We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best food but deserve a better service .”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Masala Wahala

Masala Wahala
Ranked #5 of 115 Restaurants in Abuja
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Masala Wahala is a subsidiary of Nkoyo. Located at Ceddi Plaza, our main purpose is to serve beautifully cooked South Indian food in the heart of Abuja. We have dishes to cater for different tastes. Seafood Dishes, Meat and Poultry and also vegetarian options. The atmosphere of the restaurant is sophisticated and inviting. We pride ourselves in our clean open kitchen to entertain and ensure our customers that their meals are prepared with the utmost respect and in standard conditions. The restaurant is being run by professionals, people with experience in the culinary world. Our friendly staff will cater to your needs and serve you with the kindest regard.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best food but deserve a better service .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

Masala wahala is located in the centre of Abuja . The food here is amazing , but the staffs are confused . May be due to the food because they are not used to. But over all experience was very good. They have a bar also with best cocktails from town.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tapan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    45
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Almost Authentic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

The food here is pretty good, but I was very surprised to discover that the restaurant is missing two very basic staples of South Indian cuisine: idli and Madras coffee.

I've never been to a South Indian restaurant before that is missing those two items. However, this is Africa and it's great that Abuja even has a South Indian restauran. I will continue to dine here to get my South Indian food fix and to enjoy the nice atmosphere and decor.

Tip: Go during the day to enjoy the skylights.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank AveryJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Tasty South Indian starters in central Abuja”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

A warm welcome awaits as you pass from the unlovely interior of the Ceddi Plaza shopping centre into this tastefully decorated, open-plan restaurant. A pianist was playing the night we ate there, adding to the ambience. He even continued throughout the darkness of a power cut!

The starters were amazing. I recommend the mini dosas, and I've never before in my life seen or eaten cashew fritters: a must. We were less impressed with the mains. The cocktails weren't very strong, but then again, they weren't very expensive!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AdamusLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludhiana, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Ambience but Ok Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Centrally Located in the City.
Has a nice ambience with good piano being played.
Service Waiters are warm and cordial in behavior.
Food was disappointing considering the reviews.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IndianTravellerZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
133 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Lovely place, Fresh and Interesting food, Very good Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

If you live in Nigeria, or at least frequent it, you know that getting really good service is just about impossible.
Finding a restaurant with really good food isn't easy either.
And finding a place that's pleasant, clean, nicely decorated and actually has some ambiance - well that's really rare.
So finding all 3 in one place was wonderful!
Been back 3 or 4 times already, sent all my friends, too.
The chicken pieces in yogurt (forgot the name) is a great starter, as are the crab samosas.
Grated paneer with spices is an excellent vegeterian dish.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaBeNa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Masala Wahala also viewed

 
Abuja, Abuja State
 

Been to Masala Wahala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing