We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Letting the side down” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Abuja Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sheraton Abuja Hotel
Ranked #5 of 77 Hotels in Abuja
London, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Letting the side down”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

There's not a lot of competition in Abuja, so I have stayed here a couple of times on recent business visits. In its favour (compared to other similarly priced hotels like the New Chelsea) is the choice of restaurants, some of which serve some reasonable dishes. And when you are staying in Abuja for a week or more, that's a consideration. But overall this is a 1 star hotel masquerading as a 5 star hotel. The rooms don't seem to have been renovated for decades. My room had a stained carpet, collapsing furniture, and antique plumbing. The mattress was pretty firm - which some might like - but it can't be described as comfortable. The pillows were similarly unyielding. The WiFi and Internet was free and pretty reliable though. The staff were friendly and the laundry service efficient and effective. My advice to the management is to spend some of the money you are making on renovating the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MASKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boris6, General Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your observations. It is truly helpful and I highly appreciated it, especially in today’s world where there is such a premium on time. The hotel is scheduled for a full refurbishment, which will address all the issues mentioned. Tower 3 has been closed as the refurb will commence in this area.

Please be assured that where possible we immediately addressed the concerns you have mentioned. Apologies cannot make up for our failures, I assure you however that we are working hard and changing the full experience. Please do accept my most humble apologies for our failure to meet your expectations. I do hope to have the privilege to see you return to the Sheraton Abuja, in the not too distant future, giving us an opportunity to remedy our failures. Please do contact me when you are in Abuja next, I will personally take care of you visit and ensure you experience true Nigerian hospitality.

Kind regards,


Boris Bornman

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    117
    105
    88
    62
See reviews for
9
11
32
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
166 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

First Impression: Torn Carpets in a Presidential Suite Room No 1129 you must be kidding me. No Charging point next to the Bed. Less Lights in the room very Dull unable to use for Business . In House Cake Shop located extremely poor. Door Bell not working. 550$ for this no way.....Local Businessmen claimed that they would only pay 100$ for such a room. What a Shame.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amitahuja1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boris6, General Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your observations. It is truly helpful and I highly appreciated it, especially in today’s world where there is such a premium on time. The hotel is scheduled for a full refurbishment, which will address all the issues mentioned. Tower 3 has been closed as the refurb will commence in this area.

Please do accept my most humble apologies for our failure to meet your expectations. I do hope to have the privilege to see you return to the Sheraton Abuja, in the not too distant future, giving us an opportunity to remedy our failures. Please do contact me when you are in Abuja next, I will personally take care of you visit and ensure you experience true Nigerian hospitality.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Abuja hotels

3.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Bauchi, Nigeria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

It is always a difficult task for a traveler (Real Coffee Loving) to enter a town or city and start criss crossing from hotel to hotel, restaurant to restaurant asking for Real Coffee.

The Lobby Bar of the Sheraton Abuja serves wonderful expresso, I tell you. From the choice of beans, whether Brasilia or Arabica grounded or freshly grounded in your presence, the expresso will leave you coming for more.

Like me I have made some friends who are also pilgrims to the Lobby Bar for expresso. The Sheraton Lobby bar is always my first call when ever I arrive Abuja, by road or air and it is to have a shot of expresso.

Another hint, if you want the very best of it, ask for 'Akila'. The wonder bar man.

Room Tip: If you are a Tower Guest, enjoy your eight floor lounge, but try the lobby. The expresso is worth h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carthagian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boris6, General Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review, much appriciated sir. Please do contact me when you are in Abuja next...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Spent 2 nights last december at sheraton. The staff was very responsive and attentive to any requests. Internet worked fine. Food (breakfast buffet) was excellent. Location is good.
I will be coming back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rockandpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boris6, General Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you for the review, hope to see you back in Abuja soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darmstadt, Deutschland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

The room was spacious and clean even so it looked a bit old and worn out. The bathroom was clean as well and I didn't see any bugs crawling around, something you usually expect in these places. The breakfast buffet was very good, many choices. Considering that it is located in Nigeria you cannot fail it...

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boris6, General Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time, it really means a lot to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Dear Sheraton world management, pleas make yourself a great favor and pay someone to take this place out of your otherwise respectable and regarded network. The place does not worthy of carrying the Sheraton brand and is only damaging it.
Even the 'recently renovated room' ridiculously named 'superior' and charged at close to 200 euro per night, are old, outdated, filthy and gloomy. Ants and other bugs in the room are not a rare site and although its Africa if I'd like a nature vacation I'll take a tent in the wilderness and not a 'superior room in a Sheraton '.
Staff is nothing more than useless with no ability to make any meaningful answer unless its within their written guide of what to do and what to say.
Breakfast was disgusting and although itms had some visual resemblance to things you may know, flavor was nothing even close.
But the funniest thing is the fact you need to get your bags x-rayed every time coming in, and after the first time you realize that no one is actually looking at the screen and I'm not even sure the machine was working - very reassuring !

Room Tip: Good room is probably in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Y66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AyoAnj, Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Thank you Y66 for taking the time to share your observations. It is truly helpful and I highly appreciated it, especially in today’s world where there is such a premium on time.

Your opinion is highly valued and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.

However, It might interest you to note that the hotel is scheduled for a full refurbishment which will address all the issues you mentioned. The other concerns you raised will be addressed with the relevant departments as well.

Again, we regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel and hope to offer you a more pleasant stay in the future.

We hope to have the honour of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Abuja.

Sincerely,
Ayo Anjorin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

This hotel is long overdue some TLC. The accommodation is very tired and, in places, dilapidated. The room I stayed in had dated and broken furniture, thread bear and stained carpets, no safe, inoperable power points, nicotine coloured paint, and intermittent noisy air conditioning. That said, it was kept clean by the room attendant, and the linen and towels were changed on a regular basis. The bed was clean and comfortable, the shower hot, and the fridge cold - so I could almost live with the rest. Despite the condition of some of the rooms, I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful, and there are areas of the hotel that are of a reasonable standard, including the lobby, restaurants, and gym. Breakfast was very good, with a wide choice of food, albeit very overpriced (about £20 a head, irrespective of what you eat). The restaurants are all well maintained, with pleasant decor, and a good choice and quality of food, but again very overpriced. Wine was also ridiculously expensive (£30+ for what I would describe as a £5.99 quaffing plonk).
The hotel has a unsupervised outdoor pool, which is of an acceptable standard but needs some landscape repairs, and a gym which is reasonably well equipped and has some modern fitness equipment.
I have experienced far worse hotels in my travels around Africa, but hotel chains, and the African service industry, need to wake up to the fact that business travellers deserve far better than this. Overall, this hotel is not 'Sheraton' standard and really does need some major investment. The staff, in the main, provided very good service, but this does not detract from the fact that this hotel charges premium prices for sub-standard accommodation in the knowledge that they have guaranteed business customers. The litmus test is - would I bring my family here? No.

Room Tip: Stipulate on arrival that you want a safe, a refurbished room, and 'non-smoking'. No guaran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Singbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AyoAnj, Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Thank you so much Singbe for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Sheraton Abuja Hotel. Your opinion is highly valued and we are grateful that you could share it with us.

Our sincere apologies that the room you stayed in was not comfortable enough. To that, It might interest you to know that the hotel is scheduled for a full refurbishment. This will address all the issues you mentioned. We also appreciate you did point out that the staff were very friendly and helpful.

We hope to have the honour of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Abuja.

Sincerely
Ayo Anjorin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abuja hotels
1.0 mi away
Transcorp Hilton Abuja
3.4 mi away
Nordic Hotel
Nordic Hotel
#1 of 77 in Abuja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Nordic Villa
The Nordic Villa
#2 of 77 in Abuja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Sandralia Hotel
Sandralia Hotel
#11 of 77 in Abuja
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
3.4 mi away
3J's Hotels
3J's Hotels
#10 of 77 in Abuja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stonehedge Hotel
Stonehedge Hotel
#14 of 77 in Abuja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Abuja Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Abuja Hotel

Property: Sheraton Abuja Hotel
Address: Ladi Kwali Way, Maitama, Abuja PMB143, Nigeria
Region: Nigeria > Abuja State > Abuja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Abuja
#5 Best Value Hotel in Abuja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Abuja Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 575
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Abuja is one of the hospitality pioneers in Abuja. It is a social and vibrant landmark in Nigeria's capital, located just 40 kilometers away from the Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport and in proximity to the International Conference Center and the Federal secretariat. Sheraton Abuja Hotel is the focal point for events and networking opportunities. Discover one of the best foods in the city at any of our restaurants and bars or enjoy having your successful business meetings here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Sheraton Abuja Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Abuja
Abuja Sheraton
Sheraton Hotel Abuja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing