We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay for business travel, poor restaurant, machines in gym all broken”
Review of Hotel De Bently

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel De Bently
Ranked #37 of 83 Hotels in Abuja
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good place to stay for business travel, poor restaurant, machines in gym all broken”
Reviewed 25 June 2011

After moving out of the terrible Sheraton in Abuja, I moved to the Rockview, only to find that its restaurant was unspeakably terrible, so based on Tripadvisor reviews I moved to the Hotel de Bently.

The hotel generally deserves the good reviews as a place to sleep in - My room was spotless, the staff was mainly well-trained, keen to help, and friendly. However the following detracted from what would have been a very positive review from me:

1) The restaurant has an extremely impressive menu. However, in practice hardly any of the wonderful meals are available. Most of the time you have the option between a sort of chicken a la king, and fish. All of the dishes are prepared in a similar way, tasting similarly. Not that it was bad, it is just that it gets a bit monotonous to get food that tastes exactly the same night after night. I did not try their breakfast, opting for cereals in my room instead.

2) The gym looks impressive, with two cycles and three treadmills. However, whille I was, not one of these were working properly: The cycles are spinning cycles, but could not be adjusted for workload, two of the treadmills did not work at all, and the remaining one slipped on its rollers, so I could not run for fear of falling

3)Their colour printer/scanner/fax machine was broken

4) Contrary to a review I saw, they do take credit card payments, but only Visa, only if it is a chip card. Their staff did not know how to operate the machine, and had to call in a technician, which will be tricky if you are checking out on your way to the airport, and having to wait for an hour for the technician to come out.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Driesvdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    12
    11
    10
    9
See reviews for
3
8
4
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

I spent 6 nights at De Bently during Easter in April 2011. Comparing with all other hotels where I previously have lodged in Nigeria, De Bently clearly stands out! It offers excellent value for money, considering quality of the rooms, facilities and staff services.

The room was perfectly clean, furnished and decorated with taste. All appliances (air-co, TV, safe) in place and working fine. The hotel's chef is talented. All meals that I had at the hotel were well cooked and tasty. The breakfast buffet is excellent, with traditional Nigerian food.

There is a well-kept swimming pool with waiter services. Adjacent to the pool, a small albeit sufficiently equipped gym is available with generous opening hours and a helpful instructor.

The hotel staff is thoroughly service minded and often "walks that additional mile" to satisfy their guests needs; when wireless internet went down, it got fixed. When there was shortage of some food or beverages at the breakfast buffet, some more was prepared. When the door to the gym was locked, it got opened. When I needed a car and driver, it was arranged. Just to mention a few commendable moments.

My compliments to the manager and his staff.

De Bently met and even exceeded my expectations! It definitely merits its 4 stars.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LustansLakejer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2011

I think this is the best hotel in Nigeria. The people that work there were so nice and the rooms were very clean. The price omg. you cannot beat it. I have already inform all my friend about this hotel. I hope you keep the good job up. NOEL. Baltimore maryland. u.s.a

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akobundu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 February 2011

I visited Nigeria from UK early this February. I stayed at Hotel de Bently and I had a fantastic stay. Enjoyed every moment I spent at the Hotel. The staffs were excellent , very clean rooms, the bar was exceptional and the pool area was proper clean. My friends and enjoyed our stay very much and the restaurant served great foods and definitely enjoyed the jacuzzi and also made good use of the gym. I would happily recommend this hotel to anyone going to Abuja City.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildangel47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 January 2011

I stayed in hotel de bently on a business trip, the staff are very friendly, the hotel overall is great. I got a value 4 my money.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivian49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
Reviewed 29 December 2010

Location is new, the rooms are clean, and comfortable, and the staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonthor727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abuja Nigeria
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2010

I am staying in the Hotel de Bently as a business traveller with colleagues. I am staying in the largest and most important room in the hotel, because we are using it for daily meetings. Since we checked in, the air conditioning has not worked. The maintenance staff does nothing to correct it (It is CURRENTLY 32C in my room). The front desk staff is polite and apologetic, but has done nothing to correct the situation. They also cannot move me to a new room.
I could tolerate the airconditioning situation (it is not an air conditioner, but a noisy fan) BUT, the situation is compounded by a loud and random noise, which sounds like an alarm clock and wakened me twice at 4 am. Again, the front desk staff are apologetic, but have done nothing. For two nights the staff ignored the problem. Finally, they acknowledged it when the nose began at 11 pm and continued until 1 am on the third night. I am exhausted.

Even the noise could be tolerated, if everything else weren't wrong. For three mornings in a row, there has been NO WATER when wanted to shower. Again, the staff are polite, even kindly, but totally ineffective.

None of these issues would be fatal in and of itself, it is the combination, the frustration, the feeling that I am complaining needlessly and endlessly that makes the experience so terrible. This hotel is not capable of responding to basic needs, never mind the needs of international travellers. What you want from any hotel when on business travel is a clean place to sleep, a comfortable place to work and a place to bathe. The De Bently has failed me in every respect. The one positive thing I can say about it (besides the politeness of the front desk staff) is that the internet is better than my previous stay in Nigeria.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoBibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkinAbuja, Owner at Hotel De Bently, responded to this review, 5 December 2010
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel.

I am sorry for any inconvenience you experienced while staying with us. Our desire is to always deliver a refreshing experience where every guest feels cared for, valued and respected.


All your comments are noted. I assure you of our best efforts to address all the issues you highlighted.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we do hope you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you on your next visit to Abuja.

Yours sincerely,

Francis Ogugua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Abuja hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abuja hotels
1.3 mi away
Grand Cubana Hotels
Grand Cubana Hotels
#27 of 83 in Abuja
6 reviews
1.1 mi away
3J's Hotels
3J's Hotels
#12 of 83 in Abuja
29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nippon Grand Hotel
Nippon Grand Hotel
#28 of 83 in Abuja
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Ibro Hotel Annex
Grand Ibro Hotel Annex
#32 of 83 in Abuja
10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tranquil Mews
Tranquil Mews
#14 of 83 in Abuja
10 reviews
1.3 mi away
SV Chrome
SV Chrome
#4 of 83 in Abuja
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Bently? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Bently

Property: Hotel De Bently
Address: 894 N. Okonjo Iweala Way | Utako, Abuja 11136, Nigeria
Region: Nigeria > Abuja State > Abuja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 83 Hotels in Abuja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel De Bently 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel De Bently is a contemporary, fashionable hotel – the absolute choice for the style-conscious guest. Inspired by cutting edge design, the hotel captures the imagination with its vibrant and creative environment. A unique hotel experience, from the designer bedrooms, sumptuous Fine Dining Restaurant, to the industrial-chic destination bar, Hotel de Bentley sets out to be very different whilst at the same time, offering exceptional quality and service throughout every aspect. Hotel De Bently is a spectacular luxury 5 star hotel. Superbly located with unique panoramic views over the new Abuja City of Utako and just a gemstone's throw away from the central district of Abuja, Hotel De Bently represents a first for a hotel of this standard in the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel De Bently reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing