We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pervectly good business hotel”
Review of Lemigo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lemigo Hotel
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in Kigali
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Pervectly good business hotel”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

I stayed at the Lemigo hotel for 3 nights on a business trip and had a perfectly pleasant stay. My room was a large double room overlooking the pool. Air conditioning worked, flat screen TV, security box, dressing gown and hotel slippers, mini bar and table and chairs. The bed was very comfortable and the room was cleaned every day. It is an old 4 star hotel and feels a bit like an old Spanish 3 star hotel but reasonably priced at $200USD per night.

The staff are very friendly but slow and not multi taskers . The bar overlooks the pool and is open late however, the food is very average but reasonably priced There is also good internet connectivity most of the time

I would stay here again as it is good value everything works at a reasonable price, which for Africa is a bonus. I would not stay here if I was in Rwanda on holiday unless it was for 1 night before a lodge transfer

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelman34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    73
    65
    11
    9
See reviews for
9
27
15
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Great place overall, just a block away from the new convention center under construction (never heard a peep from the site). They have live music a couple nights a week also. The food was overall pretty good, though I did have a burnt lasagna more than once. The cleaning staff is great, the front desk helpful, but for clarity, speak to Ben the GM, he's a great guy and is sincerely interested in making your stay a nice one. The wait staff, much like most of Africa, doesn't understand why tips are given, or how to wait on customers. You tell them one thing and they're off, don't wait and ask others at your table for their needs. Also, seems they have a check and balance system which makes getting a menu, drink, or bill and 15-20 minute ordeal everytime. Not a huge thing, but when you stay there for a month, makes you have to set aside two hours to eat a meal each day. But lovely hotel and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Depends on what you want, I stayed on the backside with a view of the valley which was great, co-wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1alwaystraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

The Lemigo seems to be a pretty new hotel on the road from the airport to Kigali. reception area very clean and tidy and the staff friendly. Rooms are generally good - reasonably large and clean but could do with a few more obvious powersockets. The bathroom was a source of problems - the sink was cracked and and whenever partially filled managed to flood the bathroom. The shower wasn't particularly powerful and there was plenty of mould on the floor - whilst the general standard of cleanliness was good the shower could have done with a thorough clean.
Food was OK but the Sunday buffet was a concern. Eating in the evening some of the food had clearly been there for quite some time.
The hotel in general was firendly, but a major annoyance was the live music by the pool. Whilst it was good, and I enjoy entertainment, it was very loud and could clearly be heard in the bedroom. It's prtetty difficult to ignore, and three times in the week I stayed there would seriously put me off staying at the Lemigo again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevecosslett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

First of all, they put us in a basement room with the noise of the swimming pool right there. There was only bad one reading light beside the bed. The room was small and dark. They moved us up a floor and toward the back of the hotel which was better. The window in the bathroom had no screen and we ended up being eaten by mosquitoes. Sex tourism was obvious in the bar area. The place was attempting to be modern but the entry way was ugly as sin. The food wasn't bad but that is about all I can say good about it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zeek4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kigali hotels

Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We recently had the pleasure of staying at this hotel for 3 nights and found it to be a very enjoyable pleasure. Staff were very helpful and remembered our likes and dislikes. Be careful of the conversion rate if you use a credit card. They convert all purchases to dollars at their conversion rate (18% penalty).

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dtraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sooke B.C.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed twice, before and after our Gorilla Trek and found it to be comfortable, clean and well equipped. The pool was nice after a hot and dusty drive back to Kigali. The cleaning crew was very busy during the night and early morning washing and polishing floors and the pool. There was painting being done on railings. The rooms had personal safes, AC, coffee makers provided. Free wifi was great too. The breakfast buffet had lots of choice, no complaints at all. Lasagna at dinner was some of the best we have ever had anywhere.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SookeB.C.Schoolbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
382 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

I recently stayed at the Lemigo Hotel for a few nights. Check in was swift and the room allocated turned out to be a suite.
While well furnished, a few 'finishing' issues as well as 'planning' issues emerged, which overall lessoned what would otherwise have been a good impression, though a distinct odour from the bathroom was lingering throughout my 3 night stay, inspite of opening the bathroom window and running the extractor fan.
Access to sockets was limited, having to even relocate the hot water kettle to the floor to make it work, as no socket on the main desk area was near enough to make it otherwise work. Hence, the good idea turned into a problem.
Likewise, to work on the desk and have a netbook, laptop or tablet plugged in was equally difficult, forcing one to chose to remove either the TV off power, or unplug the fridge or else look for a long extension cable. Same with the bedside tables, where in order to recharge a phone, or camera batteries, one has to unplug the bedside lamp - simply a lack of planning when the hotel was built.
Internet in the room worked via cable, but not well or not at all on wireless, and the same was the case in the restaurant, where not once I could connect. The IT chap tried and in the process managed to crash my browser ...
The food was plenty and varied, though on opening time on each day the staff needed reminding to remove the cellophane covers from the dishes BEFORE guests came to the buffet. The staff generally WAS friendly, or tried, though some not entirely fluent in English, yet their smiles and eagerness made up for that.
The hotel overall looks better than it performed and attention to maintenance and training of staff would surely address some of the issues I mentioned, though the sockets in the rooms are simply in short supply, full stop.

Room Tip: As there are no elevators, rooms on the same level as the reception are the easiest to reach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Safariafficionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kigali hotels
2.4 mi away
Kigali Serena Hotel
Kigali Serena Hotel
#1 of 47 in Kigali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Convention Centre, Kigali
2.5 mi away
Hotel Des Mille Collines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#9 of 47 in Kigali
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
2.3 mi away
Heaven Restaurant & Boutique Hotel
2.5 mi away
Kigali Marriott Hotel
Kigali Marriott Hotel
#5 of 47 in Kigali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lemigo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lemigo Hotel

Property: Lemigo Hotel
Address: KG 624 ST | Kimihurura - Rugando, Kigali, Rwanda
Region: Rwanda > Kigali Province > Kigali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in Kigali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lemigo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lemigo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing