We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Run-down, old, overprices but 2 days you cna survive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Abuja Hotel
Ranked #5 of 80 Hotels in Abuja
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Run-down, old, overprices but 2 days you cna survive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

It is a shame that Sheraton still runs such run-down hotels and lends there name to such places. A international hotel chain should clearly stand in for a quality standard that clearly they do not do here. When I read reviews here standard ok I am surprised what service standard accept in 2014 for a hotel priced in the indicated range. This is not a youth hostel where you have to accept all kinds of setbacks.

As we are in Nigeria, such a great place and prime start hotel of course commands a price of USD 300-400 per night ;-) In rooms, everything is from the 80s and looks like someone went to the Portobello flea market to buy all the worn 80s furniture and accessoiries people quickly wanted to dipose of for a final few pennies. Telefone, the worn furniture and overused furniture, run-down standard of bathroom, etc. I always waited for JR Ewing knocking on my door asking me to go for a drink at the pool bar. Neither him nor Pamela knocked though...
Rooms are also not well cleaned.

Choice of restaurants is ok and food quality is decent. Otherwise really nothing specially to mention about this hotel. You can survive but if you can stay somewhere else do so.

Needless to say - I was very happy when after 2 nights I could quickly leave this place
My Gold standard at Starwood was also not honored and when trying to use the wine voucher at bar that did not work either. What else should I have expected from this place?

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andry123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boris6, General Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
My most sincere apologies for failing to meet you expectations. A full refurbishment of the property has commence and will address the issues mentioned. Thank you for taking time to give us you objective comments, it is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    118
    109
    89
    62
See reviews for
9
11
32
358
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
166 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

I like staying at this hotel every time I am in Abuja for business. Even though its far from the airport, you're conveniently located within the city center. I think the Sheraton Abuja has great amenities to make your stay very comfortable and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boris6, General Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for you kind comments, much appreciated. Please do let me know when you are in Abuja next.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Honestly before I arrived into Abuja I had many apprehensions reading the various reviews on here. Honestly I was pleasantly surprised and frankly I wonder of others just had a bad day or did I have very good days.

My arrival was handled well since a car was at the airport to pick me up.
The room was clean and while I would not compare it with other Sheraton properties in the west it was perfectly OK.
For the prices you pay, yes the quality expected is hugely higher but then everything in Nigeria seems horrendously expensive so in that sense it was fine.
Being a vegetarian I was again apprehensive but did manged to get decently good food though I missed the Indian tandoor which was closed that evening.
Immediately on arrival the staff greeted and spoke to me very well and everyone I met was very friendly.
I used the travel desk for a car and was happy with the service and Mrs. Bose did a great job.
I had been hearing various horror stories of safety but luckily for me at no time did I feel unsafe or jittery though I did not step out after dark.

Dont expect western standards, realise that Nigeria is expensive and you will have a good experience which you will enjoy.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vasisht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boris6, General Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for your kind and candid comments, it truly means the world to us. Please do let me know when you are in Abuja next.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester
Level Contributor
190 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

A rather tired hotel, much in need of a facelift and certainly not what Sheraton brand image would lead you to expect. For all that it was OKish. Staff were friendly, room was large and A/C worked, though noisy. Was moved on the second day as the bed proved to be hard as a rock. Second 'refurbished' room was better and the bed really good. Breakfast buffet was comprehensive and quality average, though the inside section had a nasty smell rather like cooking offal. Due to be upgraded I was told and it certainly needs it.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a new bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DM51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boris6, General Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for your very objective and candid comments. Your feedback is very important to us, in our journey to excellence. Our renovation program has started, which will address the issues mentioned. Once again a BIG thank you for taking the time to comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

I've recently spent quite a lot of time at the Sheraton Abuja while on business. The staff are wonderful and have really gone out of their way to make me feel comfortable and secure. Variety in the restaurant options is nice, although I will always choose to eat at the Boathouse around the pool (don't tell anyone but you can usually order from the other menus at the pool) :) Rooms are comfortable and spacious for an international hotel. I would recommend a room facing the pool even though it can be a little noisy during events it sure beats the view of the road and traffic noise. the gym is small, but I highly recommend the variety of class options in the evenings (yoga, boot camp style classes, aerobics) and the personal trainers are extremely helpful if you need to switch up your workout. The massage at the gym is also nice and definitely affordable. Not everything works as smoothly or as well as it would in Europe or North America, but when in Nigeria you just need to be a little more lenient and relaxed. I've never had a problem at this Sheraton and definitely recommend this hotel to my coworkers and friends travelling to Abuja.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SassyCassie1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boris6, General Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for your very objective and candid comments. Your feedback is very important to us, in our journey to excellence. Once again a BIG thank you for taking the time to comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel for business in Abuja. The property itself is quite large, with lots of facilities and restaurants (which is good as I couldn't really leave the hotel due to safety concerns).

Most staff are friendly and want to help, but, service is incredibly slow.

The breakfast buffet was quite good, with really good selection (just make sure to give yourself time if you choose to wait for eggs, omelette, etc).

My room was OK. It would have been much better if the mattress on the bed wasn't as hard as the floor. New beds in this hotel could make a world of difference.

The property does have a decent gym facility and tennis courts where you can rent rackets.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurenAsh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boris6, General Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for your candid review, it is much appreciated. We have just replaced all our beds with the world famous Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds. Our renovation program, formally starts in April this year. I have actioned all other items mentioned. Please do contact me when you are in Abuja next.

Once again, thank you for your time.

Kind regards,

Boris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Ac was poor. Room very tired although my colleague was moved to a room that had been refurbished and looked great. However ac didn't work at all in that room. Calls for service to look at it took ages and there was never any resolution. They dutifully come each day to say it will be fixed but I would rather be told the truth that there is no resolution as the whole system needs a major overhaul, refurbishment in the lobby meant that wet paint had no signs and my colleague leant on a pillar and was covered in paint. It was obviously his fault with no apology from staff. Magically after the event signs appeared but at the time no workmen or signs were visible

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room. Some are and a big difference
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank London59traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boris6, General Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you taking the time to share your observations. It is truly helpful and I highly appreciated it, especially in today’s world where there is such a premium on time. The hotel is scheduled for a full refurbishment, which will address all the issues mentioned by you.

Please be assured that were possible we immediately addressed the items mentioned by you. My sincere apologies for our failure to meet your expectations. I do hope to have the privilege to see you return to the Sheraton Abuja, in the not too distant future, giving us an opportunity to remedy our failures. Please do contact me when you are in Abuja next.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Abuja hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abuja hotels
1.0 mi away
Transcorp Hilton Abuja
3.4 mi away
Nordic Hotel
Nordic Hotel
#1 of 80 in Abuja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Nordic Villa
The Nordic Villa
#3 of 80 in Abuja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sandralia Hotel
Sandralia Hotel
#14 of 80 in Abuja
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
3.1 mi away
BON Hotel Grand Pela
BON Hotel Grand Pela
#8 of 80 in Abuja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
3.6 mi away
SV Chrome
SV Chrome
#4 of 80 in Abuja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Abuja Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Abuja Hotel

Property: Sheraton Abuja Hotel
Address: Ladi Kwali Way, Maitama, Abuja PMB143, Nigeria
Region: Nigeria > Abuja State > Abuja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Abuja
#5 Best Value Hotel in Abuja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Abuja Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 575
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Abuja is one of the hospitality pioneers in Abuja. It is a social and vibrant landmark in Nigeria's capital, located just 40 kilometers away from the Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport and in proximity to the International Conference Center and the Federal secretariat. Sheraton Abuja Hotel is the focal point for events and networking opportunities. Discover one of the best foods in the city at any of our restaurants and bars or enjoy having your successful business meetings here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Starwood EMEA, Odigeo, Jovago.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Abuja Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Abuja
Abuja Sheraton
Sheraton Hotel Abuja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing