We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“freelance”
Review of Hotel De Bently

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel De Bently
Ranked #46 of 83 Hotels in Abuja
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“freelance”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

One of the qualities of hotel de Bentley is the hospitality and the excellent managerial staff that comes with this hotel. The rooms were cleaned on daily and sheets changed. The staff were polite and always willing to help. The rooms are very spacious with sofas to relax . I found the food very appetising and really enjoyed trying different dishes every day and the restaurant is 24 hour service. The General manager is always on site and ready to address any issues you may have as a guest. The security is first class. The hotel is very clean and always has enough staff to lend a hand. The hot water is not limited , as there is a controlled switch on the head board of the bed that the guest can control when you want hot water ,just switch it on 20min later its ready. The bathrooms needs updating , but are all clean and in working order. I will definitely be taking my family to stay at this hotel in the new year. Thank you all for making my stay a memorable one , especially the GM and the front desk. SEE YPU ALL SOON . THANK YOU... JANETH

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side of the hotel tends to be more quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JANETH O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francis O, General Manager at Hotel De Bently, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel.

I am glad you were impressed with our hotel and the service delivery from our team.

We are a driven by a strong desire to create a pleasant and wonderful experience for our guests at all times where every guest feels cared for, valued and respected. You advice is surely noted and i can assure you we wont disappoint you

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel De Bently on your next trip to Abuja.

Yours sincerely,

Frank
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    12
    11
    10
    10
See reviews for
3
8
4
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

On the positive side;my room was very spacious and the bed was comfortable,i liked the wall to wall green rug.The TV was 32 inches though the cable selection could be better.AC worked perfectly.However that is where the good stuff ends.Staff could do with some professional training.Slimy and stained bathroom tiles and walls made it disgusting to use the bathroom.The intercom didn't work,and i had to go down to reception to complain when i needed to order lunch;someone was sent up with me who fiddled with the intercom for some minutes until it came on.In the night,i fancied some snack and a drink;tried the intercom;it had gone out of commission again!for the second time i had to match out of my room and request the 'security' to go call someone to take my order.This he did i guess cos shortly after someone came to my room with pen and paper.I ordered spring rolls and coke.In retrospect i wish i hadn't eaten those spring rolls cos next morning i woke up with diarrhoea!
My cab driver had to make a stop at the pharmacy before dashing to the airport!
Will NOT be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Touristbee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francis O, General Manager at Hotel De Bently, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
It is regrettable that we were unable to meet your expectation during your recent stay with us. Our desire is to create a pleasant and wonderful experience for our guests at all times.

Upgrade of our bathrooms took off in January of this year and we expect all rooms to carry a new bathroom by the first quarter of next year.

Food and snacks in our Hotel are prepared fresh by renowned professional chefs. Your report of bad snack will be investigated and remedied immediately

All other observations are also noted please be assured of my best efforts to address all the issues that you have raised.

Yours sincerely,

Frank
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Abuja hotels

Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This is very poor quality, low standard hotel in the rankings of Red Roof and Best Western. For example they use cheap cleaning products, air freshners, toiletries; the carpet is not clean, and the cleaning staff wash drinking glasses placed in the rooms in the bathroom sink. I fell ill the first and only time I stayed here. To top all this, the hotel charges very expensive rates in the rankings of Sheraton and Marriot thus you do not get value for money.

Room Tip: I do not recommend this hotel to travelers. You do not get quality for the money you would pay for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maxime M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francis O, General Manager at Hotel De Bently, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
It is regrettable that we were unable to meet your expectation during your recent stay with us. Our desire is to create a pleasant and wonderful experience for our guests at all times.

Hotel De Bently was voted the cleanest hotel in Abuja this year. This is as a result of our highly professional house keeping staff. Cleaning products, air fresheners and toiletries in use by the house keeping staff are some of the most luxurious products you can get anywhere in the world. On your next visit to Abuja, i will be happy to walk round the hotel with you to see the dirty carpets

However, your observations are noted please be assured that Hotel De Bently will continue to provide you world class hospitality in Abuja.

Yours sincerely,

Frank
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I stayed in this hotel in September 2013 with my partner. The rooms are actually quite pleasant but the bathrooms need repairs. The hot water was limited and the shower was spraying water everywhere and the towels were limited. For the amount we paid ($170/night!) we expected at least breakfast for 2. Only to be told that one of us could have breakfast and they demanded for payment from my partner for a cup of coffee! This is a shame. Given the rate of the hotel it should at least be bed and breakfast (B/B) which is the same for any similar costing hotel. We checked in as a couple and we expected service as a couple! I am disappointed! I suggest you charge rates for single rooms and double rooms in this case to be able to compete with other hotels in various capital cities in Africa! Very Disappointing!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evelyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francis O, General Manager at Hotel De Bently, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
It is regrettable that we were unable to meet your expectation during your recent stay with us. Our desire is to create a pleasant and wonderful experience for our guests at all times.

We are always happy to hear feedback from our guest. Your observation on the breakfast buffet is noted. And am delighted to inform you that breakfast will now be for 2

All other observations are also noted please be assured of my best efforts to address all the issues that you have raised.

Yours sincerely,

Frank
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This is one of the best hotels in town but the question is,how Good is the management going to be and how long are they going to last? I want the management to put all they can to uplift the image and the long lasting existence of this hotel

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOHN= SINCLAIRE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francis O, Director at Hotel De Bently, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel.

I am glad you were impressed with our hotel and the service delivery from our team.

We are a driven by a strong desire to create a pleasant and wonderful experience for our guests at all times where every guest feels cared for, valued and respected. You advice is surely noted and i can assure you we wont disappoint you

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel De Bently on your next trip to Abuja.

Yours sincerely,

Francis Ogugua
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I discovered Hotel de Bently in desperation two years ago after abandoning two terrible hotels. Back then the hotel was a breath of fresh air , probably the only OK and reasonably priced hotel other than the hyper-priced Hilton. The Hotel de Bently was either quite new, or recently refurbished. It was clean, fresh, modern, with friendly, helpful staff.

I have been staying in the Hotel de Bently several times since June 2011, and it still has friendly, helpful staff, the rooms are clean. However, I have seen a steady deterioration in the bathrooms. During my visit last week, the room was rather smelly, the bathroom was very smelly, and there was no cold water in the bath taps. They sent in a plumber who fixed it quite quickly. Lack of proper maintenance is starting to show in equipment, like in the lifts, which were out of order for 2 days, and the air-conditioner in the restaurant was broken on the last day of my stay. Then there is the gym equipment, which was broken even during my first visit 2 years ago, and never fixed. This time round I did not even check to see whether they have fixed the gym.

A new gripe I have is that previously Internet was free, but now you pay several times more than 3G data on a pre-paid SIM. That is a huge disappointment, which is why I'm only giving a 3 for "value" in my rating.

Bottom line is that this is probably still the best value for money in Abuja hotels, but the management must be careful that they don't allow this gem of a hotel go to pieces before needing a drastic rescue, as so often happens in Nigeria.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Driesvdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francis O, Director at Hotel De Bently, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us.

It is regrettable that we were unable to meet your expectation during your recent stay with us. Our desire is to create a pleasant and wonderful experience for our guests at all times.

Upgrade of our bathrooms took off in January of this year and we expect all rooms to carry a new bathroom by the first quarter of next year.

If you had visited the gym on your last visit, you would have noticed that the gym has been totally revamped since your last visit. All equipment are new and in perfect working condition.

As far as the AC in the restaurant in concerned, from your last day at the hotel up on til the time of this response, all electrical equipment in Abuja that needs 3phase electricity to work is out of order as a result of government upgrade of the distribution lines. We expect everything to get back to normal by the 14th of July.

To ensure a better internet experience, we have decided to charge for internet services. However, the rates are still under review.

All other observations are also noted please be assured of my best efforts to address all the issues that you have raised.

Yours sincerely,

Francis Ogugua
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

This is a very fascinating hotel.Very neat and excellent staff on site.The food served in the dining room is great.The view from the executive bar varandah is phenominal at night,all the lights.Very nicely planned pool area away from the hotel building but on the same premises.The rooms are exquisiste.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louis02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francis O, Director at Hotel De Bently, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel.

I am glad you were impressed with our hotel and the service delivery from our team.

We are a driven by a strong desire to create a pleasant and wonderful experience for our guests at all times where every guest feels cared for, valued and respected.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel De Bently on your next trip to Abuja.

Yours sincerely,

Francis Ogugua
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abuja hotels
1.1 mi away
3J's Hotels
3J's Hotels
#12 of 83 in Abuja
29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tranquil Mews
Tranquil Mews
#15 of 83 in Abuja
10 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Cubana Hotels
Grand Cubana Hotels
#28 of 83 in Abuja
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Ibro Hotel Annex
Grand Ibro Hotel Annex
#32 of 83 in Abuja
11 reviews
3.5 mi away
Arcade Suites
Arcade Suites
#17 of 83 in Abuja
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Towers Hotel
Grand Towers Hotel
#31 of 83 in Abuja
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Bently? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Bently

Property: Hotel De Bently
Address: 894 N. Okonjo Iweala Way | Utako, Abuja 11136, Nigeria
Region: Nigeria > Abuja State > Abuja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 83 Hotels in Abuja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel De Bently 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel De Bently is a contemporary, fashionable hotel – the absolute choice for the style-conscious guest. Inspired by cutting edge design, the hotel captures the imagination with its vibrant and creative environment. A unique hotel experience, from the designer bedrooms, sumptuous Fine Dining Restaurant, to the industrial-chic destination bar, Hotel de Bentley sets out to be very different whilst at the same time, offering exceptional quality and service throughout every aspect. Hotel De Bently is a spectacular luxury 5 star hotel. Superbly located with unique panoramic views over the new Abuja City of Utako and just a gemstone's throw away from the central district of Abuja, Hotel De Bently represents a first for a hotel of this standard in the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Jovago.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel De Bently reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing