We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre service, very expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Transcorp Hilton Abuja
Ranked #2 of 83 Hotels in Abuja
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Mediocre service, very expensive”
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Avoid if possible. It is a very expensive hotel but the standards of service do not match the price.

Room Tip: Try to stay as high as possible, i.e. in the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indianguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sholaAbuja, General Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this review, 25 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment about our hotel.

We regret all inconveniences you might have experienced while staying with us. Our desire is to always create a refreshing experience where every guest feels cared for, valued and respected.

It is true that our hotel is not a cheap hotel and we do not wish to be perceived as such. However, we are focussed on making sure that our guests get good value for money spent in the hotel.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we do wish you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you on your next visit to Abuja.

Yours sincerely,

Andre Herrenschmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    399
    217
    78
    28
See reviews for
64
39
69
853
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2011

I arrived at the hotel at 1 am to be told that my reservation had been "cancelled" and that no rooms were available. When the clerk realized that I was not born yesterday he summoned a manager. Fortunately, I was able to produce a confirmation number which allowed me to get a room. Security is lax - there are a great many extremely friendly non-guests going up and down the elevators, especially in the evenings.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ProGlobTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sholaAbuja, General Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment about our hotel.

We regret all inconveniences you experienced while staying with us. Our desire is to always create a refreshing experience where every guest feels cared for, valued and respected.

Your comments on the way your reservation was handled and the presence of undesirable elements in the hotel are noted. I am addressing the issues with the concerned departments with a view to improving on our service delivery.

I do hope you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you on your next visit to Abuja.

Yours sincerely,


Andre Herrenschmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

typical Nigerian rip off hotel...charges a fortune for everything!

On checking out in the morning 80% off our group had mini bar charges to the room bill..but none of us had anything from the mini bar. And no staff had checked to see if we'd had anything, just taking a chance to see if we'd check the bills or not... and the time it took to take these charges off resulted in us leaving the hotel late.

Rooms are large but very dated and themed in colours on each floor...no plugs in the bathroom, mini bar cooler not working and smelt, AC worked when it wanted to and you can hear everything that is going on in the corridor.

Mr Hilton would not be prond of this hotel...DO TRY TO STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE!!!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scottg1808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sholaAbuja, General Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this review, 15 June 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment about our hotel. It is through such comments that we are able to achieve our brand promise of delivering a refreshing experience where every guest feels cared for, valued and respected.

I am sorry for any inconveniences you experienced while staying with us. Whilst the mix-up with your mini bar billing is regrettable, please be assured that it was not borne out of any deliberate attempt to cheat you or any of our guests. Experience has taught us that mini bar billing could sometime pose a challenge; that is why we have empowered our Front Desk team members to rebate the charges if a guest contests same. We would rather err on the part of trusting our guests in such situations.

The Transcorp Hilton was opened over 24 years ago and decorated in the style of the period. We have, however, diligently implemented planned refurbishment projects over the years. Just recently, we replaced the carpets on the corridors of all guest floors. We also upgraded the beds in all the rooms by replacing them with the new signature Hilton Serenity Dreams beds and mattresses.

Your comments on maintenance related issues are noted. I assure you of our best efforts to address the issues you highlighted with our Engineering team with a view to improve on our maintenance services.

Once again, thank you for your views. We do hope you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you on your next visit to Abuja.

Yours sincerely,


Andre Herrenschmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2011

First of all, I hope that the management of the Hilton do read these comments so as to improve quality and efficiency. I have stayed at the Tanscorp Hilton both on business and pleasure more than I can remember. I'm a diamond member and only stay at the Hilton chain whenever I travel worldwide on business. Last time I was there I had to leave the Piano Bar with my family because of the influx of prostitutes at 8pm. The executive lounge is a Jungle, non executive members flock in in the name of BIGMANISM shouting on there cell phones. I'm surprised at the guests that say the beds are comfortable, the beds (or mattress) have not been changed since the days of NICON NOGA, correct me if I'm wrong. This hotel is the most expensive hotel in the world, the staff really do not know the meaning of customer service. I have stayed at the Bellagio in Vegas (The #1 rated hotel in the world for the past 5yr) and paid only $120 a night for a room that rivals the best at the Abuja Hilton. My company here in Texas has always used the Hilton, but guess what? We found an alternative in Abuja but just as expensive but better service and more exclusivity... Starts with a Pro.... and ends with a Tea. My company spends millions on Travel each year to Nigeria...Now that I'm part of the decision makers on where we stay....... The Hotels have to earn it. There is a hotel that we stayed at last year and my boss said after we checked out " Men that was an expensive sushi" That Hotel was the Sangri 'La in Tokyo Japan, one of the best in the world, but not as expensive as the Transcorp Hilton.

Room Tip: This Hotel is safe, thats why we stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GotuwanPankshin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sholaAbuja, General Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this review, 5 April 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment about our hotel. We actually welcome comments from our guests and do take time to review and address their concerns.

I am sorry for any inconveniences you experienced while staying with us. Our desire is to always deliver a refreshing experience where every guest feels cared for, valued and respected.

I was taken aback with your comments on prostitutes as we have since addressed the issue decisively. I would be pleased to walk around the bars with you on your next visit to see how we have been able to deal with the subject.

Your comments about our Executive Lounge are noted. Please be assured that we are constantly reviewing our Executive Lounge policies and procedures with a view to ensuring that all our valued guests enjoy the comfort of the Lounge.

The guests that applaud the comfort of our beds are actually correct; we have, in fact, recently upgraded every of our guest rooms with the new signature Hilton Serenity Dreams beds and mattresses.

It is true that our hotel is not a cheap hotel. It is, however, our view that pricing should be evaluated in relation to the environment where a hotel operates. Suffice it to say that the dynamics that influence pricing in Texas or Tokyo are not the same with that of Abuja. Your comment about the other hotel in Abuja is a pointer to the fact that our pricing is competitive in the city where we operate. Nevertheless, we are focussed on making sure that our guests get value for money spent.

Once again, thank you for your views. We do hope you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you on your next visit to Abuja.

Yours sincerely,

Andre Herrenschmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2011

I've stayed twice, both times for just one night. Both times the staff were extremely welcoming. Definitely a good place for a short business stopover - and probably a great place to stay for longer.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canthinkofaname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sholaAbuja, General Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this review, 29 March 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a comment about our hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your comments about our our team members and your overall experience are gratifying. We assure you of our best efforts to consistently deliver on our brand promise of providing a refreshing experience where every guest feels cared for, valued and respected.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next trip to Abuja.

Yours sincerely,


Andre Herrenschmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torino
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2011

Well located in Abuja's center, provides good rooms, the best internet iconnection in Abuja, a good swimming pool, good selection of shops and excellent restaurants.
Definitely the only Western world fully refeshing hotel in Abuja, a very good gatewat to Nigeria.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChiccoTorino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sholaAbuja, General Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this review, 3 March 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a comment about our hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your comments about our location, rooms, internet connection, swimming pool, restaurants and shops are gratifying. We assure you of our best efforts to consistently deliver on our brand promise of providing a refreshing experience where every guest feels cared for, valued and respected.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next trip to Abuja.

Yours sincerely,

Andre Herrenschmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2011

Having read a few of the reviews on this hotel, i feel compelled to make a comment.
Firstly i agree the hotel is very expensive but that should be viewed in the context of an international standard hotel in the middle of Nigeria. it is not in Europe or the United States where every sundry required to run a hotel successfully is easily available.
I found the room i stayed in on the 6th floor to be quite modern if not contemporary in style, the bathroom was very clean and in good decorative state. The air conditioning was very effective considering the outside temperature is in the region of 40 degrees Celsius and more importantly the bed was very comfy.
Granted the restaurants are pricey but breakfast was great.
One obvious irritation is the constant swarm of prostitutes who invade the bars every evening, its difficult to comprehend why the hotel management cannot deal with this problem but then one suspects they may be in on the take.
Overall i feel it's not a bad hotel as long as you've got the bucks to spend and your expectations are reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGrove_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sholaAbuja, General Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this review, 8 February 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a comment about our hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our rooms are even more contemporary and comfortable with the recently concluded phase of our rooms’ refurbishment project. Our rooms have been upgraded with the new signature Hilton Serenity Dreams beds and mattresses.

Your comments on prostitutes are noted. Please be assured that we have since addressed the issue decisively. I would be pleased to walk around the bars with you on your next visit to see how we have been able to deal with the subject.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next trip to Abuja.

Yours sincerely,

Andre Herrenschmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abuja hotels
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Abuja Hotel
Sheraton Abuja Hotel
#5 of 83 in Abuja
450 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Nordic Villa
The Nordic Villa
#3 of 83 in Abuja
217 reviews
4.0 mi away
Nordic Hotel
Nordic Hotel
#1 of 83 in Abuja
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Sandralia Hotel
Sandralia Hotel
#24 of 83 in Abuja
30 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja
4.3 mi away
SV Chrome
SV Chrome
#4 of 83 in Abuja
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Transcorp Hilton Abuja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Transcorp Hilton Abuja

Property: Transcorp Hilton Abuja
Address: 1 Agui Ironsi St. | Maitama, Abuja 900271, Nigeria
Phone Number:
Region: Nigeria > Abuja State > Abuja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Abuja
#4 Best Value Hotel in Abuja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Transcorp Hilton Abuja 5*
Number of rooms: 670
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Nigeria's capital city in close proximity to government offices, business and diplomatic districts, Transcorp Hilton offers 670 art-deco style rooms and suites for the comfort of discernible travellers. The spacious, bright and airy rooms are complete with original artwork and have large windows with stunning city views. Catch up with work at the desk, check your emails with high-speed internet (fees apply), recline on the mini chaise lounge or simply re-energise in the marble bathroom. From local Nigerian and continental cuisines to themed international buffets, Transcorp Hilton offers a delightful culinary experience with 4 restaurants and 4 bars. The hotel boasts a hi-tech, 1200-persons capacity Congress Hall and 24 meeting rooms. All benefit from natural daylight and individually controlled air conditioning, creating an ideal location for board meetings, press conferences, receptions or private dining parties. The mezzanine and foyer areas surrounding the Congress Hall enjoy natural daylight and provide an ideal location for registration, exhibition or display area, refreshment, breakfast or pre dinner cocktails. For the fitness enthusiast, the hotel boasts a well-equipped fitness center including saunas, a large hexagonal outdoor swimming pool and children's wading pool, 3 tennis courts, 3 squash courts, volleyball and basketball courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Transcorp Hilton Abuja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Transcorp Hilton Abuja Hotel Abuja
Hilton International Abuja
Hilton Abuja
Abuja Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing