We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired but friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Abuja Hotel
Ranked #5 of 83 Hotels in Abuja
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tired but friendly”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I read the other reviews and had low expectations. My 3 nights last week were very pleasant. I agree that you can find all sorts of reasons to criticise and there are many. But my room was clean and comfortable, Internet was pretty good (better than most rural parts of the UK!! - take that BT) - great little gym, nice pool bar, I enjoyed the buffet restaurant in the hotel (can't remember the name!), great little bar.

But most importantly, in these times of trouble, I felt safe and was surrounded by really attentive, friendly staff throughout. So thank you very much.

All I would say to the very wealthy Sheraton business is.. Come on invest, don't be afraid. These people are working hard with what they have got. But give them the chance.......

Room Tip: Go premium
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boris6, General Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear sir, thank you for your candid comments and remarks, much appreciated. Please do let me know when you are back in Abuja.

Kind regards,

Boris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    125
    113
    91
    62
See reviews for
10
12
33
371
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

One wonders why Sheraton still have this hotel in their portfolio. It's extremely run down, and still not cheap (but the other high-end option is the Hilton, ridiculously expensive and not worth the money). They say they're refurbishing but it's been going on for ages and would mean a total transformation.

Pros :
-convenient location
-wide rooms
-good Internet connection
-nice staff

Cons:
-run down furniture (and my room door hardly shut itself properly), bathroom, cheap amenities
-breakfast is really mediocre, like all the food in general
-weird use of the space (you have to go through a large hallway that looks like a subway corridor to get to the pool. Good luck to find a chair that is not broken there by the way).

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank KleraitMy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boris6, General Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
My sincere apologies for failing to meet you expectations. The property is scheduled for a full renovation, which has commenced in Tower 3. Please do contact me when you are in Abuja next and I will personally take care of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Abuja hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

This is a difficult review. The rooms and bathrooms are old but surprisingly with a high quality bed and linen. Therefore very comfortable. Check in and out is slow. Breakfast was disappointing but not bad. This is not a bad hotel but it charges 5 star prices. It is not a 5 star hotel but it is a comfortable stay. Decide what you want!

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dean2712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boris6, General Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for your objective comments, much appreciated. The property will be fully renovated, addressing the majority of your concerns. Please do contact me when you are in Abuja next.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

The sheraton cashing / invoicing policy is strange. Tallking to the check-in / cashier is taking several hours. Seems the hotel management is only interested in money but not in clients. Hotel is insisting on pre-payment.
Room charge is high and Standard is low.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Volker L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boris6, General Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for your comments. My apologies for not meeting your expectations. With regard to prepayment and deposits, this is standard practice across the world. We have started our renovation project and it will address the issues mentioned. Please do contact me when you are in Abuja next.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

A hotel stands as a part of Sheraton global network, although it can not be compared to its relatives. Spacy rooms have not been refurbished for a long time. Nevertheless you can expect that from a Nigerian hotel. The only better place is Hilton

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntonKozak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boris6, General Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Apologies for our failure to meet your expectations. Rest assure that we are focused on continuously improving. Please do contact me when you are in Abuja next.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

One of the few international hotels in Abuja and while I understand from fellow guests and local expats it's cleared itself up a lot in the past year or so, there is still a lot left to be desired.

Service is very slow, I checked in around 7am on a Sunday with plenty of staff around and no guests and still spend the best part of 20 minutes getting registered. The room was clean but that was about the only thing going for it: peeling paint, water damage, cracked walls and a distinctly 80s vibe about the decor. Wifi wasn't accessible from the room meaning a trip to the lobby to check emails.

The main restaurant was reasonable with a fair selection of cereals, fruit, continental and cooked foods. The main bar had a limited selection of food but good drinks menu, just that very slow service again.

When you're paying the kind of rates they charge here, another USD50 per night or so doesn't really become a factor. Would recommend using the Sheraton as a back if the Hilton Transcorp is full.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boris6, General Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
My most sincere apologies for failing to meet your expectations. I do value your objective and candid comments. Rest assure we will continue to approve in our strive for excellence. Please do contact me the next time you are in Abuja.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2014

The staff at this hotel are some of the most friendly and welcoming people that I have ever met. The guest relations manager, Margaret Emmanuel, is first class. I have an interest in local languages and books on these are difficult to find. She went to the bother of getting me a book and wouldn't take any money for it, I can't think of any other hotel that would do that for you. She has my gratitude.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timgorrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boris6, General Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for the lovely comment, I am very proud of my staff, they do show case the best of Nigeria. Your comments means the world to us and I truly appreciate the time you took to write the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abuja hotels
1.0 mi away
Transcorp Hilton Abuja
3.4 mi away
Nordic Hotel
Nordic Hotel
#1 of 83 in Abuja
143 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Nordic Villa
The Nordic Villa
#3 of 83 in Abuja
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sandralia Hotel
Sandralia Hotel
#24 of 83 in Abuja
30 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja
3.6 mi away
SV Chrome
SV Chrome
#4 of 83 in Abuja
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Abuja Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Abuja Hotel

Property: Sheraton Abuja Hotel
Address: Ladi Kwali Way, Maitama, Abuja PMB143, Nigeria
Region: Nigeria > Abuja State > Abuja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Abuja
#5 Best Value Hotel in Abuja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Abuja Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 575
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Abuja is one of the hospitality pioneers in Abuja. It is a social and vibrant landmark in Nigeria's capital, located just 40 kilometers away from the Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport and in proximity to the International Conference Center and the Federal secretariat. Sheraton Abuja Hotel is the focal point for events and networking opportunities. Discover one of the best foods in the city at any of our restaurants and bars or enjoy having your successful business meetings here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Starwood EMEA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheraton Abuja Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Abuja
Abuja Sheraton
Sheraton Hotel Abuja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing