We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton Abuja”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Transcorp Hilton Abuja
Ranked #2 of 83 Hotels in Abuja
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Recently stayed at the Hilton , Abuja found the place pleasant, the staff very cheerful and helpful. Great place to stay when in Abuja for business. The immediate hotel surroundings are comfortable. The swim deck was quiet and relaxing

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SholaAbuja, Public Relations Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thanks for choosing to stay at our hotel and for taking a moment to share your experience.

We’re glad you had a taste of our warm, caring service (along with our relaxing swimming pool). We look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,094)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

717 - 723 of 1,094 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

The level of upkeep of furnishings, including carpets, throughout the hotel is abysmal and makes any guest feel uncomfortable. The hotel pretends to be a quality hotel and charges very high prices, but falls far short in terms of maintenance and cleanliness. After years of neglect the hotel urgently needs to invest in a thorough refurbishment.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SholaAbuja, Public Relations Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for choosing Transcorp Hilton for your recent stay in Abuja and for taking the time to leave a feedback.

I'm disappointed we did not exceed your expectations during your stay with us; I apologise for our failures and any inconveniences you might have experienced.

We are not unmindful of the age of our hotel and the need to upgrade the facilities and continually add value to our Guests' experiences. I am pleased to inform you that plans are at advanced stages to commence a major refurbishment of the hotel in order to upgrade the decor, furniture and fittings to the latest 21st century design standards.

Thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Team here is unrivalled from my Hilton experiences worldwide and its definitely a 1st choice in Abuja....on our just concluded awards held at the prestigious Congress hall, Not only did I experience as usual the very friendly team, but I had the experience of getting advise to suit my budget which I appreciate greatly. To feel at home when you are away from home is to be at the Hilton.

Room Tip: I am always in love with the Royal room.... very spacious....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vivian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SholaAbuja, Public Relations Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

I just wanted to thank you for your recent stay here at our hotel!

I'm so glad you were able to experience our authentic Hilton hospitality. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

You need to be careful around these parts so your hotel needs to be safe, secure and have everything you need for your trip. This hotel has everything you need under one roof, a lovely steak restaurant and nice pool area & bar. Very nice and good for business.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SholaAbuja, Public Relations Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Transcorp Hilton Abuja and for taking moment to share your experience.

I'm pleased you had an enjoyably stay with us and the security of hotel was to your liking. Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The Hotel is located in the central part of the city and as such is accessible to many places. The staff are respectful and caring. If you are looking for a place where u can bring your family to while you conduct your business, Transcorp Hilton is the place go be as the kids can play and use the pool area while you meet up at any of the lounges for your business and also hang out at the club and bars later at night. Its an all in one facility of some sort.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Okolie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SholaAbuja, Public Relations Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for the review of your recent stay at Transcorp Hilton Abuja.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and you were bowled over by the helpfulness and hospitality of our Team. Our swimming pool area was recently upgraded and I am glad you and your family enjoyed the time spent there. All of us at Hilton are passionate about hospitality and we hope to see you again soon.

Yours in Hospitality,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

the new '10' point brand promise has really caught on for virtually all staff at the Hilton, Abuja. I found them all to be confident, cheerful, courteous and helpful. The rooms though slightly dated from a furnishing and decorative standpoint are comfortable and relatively clean and the bathrooms are very well cared for. Strongly recommended for the avid business traveler. The gate entrance check should be strengthened though as no mechanized detection equipment is used by the vehicle inspectors who largely just 'eye ball' the interior of cars gaining access to the hotel grounds.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Modupe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SholaAbuja, Public Relations Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for your recent stay with us at Transcorp Hilton Abuja and for taking a moment to share your experience.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that our Team members delighted you with their Hospitality. I will surely let the Team Members know that they contributed towards making your stay enjoyable.

Your views on the security checks have been noted; we are constantly reviewing our security measures with a view to ensuring the safety and security of our Guests and Team Members.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This will be my last stay in the Transcorp Hilton, and it will not be visited again by any of my company colleagues either.

Vastly overpriced for an average hotel, with basic rooms, and dated decoration.

Food is far too expensive for what you get, and choice, in the pool bar at least, is very poor. Most street-side cafés anywhere else in the world offer better choice and value. Due to the local security problems (only one car bomb, and 62 people shot while I was there) it's better not to stray from the hotel, so it is like shooting fish in a barrel.

The hotel tries to make itself look as though it is better than it is, with smart uniforms for staff, but overall it appears that good customer service is a foreign concept here.

Coffee shop machine maintenance at 08:30 every morning, and 6200 NGN (£22/$38) for a continental breakfast, is unbelievable. Cooked breakfast costs 10% more than that.

I was only there for a week on this visit, and that was plenty. Twice, after ordering a basic meal at the pool bar, it would appear my order had been forgotten, and when the staff were reminded an hour after ordering, it only took a few minutes for the same basic meal to appear, although one of the meals brought had obviously been under hot lights the whole time.

One other time, the meal I was brought wasn't actually what I'd ordered, but after waiting for 3/4 of an hour, I wasn't in the mood to wait until it was corrected...

On mentioning the problems to the duty supervisor, it seemed that it didn't matter too much, and although there was an apology, that was as far as it went...

TV channels all have a very poor signal, and the intermittent narrow-band internet is also very pricey. (£60 for a week, or even more if you pay for a day at a time...)

'Do Not Disturb' signs on the door handle seem to be ignored by housekeeping, and phones can't be put in DND state either, so you can expect disturbance if you are hoping for some peace and quiet...

I stayed here 3 years ago, for 4 weeks, and it was acceptable then, although pricey, but it has gone quite downhill. Maximum profit, for minimum outlay, seems to be the aim of this hotel.

Checkout is best started on early evening of the day before departure, as it can take an hour to sort out clerical problems, and at 05:00, when trying to get to the airport, it's touch-and-go whether you will be in time for your flight, as your bill has to be 'finalised', even if nothing has been charged to the room since checkout....

I won't be back...

Room Tip: For a good room, select a different hotel, unless you have money to burn, and don't mind low sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerekReed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SholaAbuja, Public Relations Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for your recent stay with us at Transcorp Hilton Abuja and for taking a moment to share your experience.

I am disappointed we did not succeed at exceeding your expectations during your stay with us and I apologise for our failures and any inconveniences you might have experienced. I would like to assure of my best efforts to address the service gaps you highlighted with a view to improving our service delivery.

Permit me to mention that although our hotel was built over 27 years ago and furnished in the style of that period, we have consistently upgraded the facilities with the execution of planned refurbishment programs over the years. Plans have been finalised to commence a major refurbishment of the hotel soon.

I would also like to reiterate that our prices are competitive in our market and they are primarily a function of the cost of delivering service in our clime. However, we are committed to making sure that our Guests get value for money spent in our hotel.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we do hope you will give us another opportunity of being of service to you when travel brings you back to Abuja.

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abuja hotels
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Abuja Hotel
Sheraton Abuja Hotel
#5 of 83 in Abuja
457 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Nordic Villa
The Nordic Villa
#3 of 83 in Abuja
225 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Nordic Hotel
Nordic Hotel
#1 of 83 in Abuja
150 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sandralia Hotel
Sandralia Hotel
#24 of 83 in Abuja
31 reviews
4.3 mi away
SV Chrome
SV Chrome
#4 of 83 in Abuja
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Transcorp Hilton Abuja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Transcorp Hilton Abuja

Address: 1 Agui Ironsi St. | Maitama, Abuja 900271, Nigeria
Phone Number:
Region: Nigeria > Abuja State > Abuja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Abuja
#4 Best Value Hotel in Abuja
Price Range: £182 - £414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Transcorp Hilton Abuja 5*
Number of rooms: 670
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Nigeria's capital city in close proximity to government offices, business and diplomatic districts, Transcorp Hilton offers 670 art-deco style rooms and suites for the comfort of discernible travellers. The spacious, bright and airy rooms are complete with original artwork and have large windows with stunning city views. Catch up with work at the desk, check your emails with high-speed internet (fees apply), recline on the mini chaise lounge or simply re-energise in the marble bathroom. From local Nigerian and continental cuisines to themed international buffets, Transcorp Hilton offers a delightful culinary experience with 4 restaurants and 4 bars. The hotel boasts a hi-tech, 1200-persons capacity Congress Hall and 24 meeting rooms. All benefit from natural daylight and individually controlled air conditioning, creating an ideal location for board meetings, press conferences, receptions or private dining parties. The mezzanine and foyer areas surrounding the Congress Hall enjoy natural daylight and provide an ideal location for registration, exhibition or display area, refreshment, breakfast or pre dinner cocktails. For the fitness enthusiast, the hotel boasts a well-equipped fitness center including saunas, a large hexagonal outdoor swimming pool and children's wading pool, 3 tennis courts, 3 squash courts, volleyball and basketball courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Transcorp Hilton Abuja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Transcorp Hilton Abuja Hotel Abuja
Hilton International Abuja
Hilton Abuja
Abuja Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing