We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its ok, but not great. Not poor but also not quite average.”
Review of Galaxy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Galaxy Hotel
Ranked #29 of 119 Kigali B&B and Inns
Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Its ok, but not great. Not poor but also not quite average.”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I hate to give this hotel a poor rating, cause its really not bad. They are just not living up to their own potential. The staff are all very friendly and very helpful. The rooms are huge, but outdated and not very clean. Furniture is a trip back to the seventies. The facilities are adequate, but the hotel could do with some restoration. Just minor adjustments, clean it up a bit and put in some new furniture. The restaurants are ok, but not great. The pool looked nice, but at closer look needed a pool boy to keep it clean. It is a pity, cause I really liked my trip to Kigali. The hotel was just not as good as I hoped it would have been.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    21
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
1
2
2
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Galaxy hotel is in a leafy suburb of Kigali. It seems the owners had good ideas but there were some shortcuts in execution. I liked the bed as it was firm and cushy..I also liked they have changed the bulbs to warm daylight which makes the rooms cozy. They do not provide shower caps and tv channels are limited. They have cheap looking mosquito nets that feel claustrophobic due to tightly hugging the bed. Their showers have 2 heads that seem pointless since there is no way to individually control each. I enjoyed their chefs choice salad by the poolside restaurant and the house wine. It is ideal for short budget stays. Staff are helpful

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Was my first time in Rwanda and I must say it was an enjoyable experience and staying at this hotel made it worthwhile.
Friendly and helpful staff, comfortable suites, good conference facilities.
I will definitely be staying here whenever I come to Rwanda.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank phinney28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kigali, Rwanda
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Golden Hills is a wonderful little hotel in the upper price range for Kigali. It has been redone by new ownership within the last year or so and got a lot nicer as a result. The service is excellent and the staff and location were also both great.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardSWSWSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herndon, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I stayed at the Galaxy Hotel (until December, 2013 known as The Golden Hills Hotel) the first 2 weeks of February, 2014. This is my 10th stay at the hotel in the past 4 years. A few changes have occurred since the new owner took over, but the hotel has not changed significantly for the better. New furniture has been purchased for some of the spaces (lobby, restaurant by the pool, some rooms), and the stairs up to the pool/restaurant have been made to be less slippery than before. Many of the staff have been retained, but there are some new faces. Wifi is still an issue - each floor has it's own password, but really, for any consistency you must hook up at the pool or in the lobby, which makes it difficult to use Skype or Facetime privately. Hot water is an ongoing problem. With this visit I had no hot water for 11 days, though I requested that the hotel staff look into this repeatedly. When trying to turn on the shower I had my choice of handheld sprayer, overhead shower head or tub faucet. Each day was a new adventure in which 2 spigots would actually work. Least often was the overhead shower head, and never when in the hot water position. Frequently the plumbing has odor issues coming from the floor drains in the bathrooms. I

Food is the same as always here. A large breakfast buffet with hot dishes, fruit, breads and an omelet station. For dinners, pasta dishes are still a time management problem - plan on waiting a minimum of one hour for any dish including pasta. In general, because the kitchen is small and has limited cooking surfaces, you will wait quite some time for your order. Salad options will not come any quicker, so just plan to relax with a drink and do request cocktail peanuts for the table. I do feel comfortable eating the raw vegetables in the salads at this hotel, as we have been told, in prior visits, that they use filtered water to wash their fruits and vegetables.

Though the hotel itself has shortcomings, the staff are extremely friendly and as helpful as they can be. I always receive a warm welcome upon my return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S1traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

This pricey hotel is located in a great location within walking distance of a local shopping center and just around the corner from the Mille Collines hotel. The room I stayed in was large and met American standards. One of the few hotels that have air conditioning. The room also had a safe and mini fridge. The bed is the most comfortable I have ever had in Rwanda. Most hotel beds are too firm and not good for sleeping. They have a really fine breakfast buffet every morning. For a fine hotel, I would recommend the Golden Hills.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gumshoe2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Had a very pleasant stay at Golden Hills Hotel - its a perfect place to do business but wouldnt recommend it for a holiday. The staff are charming. The only issues i had was that there are no decent channels to watch any telly and the wifi is a bit slow. Also the breakfast isnt great apart from the fruit. Apart from that very content with my stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emilia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kigali hotels
0.1 mi away
Heaven Restaurant & Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Des Mille Collines
0.4 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kigali, Rwanda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#10 of 48 in Kigali
165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iris Guesthouse
Iris Guesthouse
#12 of 48 in Kigali
99 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ubumwe Grande Hotel
Ubumwe Grande Hotel
#11 of 48 in Kigali
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galaxy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galaxy Hotel

Property: Galaxy Hotel
Address: KN 25 Street 7, Kiyovu, Kigali 1992, Rwanda (Formerly Golden Hills Hotel)
Region: Rwanda > Kigali Province > Kigali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Kigali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Galaxy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galaxy Hotel Rwanda is a premier hotel offering comfortable accommodation in the heart of Kigali city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Galaxy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing