We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth a 5 star ranking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Transcorp Hilton Abuja
Ranked #2 of 83 Hotels in Abuja
Certificate of Excellence
Riyadh, KSA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not worth a 5 star ranking”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

It's definitely one of the better hotels in Abuja, however the facility is very old. As soon as you enter the room you get a feeling of walking into a B&B motel in a remote part of US back in 70s. The GYM is very small and mostly crowded, the breakfast is just ok.

The staff is excellent. Laundry was very efficient and don't forget to try the Chicken Tikka, it's a treat.

Room Tip: Choose a room that is away from the central water fountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MYRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SholaAbuja, Public Relations Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Transcorp Hilton Abuja and for creating the time to leave a review.

Although our hotel was built in the 80s and furnished in the style of that period, we have consistently upgraded the facilities in order to add value to our guests experiences. I am pleased to inform that plans are at advanced stages to embark on a major refurbishment of our hotel later this year.

I am, however, glad that you found the service delivery from our Team Members excellent. All of us at Hilton are passionate about hospitality and we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    396
    216
    78
    28
See reviews for
63
39
69
846
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Nigeria
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

As an HHonors members, my views are probably biased but as a a regular visitor to this hotel, I must commend the management for keeping up standards. Yes, it is expensive but compared to other hotels in Abuja, that charge close to or even more than the Transcorp Hotel, the overall quality of service you get is by far higher. I've actually tried other hotels but keep coming back. if budget can afford this hotel, then I shall recommend it. The executive in particular offers more variety of food and beverages than other Hilton Hotels that I have stayed in.

Room Tip: If you are a Gold or Diamond HHonors member, choose the cheaper rooms - you will always get an upgra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ibikunle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SholaAbuja, Public Relations Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Many thanks for your kind comments about your recent stay with us. We hope to see you return again soon. Safe travels.

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The exorbitant price didn't include the wifi access! I had to pay an equaly exorbitant price for wifi access. Per day. And it was available only around the business lodge!

We were interrupted during the conference by the technicians who had to fix the clim. To no avail...

The rest was fine, The room was pleasant, the staff friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Costas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SholaAbuja, Public Relations Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for your recent stay with us at Transcorp Hilton Abuja and for finding the time to give a feedback.

I am disappointed we did not meet your expectations fully during your stay with us and I apologise for any inconveniences caused you.

Please permit me to reiterate that Wi-Fi internet connection is FREE for all our Gold and Diamond HHonors members and is available in all our bedrooms and public areas.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The Hilton in Abuja is a nightmare of a hotel. It's the only place that many Americans who are there for work can stay because of security concerns, and they know they have you over a barrel. The service is grumpy and not very competent, everything is way overpriced, and you don't get free internet with your hefty room price. My first room in the hotel smelled so very musty that I couldn't sleep in it, and I've slept in a LOT of $5 a night hotels... I had to call multiple times and threaten to go elsewhere before they reassigned me a room. On checkout, I paid with a credit card. When I was putting together my expense report after returning home, I noticed on the fourth page of the bill that they had overcharged me by a whopping $600+. When I called the hotel and asked them to reimburse me, I got nowhere and had to go to my credit card company to open a complaint. I will NEVER go back there. The Sheraton, although far less fancy, has nicer staff, better food, free internet, and is far better value for money, as long as you are careful not to let strangers into your room...

Room Tip: Make sure to check out your room before you unpack and make sure it doesn't smell like mold, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D'Arcy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SholaAbuja, Public Relations Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Thank you for choosing Transcorp Hilton for your recent stay in Abuja and for taking the time to share your experience.

I am disappointed we did not succeed at meeting your expectations during your stay with us. I apologize for our failures and all the inconveniences we might have caused you. Please be assured of my best efforts to address all the issues you have highlighted with a view to improve our overall service delivery.

Further to your comments on internet, permit me to mention that we fully implement the Hilton brand policy of complimentary internet for all our Diamond and Gold HHonors members.

Once again, thank you for your views and I look forward to another opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abuja,, Nigeria
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My overall experience at Transcorp Hilton Abuja was Excellent and overwhelming. I enjoyed every second spent within the holiday at the hotel, my wife and children also enjoy the same, thumb up to the management and the entire staff of Transcorp Hilton Abuja, well cultured, branded and grounded. Thanks for usual cooperation.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Omale Ukpotokwu... O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SholaAbuja, Public Relations Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for your recent stay with us at Transcorp Hilton Abuja and for creating the time to give a feedback on your experience.

I am glad to hear you and your family had an enjoyable experience during your stay with us. All of us at Transcorp Hilton are passionate about hospitality and we are happy to hear from a satisfied guest.

Once again, thank you for your valuable back. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The Hilton xmas package was faboulous,I came down to abuja with my family for the xmas and new year celebrations and we were treated like kings and queens by the friendly staffs,tho I noticed that the staffs were kinda few maybe because of the festive season but in all we enjoyed our stay at the Hilton.Thanks for making our xmas and new year worthwhile

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ziby33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SholaAbuja, Public Relations Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for choosing Transcorp Hilton Abuja for your recent stay in Abuja and for sharing your experience.

I am glad you had a pleasant stay with us and our Team Members delighted you and your family with their hospitality.

Once again, thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abuja, Nigeria
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Had dinner with friends to say goodbye to 2013 and welcome this new year.
The food was exquisite, my wildest wishes were answered when I saw the plates passing one by one.... it was just fabulous.
The tables very festive and tastefully decorated and had little intentions for each and everyone... I can't remember when I last had such a nice New Year's experience away from home... My thanks to all the staff and the management.
Congratulations and keep up the excellence in 2014!
Best wishes

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mia2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SholaAbuja, Public Relations Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
I wanted to thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in Abuja and for creating the time to leave a feedback.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and our Team Members made you and your guests feel cared for, valued and respected. I will be sure to let our Team Members know that they made your stay enjoyable with their hospitality.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback; we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abuja hotels
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Abuja Hotel
Sheraton Abuja Hotel
#5 of 83 in Abuja
443 reviews
4.0 mi away
Nordic Hotel
Nordic Hotel
#1 of 83 in Abuja
142 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Nordic Villa
The Nordic Villa
#3 of 83 in Abuja
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Sandralia Hotel
Sandralia Hotel
#25 of 83 in Abuja
30 reviews
4.3 mi away
SV Chrome
SV Chrome
#4 of 83 in Abuja
21 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Transcorp Hilton Abuja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Transcorp Hilton Abuja

Property: Transcorp Hilton Abuja
Address: 1 Agui Ironsi St. | Maitama, Abuja 900271, Nigeria
Phone Number:
Region: Nigeria > Abuja State > Abuja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Abuja
#4 Best Value Hotel in Abuja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Transcorp Hilton Abuja 5*
Number of rooms: 670
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Nigeria's capital city in close proximity to government offices, business and diplomatic districts, Transcorp Hilton offers 670 art-deco style rooms and suites for the comfort of discernible travellers. The spacious, bright and airy rooms are complete with original artwork and have large windows with stunning city views. Catch up with work at the desk, check your emails with high-speed internet (fees apply), recline on the mini chaise lounge or simply re-energise in the marble bathroom. From local Nigerian and continental cuisines to themed international buffets, Transcorp Hilton offers a delightful culinary experience with 4 restaurants and 4 bars. The hotel boasts a hi-tech, 1200-persons capacity Congress Hall and 24 meeting rooms. All benefit from natural daylight and individually controlled air conditioning, creating an ideal location for board meetings, press conferences, receptions or private dining parties. The mezzanine and foyer areas surrounding the Congress Hall enjoy natural daylight and provide an ideal location for registration, exhibition or display area, refreshment, breakfast or pre dinner cocktails. For the fitness enthusiast, the hotel boasts a well-equipped fitness center including saunas, a large hexagonal outdoor swimming pool and children's wading pool, 3 tennis courts, 3 squash courts, volleyball and basketball courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Transcorp Hilton Abuja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Transcorp Hilton Abuja Hotel Abuja
Hilton International Abuja
Hilton Abuja
Abuja Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing