain dishes in front of you, which is a nice touch and adds theatre to the breakfast. Chef made an omelette for me to my taste and was delicious.

I will definitely be staying at the hotel again and will continue to recommend this hotel to people. If you are looking for a hotel what is similar in quality/standard and has excellent customer service than this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahte2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

I have enjoyed a couple of stays at the Protea, a South African owned and run establishment. Staff are very welcoming and rooms are fine, though there is no view from many of them. Security seems good. The restaurant produces very pleasant food - Nigerian or international. There is a small pool and gym. Wifi access is pretty good most of the time.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alasseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abuja hotels
2.9 mi away
Nordic Hotel
Nordic Hotel
#1 of 82 in Abuja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
1.8 mi away
Transcorp Hilton Abuja
2.1 mi away
Sheraton Abuja Hotel
Sheraton Abuja Hotel
#5 of 82 in Abuja
3.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Nordic Villa
The Nordic Villa
#3 of 82 in Abuja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
3.3 mi away
SV Chrome
SV Chrome
#4 of 82 in Abuja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
3.9 mi away
Grand Cubana Hotels
Grand Cubana Hotels
#25 of 82 in Abuja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BON Hotel Abuja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BON Hotel Abuja

Property: BON Hotel Abuja
Address: 3 Negro Crescent | Maitama, Abuja 905102, Nigeria (Formerly Protea Hotel Abuja)
Region: Nigeria > Abuja State > Abuja
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 82 Hotels in Abuja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — BON Hotel Abuja 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located close to Abuja's city centre, Bon Hotel Abuja, by BON Hotels, offers a superior hotel experience, comfortable rooms and friendly service. Just 10 minutes from the main city centre, 3 km from the British Embassy and within walking distance of the Irish Embassy, this four star hotel is home to 28 understated and spacious rooms featuring a lounge area and king-sized beds, and if you feel like splashing out you can relax in the executive lofts. The restaurant serves a great buffet breakfast, and delicious lunches and dinners complimented with a bar and coffee bar for light dining and socialising. A 24 hour business centre and a 20 seater boardroom ensure that our corporate guests are never without free wi-fi and can get their work done. After a long day, guests can relax at the pool or take a dip. Contact reception to book a round of golf situated nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BON Hotel Abuja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing