We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort at Hilton Abuja”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Transcorp Hilton Abuja
Ranked #1 of 85 Hotels in Abuja
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014

the new '10' point brand promise has really caught on for virtually all staff at the Hilton, Abuja. I found them all to be confident, cheerful, courteous and helpful. The rooms though slightly dated from a furnishing and decorative standpoint are comfortable and relatively clean and the bathrooms are very well cared for. Strongly recommended for the avid business traveler. The gate entrance check should be strengthened though as no mechanized detection equipment is used by the vehicle inspectors who largely just 'eye ball' the interior of cars gaining access to the hotel grounds.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Modupe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SholaAbuja, Public Relations Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for your recent stay with us at Transcorp Hilton Abuja and for taking a moment to share your experience.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that our Team members delighted you with their Hospitality. I will surely let the Team Members know that they contributed towards making your stay enjoyable.

Your views on the security checks have been noted; we are constantly reviewing our security measures with a view to ensuring the safety and security of our Guests and Team Members.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

757 - 763 of 1,130 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

This will be my last stay in the Transcorp Hilton, and it will not be visited again by any of my company colleagues either.

Vastly overpriced for an average hotel, with basic rooms, and dated decoration.

Food is far too expensive for what you get, and choice, in the pool bar at least, is very poor. Most street-side cafés anywhere else in the world offer better choice and value. Due to the local security problems (only one car bomb, and 62 people shot while I was there) it's better not to stray from the hotel, so it is like shooting fish in a barrel.

The hotel tries to make itself look as though it is better than it is, with smart uniforms for staff, but overall it appears that good customer service is a foreign concept here.

Coffee shop machine maintenance at 08:30 every morning, and 6200 NGN (£22/$38) for a continental breakfast, is unbelievable. Cooked breakfast costs 10% more than that.

I was only there for a week on this visit, and that was plenty. Twice, after ordering a basic meal at the pool bar, it would appear my order had been forgotten, and when the staff were reminded an hour after ordering, it only took a few minutes for the same basic meal to appear, although one of the meals brought had obviously been under hot lights the whole time.

One other time, the meal I was brought wasn't actually what I'd ordered, but after waiting for 3/4 of an hour, I wasn't in the mood to wait until it was corrected...

On mentioning the problems to the duty supervisor, it seemed that it didn't matter too much, and although there was an apology, that was as far as it went...

TV channels all have a very poor signal, and the intermittent narrow-band internet is also very pricey. (£60 for a week, or even more if you pay for a day at a time...)

'Do Not Disturb' signs on the door handle seem to be ignored by housekeeping, and phones can't be put in DND state either, so you can expect disturbance if you are hoping for some peace and quiet...

I stayed here 3 years ago, for 4 weeks, and it was acceptable then, although pricey, but it has gone quite downhill. Maximum profit, for minimum outlay, seems to be the aim of this hotel.

Checkout is best started on early evening of the day before departure, as it can take an hour to sort out clerical problems, and at 05:00, when trying to get to the airport, it's touch-and-go whether you will be in time for your flight, as your bill has to be 'finalised', even if nothing has been charged to the room since checkout....

I won't be back...

Room Tip: For a good room, select a different hotel, unless you have money to burn, and don't mind low sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerekReed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SholaAbuja, Public Relations Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for your recent stay with us at Transcorp Hilton Abuja and for taking a moment to share your experience.

I am disappointed we did not succeed at exceeding your expectations during your stay with us and I apologise for our failures and any inconveniences you might have experienced. I would like to assure of my best efforts to address the service gaps you highlighted with a view to improving our service delivery.

Permit me to mention that although our hotel was built over 27 years ago and furnished in the style of that period, we have consistently upgraded the facilities with the execution of planned refurbishment programs over the years. Plans have been finalised to commence a major refurbishment of the hotel soon.

I would also like to reiterate that our prices are competitive in our market and they are primarily a function of the cost of delivering service in our clime. However, we are committed to making sure that our Guests get value for money spent in our hotel.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we do hope you will give us another opportunity of being of service to you when travel brings you back to Abuja.

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Provides nice and serene environment to relax for families; particularly on weekends. Has variety of cuisene to choose from. Excellent amenities. Could be quite busy and usettling on week days. It requires huge budget.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Chiji O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SholaAbuja, Public Relations Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am glad to hear you found our hotel suitable for business travelers and weekend getaways. Now that we’ve passed the test, please feel free to bring your family on your next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Very good stay at Hilton in Abuja. The best hotel for expat in this town. Services very good for Executives (Diamond) members. Safety, location, services overall very good. Some improvements in the TV reception, channel choices, plus state of plugs are needed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SholaAbuja, Public Relations Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for choosing Transcorp Hilton Abuja and for taking the time to share your experience.

I'm pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us. Our Chief Engineer has taken full ownership of your comments about the in-room TV reception, channels choices and the plugs with a view to improving our Guests experiences.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Best in town, but then the competition is a 1970s Sheraton and Protea (Marriott) with 50 rooms. For $300 plus, I expect exceptional service, but often water bottles are not placed in rooms, as they ought to be. This is popular place for its breadth of services, from the nominally well done food (the evening Shrimp BBQ buffet is one the few events in Abuja worth the price) to the gym (Crowded but with a nominally okay set of exercise equipment) and the pool is pretty good to meet people and have meetings. For the price, its average, but in the capital Abuja, doing the basics well counts for a lot, and I can see that the Hilton tries.

Room Tip: Stay away from pool side. But do ask for a top room for a view of Abuja.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SholaAbuja, Public Relations Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Transcorp Hilton Abuja and for taking the time to share your experience.

I am glad you rated out hotel the best in town. I am disappointed though that we did not suceed at exceeding your expecatations overall. Beyond our price, which I would crave your indulgence to say is competitive, we are focussed on creating value for money spent by our Guests. Permit me to also mention that we serve complimentary water in all our Guest rooms.

Once again, thank you for your views and we look forward to welcomimg you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

One the most expensive hotels I have ever stayed in in my 25 years of business-related travel, and some of the weakest service systems I have ever experienced. This was my first trip to Abuja and I ended up staying at the most expensive hotel on my company's hotel list. I did not realize how expensive it was and as it turned out, certainly not worth the price. The good news was that it seemed to have good security systems and given the threat of terrorism (including a car bomb in the city during my stay) that was helpful. But in terms of basic hotel services, the Abuja Hilton simply fails. I will not list all the failures here, but the most basic message is that they (hotel managers) should pay more attention to how their systems are designed to respond to basic services and client requests instead spending time trying to schmooze the customers. Extremely disappointing. I will certainly skip this hotel next time in Abuja.

Room Tip: Skip the hotel if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCNike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SholaAbuja, Public Relations Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for your recent stay with us at Transcorp Hilton Abuja and for taking a moment to leave a feedback.

I am disappointed we did not succeed at exceeding your expectations during your stay with us and I apologise for our failures and any inconveniences you might have experienced.

Please permit me to reiterate that we do not take delight in being perceived as expensive. On the contrary, our prices are competitive in our market and they are primarily driven by the cost of delivering services in our clime. But I would like to assure you that we are committed to making sure that our Guests get value for money spent in our hotel.

Once again, thank you for your views and we hope you will give us another opportunity of being of service to you when travel brings you back to Abuja.

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I would only say that the prices are VERY high, especially for the food. It was all good; but the prices were a bit shocking at first. The standard room was clean and comfortable. The internet did go down for a few hours, but it otherwise worked very well in the room. The fitness center was adequate, but cramped. The hotel's staff was very courteous and friendly. Security seemed adequate.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Chad Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SholaAbuja, Public Relations Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

I just wanted to thank you for your recent stay here at our hotel and for taking a moment to share your experience.

I’m so glad you were able to experience our warm Hilton hospitality and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abuja hotels
1 mi away
Sheraton Abuja Hotel
Sheraton Abuja Hotel
#5 of 85 in Abuja
474 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja
4.3 mi away
The Nordic Villa
The Nordic Villa
#3 of 85 in Abuja
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Nordic Hotel
Nordic Hotel
#2 of 85 in Abuja
169 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sandralia Hotel
Sandralia Hotel
#31 of 85 in Abuja
33 reviews
0 mi away
3J's Hotels
3J's Hotels
#12 of 85 in Abuja
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Transcorp Hilton Abuja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Transcorp Hilton Abuja

Address: 1 Aguiyi Ironsi St | Maitama, Abuja 900001, Nigeria
Phone Number:
Region: Nigeria > Abuja State > Abuja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Abuja
#4 Best Value Hotel in Abuja
Price Range: £139 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Transcorp Hilton Abuja 5*
Number of rooms: 670
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Nigeria's capital city in close proximity to government offices, business and diplomatic districts, Transcorp Hilton offers 670 art-deco style rooms and suites for the comfort of discernible travellers. The spacious, bright and airy rooms are complete with original artwork and have large windows with stunning city views. Catch up with work at the desk, check your emails with high-speed internet (fees apply), recline on the mini chaise lounge or simply re-energise in the marble bathroom. From local Nigerian and continental cuisines to themed international buffets, Transcorp Hilton offers a delightful culinary experience with 4 restaurants and 4 bars. The hotel boasts a hi-tech, 1200-persons capacity Congress Hall and 24 meeting rooms. All benefit from natural daylight and individually controlled air conditioning, creating an ideal location for board meetings, press conferences, receptions or private dining parties. The mezzanine and foyer areas surrounding the Congress Hall enjoy natural daylight and provide an ideal location for registration, exhibition or display area, refreshment, breakfast or pre dinner cocktails. For the fitness enthusiast, the hotel boasts a well-equipped fitness center including saunas, a large hexagonal outdoor swimming pool and children's wading pool, 3 tennis courts, 3 squash courts, volleyball and basketball courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Transcorp Hilton Abuja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Transcorp Hilton Abuja Hotel Abuja
Hilton International Abuja
Hilton Abuja
Abuja Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing