We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice guesthouse in Abuja”
Review of The Nordic Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Nordic Villa
Ranked #3 of 82 Hotels in Abuja
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Nice guesthouse in Abuja”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Stayed at this guesthouse in March 2013. Traveled as a family with an infant. Pretty decent. Good value for money. Very helpful staff. Based on reviews here, we stayed at the Copenhagen (one of the junior suites). Room was ok. The only thing that was a little concern was an occasional sound (maybe plumbing or so) that we heard in the bathroom - (forgot to bring this up with Fortune and his team), asides that.. everything else was great! I liked the breakfast and the fact that you could order for extra, if need be. (tho' i'm not much of an eater though). There are clean cabs on standby should you need to go out. The generator came on quickly during power outages. Oh yeah... another thing i didn't like was the limited number of TV channels. I suggest TNV gets a bouquet with more TV channels.

That being said, I'll definitely be staying here when next i'm in Abuja. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aniffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNordicVilla, General Manager at The Nordic Villa, responded to this review, 7 April 2013
Dear Aniffy,

Thank you very much for taking time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us at The Nordic Villa, Abuja.
We have carefully noted all your comments and the observations you raised, and we will urgently attend to them since our growth and success lies in attending to observations from our valuable guest like you.

We wish you well in all your endeavors.

Best,

Fortune Abah
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    97
    17
    3
    0
See reviews for
8
15
16
154
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kaduna
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We stayed at the Nordic Villa for three nights during the past week and were once again impressed with the value for money the establishment offers in the Abuja context. All staff members were friendly, helpful and doing their best to make our stay enjoyable. Definitely the best place to stay if you need to do business in Abuja.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNordicVilla, General Manager at The Nordic Villa, responded to this review, 7 April 2013
Dear Ben M,

Thank you from The Nordic Villa team for taking time to provide such a great recommendations and encouragements, following your recent stay at The Nordic Villa, Abuja.
I am very pleased you find our value and services impressive of the standard you expect. We look forward in welcoming you back during any future visit to Abuja.

We wish you well in all your endeavors.

Best,

Fortune Abah
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Stayed at this hotel in January 2013 during my last visit to Nigeria and it was splendid. Precious visits to Abuja had been marred by my difficulty in getting a decent hotel that was reasonably priced... This was until I discovered The Nordic Villa. Staffs were very polite and the hotel and rooms were very clean. Fortune, the manager was always keen, friendly, polite and on hand to accommodate and be at your service. It is highly recommended & I will visit again when next in Abuja.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Switch4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNordicVilla, General Manager at The Nordic Villa, responded to this review, 7 April 2013
Dear Switch4u,
Thank you for your constructive comments following your stay at The Nordic Villa, Abuja. It is very useful for us to have such input as it greatly assists and refresh our services and commitments.
We hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future.

We wish you well in all your endeavors.

Best,

Fortune Abah
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Stayed a week at this guesthouse in a suburb of Abuja. I'd recommend it to anyone looking for good value for money accommodation in this expensive city. I was initially concerned that travel time into the central business district would be lengthy, but, apart from a few minor delays around rush hour, this was never a problem. Rooms are comfortable; the wifi is more reliable than at many other hotels; and the quiet surroundings make it a very pleasant place to relax and work.

That said, there are a few areas where I would encourage Fortune and his team to improve. My pre-arranged airport pickup apparently was not pre-arranged, requiring numerous phone calls and a lengthy wait on my part. The breakfast is a bit spartan; offering more variety (meats, pastries, etc), even if at a supplementary charge, would be appreciated. The food delivery service could do with some standardisation as well; perhaps compiling a folder listing available restaurants and their menus for guests to peruse in their room before calling down their order to reception?

Otherwise, I very much enjoyed my stay at the Nordic Villa and would not hesitate to stay there again on my next visit to Abuja.

Room Tip: If given a preference, I would avoid the Thorshavn room in future. It faces the main gate and the di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hovetravellerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNordicVilla, Manager at The Nordic Villa, responded to this review, 7 April 2013
Dear Hove,
Thank you so much for posting a review of The Nordic Villa! We love hearing guests mention our staff by name in their reviews; because it shows what a positive impact they had on your experience. We also appreciate your recommendations.

Your observations are very important and we are considering great options that will meet the high standard we intend to keep for our guests’ satisfaction.
Thank you again, and we hope to see you again very soon.

We wish you well in all your endeavors.

Best,
Fortune
Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

After months in Nigeria and having passed through many different hotels, I must admit I was positively surprised with the Nordic Villa and its fantastic service. For anyone looking to escape from the big impersonal chain hotels, this guest house offers you the best comfort and service and at better rates! It will be the only hotel I'll be going to every time I'm in Abuja!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdriCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonassl, Manager at The Nordic Villa, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Dear MiramelindoBar,

Thank you for sharing your experiences with us for the period you stayed at The Nordic Villa. Our number one focus is customer service. Creating a memorable experience by anticipating all of our guests’ needs. I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.

We wish you well in all your endeavors.

Best,
Fortune
Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
95 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Spent 2 nights in this hotel. Clean but with some work to do. My bathroom light(s) were too dull that I was unable to shave. Reported several times but couldn't have it fixed before I left.
They need to improve on the breakfast menu. The kitchen door opens directly into the breakfast room with the result that the entire place smells like a kitchen. They obviously need a more robust extractor fan. The lobbies are quite warm and would need ACs.
Improving on these will go a long way.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms near the generator if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManRash2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonassl, Manager at The Nordic Villa, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Dear Wpopoola,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us at The Nordic Villa, Abuja. We have carefully noted all the points you have raised and they will be attended to urgently.
The team and I look forward to welcoming you to The Nordic Villa, Abuja soon.

We wish you well in all your endeavors.

Best,
Fortune
Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Great rooms, comfy beds and reliable internet. The snack menu could be a bit more creative (4 nights of cheese toasts got a bit boring - maybe a bit of local flavor into the mix?) and the non-functioning Visa system really needs to get sorted out. Beyond these relatively minor issues, would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ImmuTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonassl, Manager at The Nordic Villa, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Dear ImmuTA,

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you find our services and facilities reliable. We promise to keep improving on our services since it is our policy to see that all our guests are comfortable and relax at The Nordic Villa, Abuja.

The other points raised will be looked into with urgency. The team and I appreciate your review and we look forward to welcoming you again at The Nordic Villa, Abuja.

We wish you well in all your endeavors.

Best regards,

Fortune
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abuja hotels
0.7 mi away
Nordic Hotel
Nordic Hotel
#1 of 82 in Abuja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
4.3 mi away
Transcorp Hilton Abuja
0.2 mi away
SV Chrome
SV Chrome
#4 of 82 in Abuja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
3J's Hotels
3J's Hotels
#8 of 82 in Abuja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sheraton Abuja Hotel
Sheraton Abuja Hotel
#5 of 82 in Abuja
3.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandralia Hotel
Sandralia Hotel
#12 of 82 in Abuja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nordic Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nordic Villa

Property: The Nordic Villa
Address: 52, Mike Akhigbe Way | Jabi, Abuja 900003, Nigeria
Phone Number:
Region: Nigeria > Abuja State > Abuja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 82 Hotels in Abuja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Nordic Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nordic Villa is a boutique hotel in Abuja. Furnished in a modern Scandinavian style The Nordic Villa offers 15 beautiful rooms in a peaceful and safe environment suited for both business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Nordic Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing