We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel I have ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Top Tower Hotel Kigali
Ranked #38 of 49 Hotels in Kigali
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Overpriced and dreadful in summary.

Appears to be a converted office block. Worst thing is there is no hot water whatsoever. There is not even a hot tap in the sink. The shower was not even tepid it was freezing cold. The food was dreadful and they did not even have most things on the very limited menu. No napkins at breakfast which was very poor - juice was poor quality and disgusting - not what you expect for what they charge.

No remote for the television. Noisy empty fridge in the room. Air conditioning noisy and ineffective for such a big room with large windows and was held together with sticking tape. Curtains hanging off and did not cover the windows properly.

Management notable by its absence.

The staff seemed underpaid and undertrained. I suspect there is a lot of fraud as they said the printers don't work and so you were unable to charge anything to your room.

I would recommend the Umubano just down the road which seemed much nicer in comparison.

I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrahamN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

We needed a nice hotel for a few days to relax in after a hard month traveling. The reviews for this place were mixed, but I took them with a grain of salt. Glad I did. This may not rate a full 4-star rating as advertised, but apparently it did at one time. It is a touch of Faded Glory dusted off for today.
The rooms are big, showers are hot and full, fixtures are all modern. You can see signs of tarnish in the walls and carpet, but upkeep is ongoing. The beds are hard, not the soft comforting mattresses I was hoping for, but that's nothing unusual here. The floor-to-ceiling, wall-to-wall glass wall overlooking the city is it's biggest plus. Great view. And the over-sized rooms make you feel comfortable, especially if you're used to bunking up in shoebox-sized hotel rooms.
Food is okay, nothing stunning, but there are many better restaurants around to make up for it. Breakfast left much to be desired, but we didn't come for the breakfast.
At $155/night, it was okay. I was expecting a little bit more for the money, but it was sufficient.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Disgusting! I was booked in here for a business trip and was shocked to see the hotel and rooms are nothing like the website photos. There was damp in the room, paint peeling off ceiling. Only 2 lamps in a huge room, no ceiling lights so room is dark, Toilet smells like a public bathroom. There is nothing Luxury about this place, even if the hotel website says so and definitely not worth $120. I checked in and 20 mins later checked out and moved to the Umubano hotel down the road. Can't compare!!!

Room Tip: Only tip... find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SA_Business_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We spent nearly a week in this hotel and the only plus was the helpful, friendly, and largely efficient staff. Apart from that, there is NO hot water so cold showers all around. We paid a substantial amount for our room but not only did the shower not work (despite several complaints), but nor did the airconditioning. Everything is run down - the mini fridge (no bar to speak of) was empty of everything but ice and unidentified scum. The bathroom sink was smeared with grease; even the glasses in the bathroom had toothpaste stains. The bed was comfortable but the linen was stained and had holes in; so too the towels. Even the carpet was dulled by the sun and other marks; when we arrived it had not even been properly vacuumed. These kind of standards might work in a cheap backpackers but in a three star hotel charging high rates, this is not acceptable. Avoid at all costs! As we found out after we left, there are plenty of other great hotels and B&Bs in this wonderful city.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank AussieVisitor123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteltoptower, General Manager at Top Tower Hotel Kigali, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Dear AussieVisitor123,

Thank you very much for providing constructive feedback regarding your stay with us.

We regret for the inconvenience caused by assigning you a room that was not ready.

We are sorry that you felt the staff didn’t acknowledge and resolve the issue; obviously something went really wrong and we were unable to be aware it on time and correct it.

Comments such as yours help us identify shortfalls in services provided and assist us to plan and correct future mistakes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

pro's:
- friendly staff eager to please and help out
- spacious rooms
- food fair to excellent
- housekeeping/cleaning very good
- good air conditioning (when it works - mine was fine recently)
- bed was comfy
- many rooms have views
- top floor bar
con's
- more than well worn - desperately needs a fix up (it's like the hotel that forgot maintenance)
- eager staff can't always fix things
- wifi erratic and a hassle - though consistently OK in lobby area
- very odd layout (perhaps designed as office building?)
- no outside space for dinning or relaxing
- bathrooms oddly small compared to room sizes

Tips:
- make sure the a/c in your room is working before you unpack
- hot water in most baths has a heater that must be switched on (over toilet) otherwise cold shower
- ask for custom eggs or omelette at breakfast - omelettes very good
- Cafe Magda in rear of office building diagonally across street - very good food, fab espresso and decent wifi - nice people!
- if in Kigali more than a few days consider bring/buying usb cell modem and buy local sim - got package including usb modem 5gb data for about $45 usd from MTN - pretty zippy

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BostonJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Booking into our room was very easy and reception staff were nice, however, after getting our corner room the disappointment starts. It was about 40 degrees in the room and the air con did not work, there is no mini bar as stated (there is a mini fridge) and really it's just a great big massive boring room. The windows are tacked with some sort of ugly plastic and a few windows open but not very much and the curtains are in need of attention. Would have thought for a "luxury" hotel, they'd have a swimming pool...my fault for not checking though. The heat was too much in that room, so we asked to be moved. The second room was even worse. Dirty floors, someone else's floss stuck to my foot (disgusting), equally as hot if not worse, although, air con was better if you sat under it, no pillow cases on the bed so yellow stained pillows on display, enough to make anyone uneasy about a hotel. Rang reception half hour ago but nothing yet. Ordered lunch in the crystal bar and the guy named Innocent was wonderful, although from the menu the only thing we could order was a club sandwich. We have had cold showers just waiting for the casino to open so we can win our US $320 back and leave.
I have been in Tanzania volunteering in an orphanage for 2 months, I am not a bad person. I really just wanted somewhere nice to enjoy with a hint of luxury for 2 nights and at US$160 a night, I thought i would get that here. So disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnaLouiseStapleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteltoptower, General Manager at Top Tower Hotel Kigali, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Dear Mrs. Stapleton,

Thank you very much for providing constructive feedback regarding your stay with us.

We deeply regret the issues you experienced. Albeit the Hotel was fully booked, you should have not been assigned a room that was not ready, as it is among those we are currently re-modeling. We are sorry that you felt the staff didn’t acknowledge and resolve the issue; we will review our internal procedures so this doesn’t happen again in the future.

As stated in the email we sent you on the day you left, we thank you for pointing out various improvement areas in your comments. Comments such as yours help us identify shortfalls in services provided and assist us to plan and correct future mistakes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The reception area and bar creates a lovely impression that unfortunately, does not carry on through the rest of the hotel. the rooms are very large and spacious and ours had a lovely view, however they are in need of some TLC, water damage on the ceiling and marks on the walls, a panel in the window was also broken.
I did feel the price was slightly too high despite the fact breakfast was included.
staff are friendly enough though service is slow. we had to wait over 30 minutes for our safe to be fixed, making us late for our day.
the hotel is not near the town centre so you will be reliant on taxi's / moto-taxi's.
you have to request the use of the WiFi despite the fact it is included in the price and it isn't the best connection.
overall ,a comfortable room in a quite hotel, just not luxurious.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tobes2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kigali hotels
1.2 mi away
CityBlue Hotel & Suites, Embassy Row
0.3 mi away
Lemigo Hotel
Lemigo Hotel
#15 of 49 in Kigali
217 reviews
0.5 mi away
Five to Five Hotel
Five to Five Hotel
#12 of 49 in Kigali
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Kigali Serena Hotel
Kigali Serena Hotel
#3 of 49 in Kigali
762 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#10 of 49 in Kigali
183 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Convention Centre, Kigali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Top Tower Hotel Kigali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top Tower Hotel Kigali

Address: KG 7th Avenue | Kacyiru, Kigali, Rwanda
Region: Rwanda > Kigali Province > Kigali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 49 Hotels in Kigali
Hotel Class:3 star — Top Tower Hotel Kigali 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Top Tower Hotel Kigali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing