We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Customer Service Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Transcorp Hilton Abuja
Ranked #2 of 83 Hotels in Abuja
Certificate of Excellence
Lagos, Nigeria
2 reviews
“Great Customer Service Experience”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I recently experienced what true customer service should be at the Hilton Abuja Front Desk. Despite being an extremely busy period I was checking in at the Hilton Abuja, I got what I regard as peerless service from the Front Desk personnel, Onyemeachi. He made sure he found me a room at a good rate and had a smile throughout even under pressure. Onyemeachi and the Shift Leader Daniel Iregbeyen, two days into my stay also found me a better room when I mentioned that I wanted a different room. I really felt they truly went out of their way to make a guest satisfied with his stay at the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the elevators and away from the utility rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Makin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SholaAbuja, Public Relations Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thanks for staying with us at our hotel and for taking the time to share your experience.

I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that Onyemaechi and Daniel were helpful! I’ll be sure to share your comments with them.

Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    401
    218
    78
    28
See reviews for
64
40
69
855
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
Reviewed 12 February 2014

A reasonably good hotel. the food really sucks though. the rooms are clean and the showers work too. Its really the only hotel in Abuja worth staying in. I generally stay at the hotel atleast one night a week.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Ashok K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SholaAbuja, Public Relations Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
I Just wanted to thank you for your recent stay here at our hotel!

I am so glad you were able to experience our authentic Hilton hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

On first impression, the Transcorp Hilton is bound to let down a sophisticated traveler. It's a huge place, with a super dated feel. But I have to say, over my 5 days on a business trip to Abuja, the property grew on me. Food is excellent. Service mostly friendly and efficient. Fabulous pool and grounds. And the energy of the craziness that is the capital city of Abuja. Feels like a step into another era, and totally modern at the same time. Gym has lots of equipment, if a bit of a tired facility.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UprightAndStowed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SholaAbuja, Public Relations Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Transcorp Hilton Abuja and for taking a moment to share your experience.
I am happy to hear you found our culinary offerings and service from our Team Members to your liking. We look forward to serving your travel needs at our hotel should you return to the area.

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Don't be fooled by the brand name. Hilton Abuja is the most expensive hotel in Nigeria but is doesn't live up to expectations. The rooms are seriously dated, with battered furniture & fixtures (with power sockets that pop out of the wall), the bathrooms need a deep clean & new plumbing, and the food is mediocre at best. The $23/day Internet fee is simply outrageous, & equates to a full month fee for 4GIG of data from a local mobile company.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Justin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SholaAbuja, Public Relations Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you for your recent stay with us at Transcorp Hilton Abuja and for taking the time to leave a review.

I am disappointed we did not succeed at meeting your expectations and apologise for any inconveniences you might have experienced during your stay with us.

Our hotel was built over 27 years ago and furnished in the style of that period. It is true that parts of our fixtures and fittings are dated after all these years. I am pleased to inform you that our hotel is scheduled for a major refurbishment later this year.

Internet connectivity, whilst not free across the board, is free for all our Diamond and Gold HHonors Guests. Other Guests pay a fee as is the practice in other Hilton hotels.

Once again, thank you for your views and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abuja, Nigeria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

The hotel environment is secured, healthy, and clean always. The house keepers and room service personnel are very committed and prompt in their service delivery. Overall, the services are qualitative from reception to room service. Your staff are well mannered and courteous .

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are of better view. Higher floors are quieter especially floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Muha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SholaAbuja, Public Relations Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
I wanted to thank you for choosing to stay with us at Transcorp Hilton Abuja and for taking the time to share your experience.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and our Team Members delighted you with their hospitality and service delivery.

We appreciate the opportunity of being of service to you and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashaka-Gombe State, Nigeria
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2014

A wonderful experience and will be delighted to have private holidays to enjoy the exciting moments. Will recommend Hilton for any corporate/Multi-national Organization to hold business meetings in this world class and glamourous hotel and have the exciting experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Hauwa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SholaAbuja, Public Relations Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thanks for staying at our hotel and for taking the time to share your experience.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and had a taste of our warm, caring service. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I have just come back from a short business trip to Abuja and read the reviews of this hotel. Honestly, some people don't live in the real world!

This hotel is clean, safe, well appointed with friendly staff and safe to eat food. It is not a 5* European Hotel (ah come on previous reviewers, this is Abuja in Nigeria we are talking about not Vienna or London) but it is an oasis of calm amidst a city of chaos.

My room was clean.
It did have a 1970's style bathroom but it all worked.
The restaurants were fine.
Breakfast was excellent
The bars and outdoor areas were clean, pleasant and safe.

Could it have done with a refurbish? For sure.
Is it annoying in the extreme that 'ladies' of a very dubious reputation are allowed in the sports bar. Yes! For sure.

is it expensive? Yup. But this is Nigeria where every single person is on the take. If you want cheap go someplace else (and be a lot less safe).

So what that internet is expensive? At least it is there.

Honestly, people need to get real. You get what you pay for. If you have to go to Nigeria (and frankly I can't recommend it for anything other than business) what you need is a clean place that is safe and where you can eat the food without worrying. And for the privilege of staying safe in a very dangerous part of the world you have to pay.

Worth every penny in my view.

Room Tip: Don't go to Nigeria! But if you have to, stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zulusthousandsofem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SholaAbuja, Public Relations Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
I wanted to thank you for your recent stay with us at Transcorp Hilton Abuja and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

I am so glad you you found our hotel well appointed, clean and safe with friendly Team Members during your stay with us.

Whilst thaking you for your valuable feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abuja hotels
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Abuja Hotel
Sheraton Abuja Hotel
#5 of 83 in Abuja
450 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Nordic Villa
The Nordic Villa
#3 of 83 in Abuja
218 reviews
4.0 mi away
Nordic Hotel
Nordic Hotel
#1 of 83 in Abuja
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Sandralia Hotel
Sandralia Hotel
#24 of 83 in Abuja
30 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja
4.3 mi away
SV Chrome
SV Chrome
#4 of 83 in Abuja
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Transcorp Hilton Abuja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Transcorp Hilton Abuja

Property: Transcorp Hilton Abuja
Address: 1 Agui Ironsi St. | Maitama, Abuja 900271, Nigeria
Phone Number:
Region: Nigeria > Abuja State > Abuja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Abuja
#4 Best Value Hotel in Abuja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Transcorp Hilton Abuja 5*
Number of rooms: 670
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Nigeria's capital city in close proximity to government offices, business and diplomatic districts, Transcorp Hilton offers 670 art-deco style rooms and suites for the comfort of discernible travellers. The spacious, bright and airy rooms are complete with original artwork and have large windows with stunning city views. Catch up with work at the desk, check your emails with high-speed internet (fees apply), recline on the mini chaise lounge or simply re-energise in the marble bathroom. From local Nigerian and continental cuisines to themed international buffets, Transcorp Hilton offers a delightful culinary experience with 4 restaurants and 4 bars. The hotel boasts a hi-tech, 1200-persons capacity Congress Hall and 24 meeting rooms. All benefit from natural daylight and individually controlled air conditioning, creating an ideal location for board meetings, press conferences, receptions or private dining parties. The mezzanine and foyer areas surrounding the Congress Hall enjoy natural daylight and provide an ideal location for registration, exhibition or display area, refreshment, breakfast or pre dinner cocktails. For the fitness enthusiast, the hotel boasts a well-equipped fitness center including saunas, a large hexagonal outdoor swimming pool and children's wading pool, 3 tennis courts, 3 squash courts, volleyball and basketball courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Transcorp Hilton Abuja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Transcorp Hilton Abuja Hotel Abuja
Hilton International Abuja
Hilton Abuja
Abuja Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing