We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uncomfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Reiz Continental Hotel
Ranked #6 of 83 Hotels in Abuja
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Uncomfortable”
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Staff were mostly polite and friendly. Room was ok.... except that the bed was rock-hard (like trying to sleep on a table) and the air conditioner was so loud that it was impossible to sleep with it on (and would get too hot if you tried to sleep with it off).

Wireless internet didn't work in the room. It was variable in the lobby, if you ask you can get the password for the "lobby" wireless which seems to be a stronger signal than the general building-wide unsecured one.

Restaurant was bad, and I got food poisoning even just from breakfast.

The pool appears to have been closed since 2010.

When I came back the second week, I picked a different hotel.

One plus though: when I left my laptop charger there by accident, they sent an email to me letting me know, and I was able to pick it up a few days later when back in Abuja.

Room Tip: My third floor room didn't get wireless internet, but my colleague on the second floor seemed to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    20
    15
    5
    0
See reviews for
2
2
6
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Darmstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Clean, friendly staff, nice breakfast (mixed: Nigerian & intercontinental), good room size, very good price. Good choice if you're following security recommendation to not use the big international hotels in Abuja.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrice_T_GER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Have stayed regularly at Reiz over the past few years. The rooms are quite spacious and reasonably equipped. The hotel has a coffee shop, restaurant, bar, and pool. The restaurant serves buffet dinners, it makes sense to go ala carte as this is a cheaper option. The kitchen works slow and waiting time can be lenghty (place your order, ask the waiter to call when food is ready, go back to your room). The pool is small and can be rather crowded at weekends.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GadaGong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abuja
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

The hotel is good for the money and the staffs are very polite. The bed and the pillows are very hard and gave me neck pain on my first night. I complained about it the follwing morning and they immediately gave me soft pillows.

Please stay away from eating in this hotel. I became sick on my second day and I am still sick 2days after checking out. I never eat in any other place during my stay in the hotel.

I really would love to return but I am now so scared of the food poisoning.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cyberdom N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washingtondc
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

I'm an expat and I periodically work in Nigeria. I feel secure and safe in Abuja and in Lagos for that matter. But the recent rash of terrorists attacks by Islamic fundamentalist on the UN and Nigerian government buildings forces one to think carefully about living and working arrangements. According to recent warnings by the US Embassy in Abuja, the two main hotels favored by the expatriate community, the Sheraton and the Hilton, may be considered targets for terrorists attacks. This gives me another reason to shun the big hotels in favor of the small boutique hotels in Abuja, of which there are several, the Reiz Continental among them. This is an adquate, clean and secure hotel which primarily serves a Nigerian clientele. The number of expats staying here is increasing; I hope not so many that this place will become a target like the Hilton. The price is right, the location fine. I am still not crazy about the food but I typically eat out at night or have a simple room service meal like the Nigerian pepper soup which I love. I continue to endorse this hotel. I will try some of the other small independent hotels and review them as well.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank timhrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

The hotel was surprisingly good. It was clean, the service was good and food was ok though very monotonous. Compared to the Sheraton towers in Abuja though this hotel was like a dream (read my review of the Abuja Sheraton).

They had complimentary tea,coffee etc which was replaced daily and all the electrical appliances worked. The hot water seemed to run out though. The air conditioning was fine but the bed was......i really cant say except that it was uncomfortable. I did not use the hotel internet as it did not work while I was there and also I did not make use of room service. All in all it was a good experience

The hotel is centrally located but it is a bit difficult to get taxi in the evenings except you use the car hire service which is thrice the price is the regular ones.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irinajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abuja
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2011

The hotel was very good. The staff were kind and the food was delicious. The hotel provided very good taxis and the hotel was enerally quite clean. the hotel had ai conditio on 24/7 and hot water . I would come there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GabriellaAbuja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abuja hotels
4.3 mi away
The Nordic Villa
The Nordic Villa
#3 of 83 in Abuja
212 reviews
1.7 mi away
Transcorp Hilton Abuja
4.4 mi away
SV Chrome
SV Chrome
#4 of 83 in Abuja
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Nordic Hotel
Nordic Hotel
#1 of 83 in Abuja
136 reviews
4.1 mi away
3J's Hotels
3J's Hotels
#11 of 83 in Abuja
29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Towers Hotel
Grand Towers Hotel
#31 of 83 in Abuja
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reiz Continental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reiz Continental Hotel

Property: Reiz Continental Hotel
Address: Plot 779, Cadastral Zone AO | Central Business District, Abuja 905102, Nigeria
Region: Nigeria > Abuja State > Abuja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 83 Hotels in Abuja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Reiz Continental Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Reiz Continental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing