We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor safety standards”
Review of The Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Manor Hotel
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in Kigali
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
127 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Poor safety standards”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The Manor hotel, well set out on a rising hill, looked splendid in its rich splendour.
I was there for a Gala Dinner with professional friends and after a sumptuous meal and relaxing environment, some of my colleagues got trapped in the panoramic lift. This is not out of place but the bizarre discovery was that there was no maintenance engineer on site and the door release key of the lift was nowhere to be found despite an admission by one of the staff that the lift had previously exhibited similar dangerous fits in operation.
The manager just simply disappeared from the scene and the staff (even the senior ones) were trading someone else off as the manager. Nobody was willing to call the Fire Service, not even the Manager when i eventually found him. Very strange!
It was a terrible half hour nightmare completely unexpected of such a high profile facility.
The staff eventually forced open the lift doors and let the poor ladies and gentlemen out.
Anxious ending to a beautiful night out.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Akin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baraka M, Marketing Executive at The Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Guest;
Thank you for your review and good description of our hotel;
What you experienced is not characteristic of the level of service we are striving to provide, and we do apologize that your stay ended that way.
Your feedback was shared with our team, and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and exceed your expectations.”
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    64
    23
    9
    6
See reviews for
10
18
13
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

If service means a lot to you. This is a place that will bend over backwards to give you the best. Daniel head of reservations and concierge gives me hope that this continent actually can impress me with 1st class & 1st world service.

My only 'complaint' is breakfast. Otherwise there's a gym, large comfy beds a tv, aircon & bar fridge and 3 choices of on-site restaurants.

very happy customer

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moorzinio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baraka M, Marketing Executive at The Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Guest,

We enjoyed every minute we were with you!

Thank you for the good recommendation:
We have taken a note on the mentioned complain, and we promise this will not happen again:

Once again thank you and Welcome again to The Manor Hotel:
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

When I visited Kigali, I wasn't sure of a place to stay till a colleague suggested that I stay there. At the time I wanted to stay in Serena but it was all booked. Am happy I got to stay at The Manor as the place exceeded my expectations. Service was excellent and the staff were courteous and friendly.

The food was awesome especially breakfast and wouldn't go anywhere else to spend my night, when am in Kigali.

What can I say - I Love the place!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Primrose118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baraka M, Marketing Executive at The Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Guest!
Thank you very much for your appreciation.
It was our pleasure to be with you.
Hope to meet you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I recently stayed at the Manor Hotel in Kigali, to say the least it exceeded all my expectations. Service was excellent, The views from the room - outstanding, amenities such as gym, entertainment areas and my pick of either Chinese, Indian or Rwandan restaurants blew my mind. The food was nothing short of fantastic. Overall as a frequent traveler to Rwanda I would definitely stay in the Manor again and again. It exceeded all my hopes and it's service matched its exterior beauty. I recommend to all travelers both business and pleasure to definitely stay at the Manor.I found a balanced stay with as much as from business or pleasure, an excellent choice for any traveler whom wishes the best from their stay in Kigali Idan Raphaely ,

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with the balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Idan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kigali
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I have been visiting and spending my time in Kigali, but i knew less about the Manor Hotel.
My friend Hillary invited me for a weekend outing at the Manor Hotel, there was kinda of fashion show.
I was impressed first at its location which is at one of the posh street of Kigali, very quite, then the night view of Kigali city viewed from one of the large Indian restaurant.
I changed from Hotel des Millecoline where i was to the Manor.
I was told the hotel has just been given 4stars decor and still new.
As if to make sure that i will come back, was asked more than once where i think they should improve.
I really liked it, for those who love privacy and quiteness i do recommend The Manor Hotel.
en route to Goma pray for me

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islamabad, Pakistan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I stayed in Aug 2013 during 3 working days. Hotel is situated in a posh area, it has nice interior, excellent views from windows (insist on front side rooms), and food is excellent. Room rents are reasonable, staff is accommodating and I was happy with the overall feel of the hotel. Internet always worked, there is a pool on the front side, most of the things are very good about this hotel.

Some rooms are small in size but the cleanliness and good atmosphere compensates for it. I would recommend this hotel to business travellers.

Room Tip: Opt for a front side room, you will have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank usmanabhatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Stayed at Manor hotel for 3 nights End July 2013. I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the rooms and the hotel itself. it has a stunning view and three different restaurants to choose from. I had a chance to spend the sunday at leisure enjoying the view, sunday buffet and a swim. service was excellent and prompt. located in a quiet posh side of the city. its a bit away from the centre, but theres pretty much no traffic in kigali so moving around was pretty easy!

definately coming back for business/holiday trip!!

Room Tip: I chose the ground floor room right next to the pool facing the scenic view. Only problem was that a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chirags2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kigali hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel Des Mille Collines
2.9 mi away
Kigali Serena Hotel
Kigali Serena Hotel
#1 of 47 in Kigali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
2.4 mi away
Heaven Restaurant & Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Five to Five Hotel
Five to Five Hotel
#14 of 47 in Kigali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Convention Centre, Kigali
2.8 mi away
Kigali Marriott Hotel
Kigali Marriott Hotel
#5 of 47 in Kigali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor Hotel

Property: The Manor Hotel
Address: Nyarutarama | 64 KG 552 ST, Kigali, Rwanda
Phone Number:
Region: Rwanda > Kigali Province > Kigali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in Kigali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting grandly in Kigali, within close proximity to Kigali's most exclusive addresses. A two minute walking distance from the golf club, five minutes drive from the Genocide Memorial Center and a ten minutes walk from Rwanda's newest landmark the Kigali Convention Center. At The Manor Hotel, the magnificent décor and the contemporary design of the lobby welcomes you to an experience to remember.. Our rooms are tastefully designed with an emphasis on comfort and style. Chic and contemporary, the bedrooms come complete with state of the art amenities including complimentary broadband and Wi-Fi, LCD TV with international and satellite channels, Air conditioned rooms, minibar, and room service. The Manor Hotel has three gourmet restaurants and a roof top Bar. Choose from mouth-watering Indian and Pakistani cuisine at Shere Sardar Restaurant or a quintessentially English tradition of afternoon tea at Marcos Restaurant & Lounge. Where you can find Italian and continental cuisine to choose from. If that is not enough to choose from why not try or famous Chinese cuisine at Silks restaurant The O'connells Bar and pub offers a selection of alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and appetisers in a stylish atmosphere. Home to a fitness centre, sauna, steam room, , swimming pool, and Spa at The Manor Hotel is a beautiful sanctuary of wellness and fitness, offering Hair cuts and hair treatments, facial, body treatments and massages by talented therapists. The Manor Hotel has two meetings and events rooms. The meeting and events rooms, one of Kigali luxury event spaces, is an ideal venue for a business meeting, private dinner, grand ceremony or wedding. Shere Sardar or Marcos is a perfect venue for a more intimate event. * Please note that the check-in time is 10:00am and check-out time is 11:00am. An early check in or late check out can be requested depending on availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing