We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff”
Review of Lemigo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lemigo Hotel
Ranked #14 of 48 Hotels in Kigali
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Staff”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed one night en route to Gorilla trekking. The staff were excellent and keen to provide good service. Our room was quiet, clean and comfortable, but the bathroom was very small and in need of refurbishment. Dinner was good, but breakfast just OK (although eggs were freshly cooked to order). Internet worked well. There is a currency exchange desk with reasonable $US rate. Around 15 minutes from the airport.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe8181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    75
    66
    11
    10
See reviews for
9
29
15
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I didn't sleep here. I ate here. And I'm a volunteer on a tight budget. Bear this in mind as you read on. As you're reading on though, bear in mind that I think anybody from anywhere would enjoy this place. The Mille Colline has a pool, but the Lemigo has one with a swim-up bar. (You'll sit with water at about chest-height while you drink. There are stools submerged in water). The food is great-- you won't find better American food in Rwanda. I ate a tuna melt and it wasn't better than the tuna melts at Mamba Club, but it was just as good. A live band with a female singer performed, and it was an atypical Rwandan performance, though a typical one for cities, particularly Kigali. I don't know the cost of a room, but I know they each have a small flat-screen and are spacious. I think anybody who can should sleep here.

Room Tip: The restaurant can be noisy for conversation during performances but the performances are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We found the place to be just fine and a comfortable ending to our four-week sojourn in the region. Staff are service-oriented and try very hard, and generally succeed. Food was surprisingly good. Hotel lay-out is odd: lots of ups and downs where most other places would have taken the extra step to avoid... extra steps, but that might simply be a function of its location on the side of a hill (like much of the country). Did not get to try the swim-up bar, but it's on my list for next time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjw007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
541 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Although this hotel looks nice from the outside and the service staff try their best, the rooms are sub-par in design, maintenance, and cleanliness. Don't believe the brochure or advertisements for this hotel! It is highly overpriced and definitely not anywhere over a 2 star rating.

The first room (#111) we were put in (and subsequently demanded be changed) had window curtains that didn't close in the bathroom allowing individuals in other rooms and the pool area to look directly into the bathroom. To go to the toilet one had to climb over the edge of the base of the shower which protruded and had a sharp corner (that gouged my companion's ankle). There was no remote to turn on the air conditioning unit. The safe was not functional. The cleaning cart was placed right outside the entrance door. The hotel's emergency exit door to the outside was locked open allowing anyone from the outside to access the building unheeded. When we complained we were given a choice of an identical room right next door to the first (still by the unsecured outside) or another one further down the hall (#113) but below ground level with tiny windows looking up to a walkway. The curtains again did not close properly allowing those walking down the walkway from the lobby, restaurant's, or pool to look into the bathroom and bedroom area (we managed to jam the curtains against the gaps as there were no things to hang them on and even if there had been the curtains were too small for the size of the window). There was no safe ( even though there is supposed to be one in every room). The bathroom smelled mildewy and black "mold" type stuff was evident around the shower area. The room was grungy and poorly appointed.

Wait staff in the restaurants are pleasant but poorly trained. However, the food was tasty, fresh, and served at the correct temperature for all choices - the only good thing I can say about this hotel. Fortunately we were only here for one night!

Room Tip: There are no good rooms in this hotel as all are poorly designed. In addition, all look down or are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happytraveller604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Public R, General Manager at Lemigo Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2015
Thanks a great deal for your feedback.

As we speak to you now, all the preventive maintenance issues have now been fixed. We sincerely apologize for the state of affairs and the experience you went through. We wish to inform you that, we have so far liaised with all our relevant hotel departments to avert such problems in future to you, or to any other guest.

Should you plan to come to Lemigo Hotel or any of your friends, please note that we have better rooms : Executive Rooms, Junior Suites , Executive Suites, and Presidential Suite at your disposal based on your preference. Our new hotel building is wonderful and we will offer the best rooms upon completion by 2016 and you are welcome.

Please do not hesitate to call our Duty Manager or our General Manager if you are completely dissatisfied with any of our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kigali hotels

Rhodes, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

As with most every location in Kigali, the staff were almost 99% wonderful. This hotel is clean and well run; the in-house restaurant serves good food at a reasonable price. Security is excellent, as it is in almost all of Rwanda. But I have a real beef about my room: it had two very narrow twin beds (I haven't slept in a bed that small since I was a child); the bathroom was extremely small with a tiny tiny tiny shower stall (you couldn't turn around in it!) with a plugged up drain so the bathroom flooded. Amenities were substandard and wifi was simply not connectable: you'd connect and three seconds later, it would disconnect itself. There is also no lift, making it difficult to get to any room -- there are many stairs! There was also one staff member who was extremely rude, so rude I reported him to the hotel manager. That one person was my single bad experience in Rwanda so that's too bad.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTJodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Public R, General Manager at Lemigo Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2015
Many thanks for your comments. We are sorry to have given you a room which did not measure up to your expectations! Please note that for your comfort, better rooms are available: Executive Rooms , Junior Suites, Executive Suites and Presidential Suite depending on your preference.

All preventive Maintenance issues have so far been corrected and we look forward to adding more better rooms once our new hotel building is completed , come 2016. It will have guest lifts as well as service lifts, and gentle slopes, proper mapping signs will also be put in place for easy access through out the building.

Lemigo Hotel does not condone acts of indiscipline amongst staff even to our guests. The staff in question faced severe disciplinary action and has so far changed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

This is definitely not a 4-star establishment ..... Over-priced, poor service, poorly designed rooms, average food, untrained staff, bad wi-fi connection etc etc. I certainly expected a lot more at that price and will not return, given the choice. Everything seemed to be a mission, from taking a correct order, checking out, to knowing what a fried egg was at breakfast time.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank GertHofhuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Public R, General Manager at Lemigo Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2015
We thank you for your feedback. We completely understand your frustration that you were unable to get our usual good service across the board, and for that we sincerely apologize. We have met as a Management and have so far addressed all your concerns to avert such problems in future to you, or to any other guest.

We have better Rooms : Executive Rooms, Junior Suites, Executive Suites and a Presidential Suite at your disposal based on your preference.

Our New Hotel building will be up and running by 2016 and you will find good amenities that you would expect to find in a fine Hotel. If you plan to come to Lemigo Hotel or any of your friends in future, Please do not hesitate to call our Duty Manager if you are not happy with our services or even to our General Manager if you are completely dissatisfied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I was in Kigali on a short but quite busy trip and man, I loved Lemigo. Good food, good ambiance. It is is also perfect for work trip as there is WiFi access almost everywhere so you enjoy both the stay and work environment.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skasoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Public R, Marketing Manager at Lemigo Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2015
Thank you for your review regarding your stay at the Lemigo Hotel. You’re positive comments concerning your overall experience at our hotel.

I want to thank you for the kind words concerning the service received from our hosts, the delicious food and the exceptional WIFI access you can get everywhere. It is rewarding to read that we met your expectations and are delighted that you appreciated this aspect of your stay. I also want to share with you that we are currently expanding the hotel and it will be wonderful! Hopefully come 2016.

Thank you for taking the time to write and we look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kigali hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Convention Centre, Kigali
2.5 mi away
Hotel Des Mille Collines
2.4 mi away
Kigali Serena Hotel
Kigali Serena Hotel
#1 of 48 in Kigali
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Kigali Marriott Hotel
Kigali Marriott Hotel
#2 of 48 in Kigali
134 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#10 of 48 in Kigali
170 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Legacy Hotel
Grand Legacy Hotel
#4 of 48 in Kigali
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lemigo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lemigo Hotel

Property: Lemigo Hotel
Address: Kg 624 St | Kimihurura - Rugando, Kigali, Rwanda
Region: Rwanda > Kigali Province > Kigali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 48 Hotels in Kigali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lemigo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lemigo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing