We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Abuja Hotel
Ranked #5 of 83 Hotels in Abuja
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not so good”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I read the review for this hotel - and they all pointed at it being a not so good experience. I should have read and noted and heeded.

The staff are friendly enough - but many many things did not always work out as they should. My room was fine - enough, door did not shut as it should and needed to be banged to lock - andthe same for my friend's room who was next to me. My air conditioner was put on ( I almost always had it off - since the weather was ok 0 but it was switched on during clean up - and it refused to go off and I had to have it switched off by a technician. On the last night there was some perfomance in the atrium - which was fine while one was there, but which did not need when I went to bed.

The restaurants were nice and provided much needed relief since my friends and I did not want to venture out.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boris6, General Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your observations. It is truly helpful and I highly appreciated it, especially in today’s world where there is such a premium on time. The hotel is scheduled for a full refurbishment, which will address all the issues mentioned. Tower 3 has been closed as the refurb will commence in this area.

Please be assured that where possible we immediately addressed the concerns you have mentioned. Apologies cannot make up for our failures, I assure you however that we are working hard and changing the full experience. Please do accept my most humble apologies for our failure to meet your expectations. I do hope to have the privilege to see you return to the Sheraton Abuja, in the not too distant future, giving us an opportunity to remedy our failures. Please do contact me when you are in Abuja next, I will personally take care of you visit and ensure you experience true Nigerian hospitality.

Kind regards,


Boris Bornman

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    125
    113
    91
    62
See reviews for
10
12
33
371
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Third trip since 2012, and despite efforts by staff this is just a dire experience. I am writing now during my stay because I can't sleep because of the extremely loud performance currently going on in the atrium, onto which my and half of the functioning rooms in this hotel open. Needless to say the soundproofing is nonexistent, and I am informed this will be going on from 6:30 - 10:30 pm, this and every Wednesday. Just what a weary business traveller needs mid-week. I see effort being put into events like this that would be far better spent on basic maintenance, repair and upkeep of this property. After trying three rooms (one with original 1980's carpet, redolent with smoke, just what fits the bill for a specific 'nonsmoking room' request; one without a functioning lock on the door) I settled for the one with highly dodgy electrics that allow me to choose between having my computer on or my TV, but certainly not both. Being experienced, I spent my first two hours settling in: remaking the bed with my own mattress topper; scrubbing all surfaces, and rearranging furniture to get some access to the functioning electric outlets. This is not what you expect to do, either at these prices or in something under the Sheraton brand.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anner58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boris6, General Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your observations. It is truly helpful and I highly appreciated it, especially in today’s world where there is such a premium on time. The hotel is scheduled for a full refurbishment, which will address all the issues mentioned. Tower 3 has been closed as the refurb will commence in this area.

Please be assured that where possible we immediately addressed the concerns you have mentioned. Apologies cannot make up for our failures, I assure you however that we are working hard and changing the full experience. Please do accept my most humble apologies for our failure to meet your expectations. I do hope to have the privilege to see you return to the Sheraton Abuja, in the not too distant future, giving us an opportunity to remedy our failures. Please do contact me when you are in Abuja next, I will personally take care of you visit and ensure you experience true Nigerian hospitality.

Kind regards,


Boris Bornman

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Abuja hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Honestly, I was a little bit stressed when I saw I was coming here because I had read many bad reviews.
Basically, the room is correct, the people here is very friendly, professional, caring. The food is really good, especially at the Italian restaurant. The pizza is amazing.
I had issues with my first room. The guy at the frontdesk took care of my problem and 10 minutes later I had my new room. There was a small issue here too but I called the service and 5 minutes later, my problem was solved.
Every one here is polite, smiley.
I am still at the hotel and I am more than happy.

Room Tip: Verifiy your door to be sure it closes correctly
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean_FrancoisC731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boris6, General Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Thank you for the nice comments, much appriciated. Please do let me know when you are in-house next.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Nigeria
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I have been staying in this hotel since 1994. It has always attracted me due to cool and nice ambience and good interior decoration. Whether it is your business trip or excursion with family, it provides you everything you deserve.

Room Tip: Choose a room on 6th floor upwards and towards reception side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKJ007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boris6, General Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Thank you for the kind review, much apprciated - please do let me know when you are in-house next.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mbabane, Swaziland
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I came for a conference here did not stay in any of the rooms but my friends who did said it was OK. I found the conference room nice and well decorated and noticed that every part is well utilised particularly for conferences. The toilets are clean.
I like the art work of Ladi Kwali on the wall at the entrance

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MgdaleneI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boris6, General Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Thank you for the kind review - do let me know when you are inhouse next
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Been there and spend a week regarding job. Will try not to stay here again. Run down furniture, dusty floors, dirty carpet and rusty bathroom fittings., lack of overall cleanliness. Almost 1 hour wait at lobby, both for check-in and checkout , thanks to the inefficient reception. Wish thee breakfast coming with the room was more international. The security check at main gate is for name sake. One time our driver shouted back at the security personnel because he was reluctant to get out and open the car boot, and the security gave up.

Avoid the place, unless they do a revamp.

Room Tip: Just Avoid
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PraveenJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boris6, General Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your observations. It is truly helpful and I highly appreciated it, especially in today’s world where there is such a premium on time. The hotel is scheduled for a full refurbishment, which will address all the issues mentioned. Tower 3 has been closed as the refurb will commence in this area.

Please be assured that where possible we immediately addressed the concerns you have mentioned. Apologies cannot make up for our failures, I assure you however that we are working hard and changing the full experience. Please do accept my most humble apologies for our failure to meet your expectations. I do hope to have the privilege to see you return to the Sheraton Abuja, in the not too distant future, giving us an opportunity to remedy our failures. Please do contact me when you are in Abuja next, I will personally take care of you visit and ensure you experience true Nigerian hospitality.

Kind regards,


Boris Bornman

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I stayed there on a business trip June 2013
The nightclub has long gone so girls no longer hang about looking for business!
The p,ace needs a bit of tlc but I'm aware management are raising the finance to do this
The staff are great and the pool excellent too
I'd recommend it

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boris6, General Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you for the review sir, it truly means so much to us - you are an "Officer and a Gentleman' We are embarking on a major refurbishment project and will turn the 'Old Lady' into a truly magnificent hotel, we have all the other ingredients to make it one of the most special hotels in the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abuja hotels
1.0 mi away
Transcorp Hilton Abuja
3.4 mi away
Nordic Hotel
Nordic Hotel
#1 of 83 in Abuja
143 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Nordic Villa
The Nordic Villa
#3 of 83 in Abuja
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sandralia Hotel
Sandralia Hotel
#24 of 83 in Abuja
30 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja
3.6 mi away
SV Chrome
SV Chrome
#4 of 83 in Abuja
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Abuja Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Abuja Hotel

Property: Sheraton Abuja Hotel
Address: Ladi Kwali Way, Maitama, Abuja PMB143, Nigeria
Region: Nigeria > Abuja State > Abuja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Abuja
#5 Best Value Hotel in Abuja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Abuja Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 575
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Abuja is one of the hospitality pioneers in Abuja. It is a social and vibrant landmark in Nigeria's capital, located just 40 kilometers away from the Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport and in proximity to the International Conference Center and the Federal secretariat. Sheraton Abuja Hotel is the focal point for events and networking opportunities. Discover one of the best foods in the city at any of our restaurants and bars or enjoy having your successful business meetings here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Abuja Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Abuja
Abuja Sheraton
Sheraton Hotel Abuja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing