We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Why stay here?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Abuja Hotel
Ranked #5 of 82 Hotels in Abuja
Washington DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Why stay here?”
Reviewed 4 February 2011

There are many other, better options in Abuja. Perhaps like many, I booked thinking that being a Sheraton it had to have some minimum standard.

Actually, the rooms are falling to pieces, the staff are (with notable exceptions) unhelpful. The hotel has noise every night until 1pm from the bar in the central courtyard. However, my biggest issue is with the high prices for low quality. The food is terrible, and eye-wateringly expensive! Everything is eye-wateringly expensive, and a let down. Almost nothing works properly (from the elevators, through the gym o' broken machines).

Shame on Sheraton for lending their name to this hotel, it takes away from any sense of being able to rely on their brand.

It's not the worst hotel I've stayed in, but for this price you'd be much, much better off staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    120
    110
    90
    62
See reviews for
9
11
33
362
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2010

I stayed there twice recently, and I think a lot of the reviews here are exaggerated. I mean, sure it's a bit dumpy, the rooms have somewhat of a mildewy smell, and not everything works perfectly. But from the reviews here, I was expecting a sweltering mosquito-infested prostitute nest. But there was nary an insect in sight, and the prostitutes were probably all in the elephant nightclub, which was easily avoidable.
I found the staff to be charming and efficient. There was no problem with electricity or hot water. Air-conditioning worked perfectly- it even got too cold at night.
The two rooms were of variable quality, so I guess they are doing renovations now.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne_Suisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
86 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2010

Room keycard did not work 5 out of 10 times. To re-open the door via reception took ages. Airconditioning did not work well. Room was way too hot. Bathroom was filthy. Staff in general not friendly. I just couldn't believe this hotel is allowed to carry the Sheraton name. Last but not least; hookers everywhere in the hotel, from the bar to the lobby and the coffeeshop.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DTH70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MortenEbbesen, General Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2010
Dear Sir - My sincere apologies that we did not live up to your expectations on this occasion. I can assure you we are working steadily towards improving our product and services in the hotel. A full refurbishment plan of rooms and corridors will start next year (2011) and we are planning for a full overhaul of all public areas as well. The AC issues have already been addressed and the system is now working well. New air handling units, new generators and new chillers have been installed in the past months. The priority now turns toward the physical appearance of the hotel. Rest assured that your comments are being attended to and we will make every effort to have the hotel back to former glory within the next year. Yours sincerely. Morten Ebbesen - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Abuja hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Reading
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2010

My second stay this year at the 700 room Abuja Sheraton was comfortable and satisfactory. The other reviews on Trip Advisor will tell you how worn out the facilities are, and how some things don't work. No doubt all that is true. In my own room the bedside electrics fell apart on my second day (see photo), which was a bit of a surprise; but the electrician came and fixed the problem quickly and that was all I needed. I guess my expectations in Nigeria are always set a little lower than when I travel elsewhere. The fact is the rooms at the Abuja Sheraton are large, the beds are comfortable, there is internet in the rooms (even if it is expensive at about £12 per 24 hours) and the room service operates. I like the pool area with its bar/restaurant - and its wildlife - I have to say I was amazed to see a colony of BATS fly around at dusk one evening, which was a treat! I find the Elephant Bar amusing: yes, it is packed with prostitues, but you don't have to go in and they do look quite exotic. Breakfast is OK. The neighbourhood is better than most, and it's just a short walk (something not done much in Abuja) to a very good craft market. The lobby internet facility is good, incidentally, and free to guests for the first 45 minutes per day. I had a good discussion with the general manager and he seems to want to take the hotel back to the good standard it had when it opened, probably more than 30 years ago. Sheraton appear to have the funds to carry out a major refurbishment. Photos of the new room designs were on display: I hope the reality works out, as the pictures look good. Is this hotel good value for money? No. Is it comfortable? yes.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eurobloke17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2010

There isn't much in the way of hotels in Abuja, but just about anyplace would be better than the Sheraton. I was shocked by the conditions. It is a huge but terribly rundown building with a large, stagnant pool of water in the central open-air atrium. The rooms open to the atrium, allowing mosquitos to entire the room each time one opens the door. Furthermore, my room had electrical cords with burn marks and exposed wires. One of the lamp shades near the bed also had burn marks. Perhaps someone tried smoking out the mosquitos! When I alerted Sheraton management (Starwood Hotels), its idea of a proper response was limited to booking me in an overpriced hotel on my business travel to Cape Town -- at my expense. In other words, Starwood Hotels (AKA Sheraton) offered a terrible and unsafe environment in Abuja, for premium prices, and then suggested I spend even more at one of their hotels later in my travels.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drLivings2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

There are a number of good hotels in Nigeria, but typically a 5 star hotel would be clasified as a 3 star elsewhere. Hotels are also terribly expensive ... and spending $400+ a night while still standing in a bath to shower is the norm. The Sheraton in Abuja is an old 70's style hotel much in need of a refurb (which is apparently on the cards). The rooms are generous but tired. The hotel is spotlessly clean however, and a number of excellent restaurants are located on the property. I have spent many, many nights in West Africa at various hotels, and this Sheraton, with its friendly staff remains one of my favourites.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quentin_Sargent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Move from Chelsea hotel to Sheraton purely because congress I was attending was in Sheraton; wished i had remained at Chelsea hotel . Everything at Sheratona in grossly overpriced, You even have to pay 3000 Naira a day for ihe internet which should be free ( and is so in the Chelsea hotel). My room was adequate in size but vere old fashioned and poorly furnished with poorly execeuted laminate flooring and old styyle TV. Worse was the musty smell and inadequate A/C sytem. Staff are very friendly . Food in hotel reasonable by Nigerian standards but grossly overpriced. Worst issue for me ( and I am no prude having travelled the world for 40 years) was the accceptance by hotel managment of hordes of prostitutes ( mainly in the evening) in the main bar, lobby area and outsiade entrance area. This was somewhat embarrassing to say the least for my female black American colleague! Would never return to this hotel., even if they do renovate the rooms which i understood is planned.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAIDENHEADUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abuja hotels
1.0 mi away
Transcorp Hilton Abuja
3.4 mi away
Nordic Hotel
Nordic Hotel
#1 of 82 in Abuja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Nordic Villa
The Nordic Villa
#3 of 82 in Abuja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sandralia Hotel
Sandralia Hotel
#12 of 82 in Abuja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
3.1 mi away
BON Hotel Grand Pela
BON Hotel Grand Pela
#8 of 82 in Abuja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
3.6 mi away
SV Chrome
SV Chrome
#4 of 82 in Abuja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Abuja Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Abuja Hotel

Property: Sheraton Abuja Hotel
Address: Ladi Kwali Way, Maitama, Abuja PMB143, Nigeria
Region: Nigeria > Abuja State > Abuja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Abuja
#5 Best Value Hotel in Abuja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Abuja Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 575
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Abuja is one of the hospitality pioneers in Abuja. It is a social and vibrant landmark in Nigeria's capital, located just 40 kilometers away from the Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport and in proximity to the International Conference Center and the Federal secretariat. Sheraton Abuja Hotel is the focal point for events and networking opportunities. Discover one of the best foods in the city at any of our restaurants and bars or enjoy having your successful business meetings here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Starwood EMEA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Abuja Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Abuja
Abuja Sheraton
Sheraton Hotel Abuja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing