We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard hotel with beautiful pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Creolia Saint-Denis La Reunion
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Saint-Denis
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Standard hotel with beautiful pool”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Reception was friendly but was unable to offer recommendations for dinner and shopping in the city.
Rooms had a surprisingly dark brown paintjob on the walls, furniture was dark as well. We did not expect this from a room on La Reunion, especially after seeing the pool and outside of the hotel. Bathroom was nice and clean.
Construction going on across our room which started at 07:00 in the morning.
Difficulties finding the hotel after getting back to St. Denis at night. No proper maps provided by the reception. Would recommend a GPS.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    263
    120
    48
    9
See reviews for
71
196
40
207
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stopped here overnight on the way home from Mauritius.
The hotel was far from the air port (travel consultant problem)
The room decor was outdated, bathroom not that clean and quite small, breakfast selection average.
Foyer area quite dark. Noisy nightclub over night.
English speaking concierge.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
382 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

The first face on arrival made an impression - receptionist Philippe, always cheerful, always happy to help and always good for a quick chat on anything to do with 'his' island, and in good English!
Hence, check in was quick, key card handed over once the forms were signed and I was on my way to my room, non smoking as requested. This is not a hotel where you find slippers and bath robes, or have porters stand by or a concierge at your beck and call but it does provide all one needs for a few days stay, be it on business or for conferences, even to start or end a tour of the island as a tourist.
Located half way up one of Reunion's slopes in the capital St. Denis, the view is sweeping, across the city and over the ocean and in part at least also up the mountains.
The rooms are equipped with all essentials, especially added sockets available to plug in chargers and laptop AT ONCE, and the internet, at times a little intermittent, worked generally just fine and was free. All equipment worked, all lamps did too speaking for housekeeping doing their job well. I moved the electric kettle from the desk to avoid an accident with my ever open laptop and cameras downloading videos and pictures but it allowed me to have tea for my overnight work session and creamer and sugar / sweetener were always in generous supply. Admittedly, and with no objection from the dining room staff, I did take a pot of fresh milk to my room and kept it in the fridge to make a decent cuppa.
The large pool area presented itself deserted most of the time, perhaps because the often stiff breeze from the ocean hit the pool deck in a frontal way, making it maybe a shade uncomfortable to sunbath or else come out of the water wet and getting blue lips before reaching the towels.
Breakfast was the most enjoyable meal of the day, a wide selection of cereals, fruits, cold cuts and French cheese plus the hot dishes, and of course the bread ... original French baguettes ... the aroma of coffee filled the dining room in the morning like in a French bistro, making this tea drinker wonder what he might miss.
Dinner though ... on arrival with a Nigerian colleague we were just among a handful of guests and while the food, when it came, was tasty, well presented and PLENTY it took a while to get this all into gear. Getting the bill was another issue to the point of finding it pushed under my room door to sign in retrospect, which I did.
The next day though, with the hotel on the full side, the waiters clearly struggled to serve meals and offering a buffet might have solved those issues. The presence of a manager might have helped but alas, none was seen. In his or her absence, self help was called for and at least our table of 5 had bread and butter procured 'directly' from the service area, while starter and main course staggered along.
This notwithstanding, I did enjoy the stay and the staff, all of them, were friendly and warm, if not always in full command of the English language, a challenge the entire island seems to be working on as they try to attract more international tourists - 80+ percent right now come from mainland France.
It is a hotel where that half or three quarter star would come in handy as it is way above 3 star but not quite up to the four star level, internationally speaking. I had read reviews of past guests and found the safe working, the mattresses firm and fabrics and fittings 'current'. Overall a good stay and yes, I would return again, armed with the knowledge how to make those small issues I mentioned work.
And on check out again, thank you Philippe for having my bill ready to sign and get on the bus without delay.

Room Tip: There are larger rooms on every floor, not quite suites but larger anyway, a good choice to have a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Safariafficionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This hotel has a bit of everything and is well situated on this beautiful island. The rooms have all of the amenities you need, such as free Wifi, a mini fridge, air conditioning that's quiet. If you need an iron and ironing board, they will be happy to bring you one. The breakfast buffet is lovely, and a wonderful surprise was how beautifully the food looks on the plates at dinner. The hotel offers good value and is the perfect place if you're here on business.

Room Tip: Many of the rooms have a nice view, but you might request the best view of the ocean or pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BeaBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The Mercure Saint Denis is located on the hillside, a ten minute taxi from the city centre and 20 minutes from the airport. We hired a car and the hotel had plenty of parking available. The hotel is quite dated and has had minor refurbishments completed.

The highlight of this hotel is the view but that's about all. The staff are friendly but speak very limited English. Our room was on the fourth floor and had a small balcony with a brilliant view. The surface on the floor in the rooms is terrible, it feels like you're in a hospital and not a hotel room. Our room had a small LCD TV, kettle and bar fridge (that barely worked). The bed was ok but the pillows were not nice. The bathroom was straight out of 1980's with the old fashioned ginormous hairdryer on the wall!

The pool is unheated and we didn't see a single person use it during our stay. There is not much around the hotel, a taxi is required if you want to head out for dinner etc. There are not many international branded hotels in Saint Denis but if you're after something post 1980 look around.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evandstace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We have now stayed here in the last 3 weeks o two separate occcasions for a total of three nights. It was chosen of a place to stay due to its proximity to the airpiot.

Sadly the rooms are quite tired!. Sometimes no in room safe, beds that resmble the shape of hammocks, and showers that leak so much that you spend more time cleaning up the floor that having a shower.

The restaurant is fine as is the bar. The pool is pleasant (to at least look at!) but we have not had an apporprite time to use it as it has been blowing an absolute gale on both of the occasions that we were here.

Room Tip: Not a lot of hotels to choose from in St Denis so this may be a necessary choice. You could consider...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Remington93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easton, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
95 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Though the Mercure Creolia is darn hard to get to (get yourself a good map) up in the hills above St. Denis, it’s got lovely views, decent rooms, and good service. It’s more along the lines of a European three-star hotel than a ****, but it has a very nice restaurant and that counts for something, even if the room wasn’t anything special and the internet was incredibly slow in the evening. It’s not a hotel to get particularly excited about, but Reunion doesn’t have Mauritius’s cavalcade of luxury resorts anyway. Plus the price was very decent for the July night I spent there, and being only 5 minutes from St. Denis and 15 from the airport was quite nice.

All things considered, the Hotel Mercure is a solid option. Nothing to rhapsodize about, but quite decent as far as Reunion options go.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Denis
1.4 mi away
Hotel Bellepierre
Hotel Bellepierre
#1 of 12 in Saint-Denis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
2.1 mi away
Le Juliette Dodu
Le Juliette Dodu
#2 of 12 in Saint-Denis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
20.1 mi away
LUX* Saint Gilles
LUX* Saint Gilles
#1 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Tulip Inn Sainte Clotilde La Reunion
2.3 mi away
Best Western Le Saint Denis
Best Western Le Saint Denis
#9 of 12 in Saint-Denis
3.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Angelique
Villa Angelique
#4 of 12 in Saint-Denis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Creolia Saint-Denis La Reunion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Creolia Saint-Denis La Reunion

Property: Mercure Creolia Saint-Denis La Reunion
Address: 14 Rue du Stade Montgaillard | 14 rue du Stade Montgaillard 97400 Saint-Denis - Ile de La Réunion, Saint-Denis 97400, Reunion Island
Region: Reunion Island > Arrondissement of Saint-Denis > Saint-Denis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Saint-Denis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Creolia Saint-Denis La Reunion 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
107 Rooms hotel including superior, luxury and 2 disabled rooms. Located near the airport, the city center and overhanging St Denis bay. The hotel features a restaurant, bar, swimming pool with terrace, jacuzzi and fitness center. The Mercure Creolia offers a piano bar with good atmosphere each day of the week and thematic evenings with entertainment around the pool. Also offers 7 meeting rooms (300 people). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Creolia Saint-Denis La Reunion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Creolia Saint-Denis La Reunion Hotel Saint-Denis
Mercure Saint Denis
Accor Saint Denis
Mercure Creolia Saint-Denis La Reunion Reunion Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing