We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, reasonable price”
Review of Hotel Chez Lando

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Chez Lando
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Kigali
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I stayed at Chez Lando a couple times. I travel on business and my allowance for accommodation is much more than what I pay at Chez Lando. I go there becasue I like the place. I like the garden. The way the rooms are built, you feel like you have your own garden. It is also quite. I also like their bar where you can mix with locals. The only thing I don't like is their breakfast juice. It is factory made and I did not like the test. They have a lot of fruit, I don't understand why they don't prepare fresh juice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Godana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChezLandoMgt, customer care at Hotel Chez Lando, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Tufa,
It's a pleasure to see your interesting and encouraging review as one of our regular customers,it's a great contribution for us and we will keep on improving our services to make Chez Lando much better for all its guests,your advice on the breakfast is also well noted.

Thanks again for choosing Chez Lando, you're valuable to us.
Customer care Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

The place is undergoing renovation for quite a long time now. The old portion stinks due to dampness in walls. The biggest plust point claimed by the front office is their buffet breakfast, which is no doubt very good. The internet speed is also pretty good and the television has about 10 channels both in French and English. The manager is hard to find and doesn't seem keen to meet the guests.

Room Tip: Don't go for the old portion, it stinks. The washroom walls are damp and lack ventilation. For...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aliv43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChezLandoMgt, customer care at Hotel Chez Lando, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Ali,
Thanks for sharing your experience at Chez lando with other travelers, we're pleased to hear that you've enjoyed your stay, we took note of your remark and we hope the refurbishment of the standard rooms will begin soon as planned,

You're always welcome at Chez Lando,
Customer care Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This three star hotel is a little oasis in busy and bustling Kigali. Te rooms are good value and beds are comfortable, the bathrooms are good. This is not the height of luxury but well kept pleasant accommodation that is spotlessly clean.

The bar is pleasant and lively with local people and the bar food of an evening is good and cheap. There is a main restaurant but I did not eat there.

Staff are friendly and whilst grateful if tipped never push for a tip.

The hotel is well place for the city and is only about a 15 minute drive from the airport. This was my second visit to the hotel and would happily return. My one recommendation is though all of the rooms are good the rooms over looking the garden are probably the most pleasant.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IckenhamChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChezLandoMgt, customer care at Hotel Chez Lando, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Chris,
We're humbly honored and encouraged by your review, it's a big pleasure for our team and we'll ensure that your next stay will also be decent and memorable!
Thanks again for staying with us,

You're always welcome!
Customer care Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I stayed in the $100 bungalow room. You get a semicircular room, of which half is the bathroom, and a view over the unspectacular gardens. Perhaps the upstairs rooms are brighter, but downstairs its dingy. Even in daytime you need the lights on.

Curtains don't fit/ work, room and everything smells strongly of insecticide, even the pillows. Despite the screens, mosquitoes get into the room. Shower immediately floods the bathroom, which doesn't have a drain hole in the floor. You get the picture.

Special mention of the breakfast which is so awful it must be deliberate policy. Even the "African tea" hasn't got any colour or flavour, but try the coffee and you'll wish it didn't either. Tiny amount of available fruit is fermented/ overripe/ soggy. One baguette - seriously, there's one baguette. Stale croissants with texture like old cake. There's a metal tray of luminous yellow sliced cheese. Some mushy things are bubbling in a corner - and there's a sad heap of sliced omelettes. Incredible.

I asked if I could have a room away from the road like other travellers suggested - yes, I was told, your room is long way from the road. Actually, it's 5m away behind a fence.

Room Tip: 114-134 bungalows might be further from the road. Upstairs rooms couldn't be dingier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MugsVern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChezLandoMgt, customer care at Hotel Chez Lando, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear,
We're disappointed that your stay with us didn't match your expectations,we will continue to put all our efforts to offer a decent stay to our customers by both renovating our premises and upgrading our services.
You're always welcome at Chez lando,
Customer care Department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

A lot of it is the people. I guess that's true about anything. They make the difference between business-as-usual and a personal experience. I will not say that this is a 4 or 5 star hotel where you sink into a luxurious experience, but it is nevertheless something that remains personal.
The staff are all professional, by which I mean they uphold good standards, but they are also friendly on a personal level. Several of them remember me from year to year, even continuing the friendship through email after we've left. That's gotta make you feel good.
The value, the settings, and the service are more than the price you pay. But it's that personal touch that keeps me coming back.
My one complaint is about the hookers that come wandering into the restaurant downstairs. It may be difficult to enforce, but you need to get rid of them.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dale G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChezLandoMgt, customer care at Hotel Chez Lando, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Dale,
It's a pleasure for our team to see your encouraging review,our staff will keep on increasing their service and giving their best in order to make Chez Lando a home and a friendly place for all our visitors,
you're always welcome at Chez Lando,
Customer service Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Clearly a landmark place in Kigali with its history (owner Lando and his Canadian wife were one of the first victims of the genocide), the hotel offers clean, simple rooms that are comfortable. Maybe the price of the higher end rooms are overcharged (100 USD rooms are pretty much the same as the 60 USD ones). Location is central in Kigali, easy to reach pretty much everywhere in the city from there including the airport.
Service in the restaurants is excruciatingly slow, sloppy and substandard. The food is of average quality but the prices for the food is just.
Overall, it's ok to stay there without raising too much expectations of the service quality.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank Banu_Altunbas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChezLandoMgt, customer care at Hotel Chez Lando, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Banu,
Thanks for sharing a review on our services,The Food & Beverage Team has taken measures in order to improve the services provided in our restaurant & Bar and we hope you will find an improvement during your next stay.
Thanks for staying with us,
You're always welcome at Chez Lando,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

First, a comment on Kigali, what a fantastic African city! Hotel Chez Lando is a mid-range hotel that was one of the few priced under our $130/day budget. The hotel was not terrible but also not great. A list of the pros and cons below:

Pros: Friendly staff, nice location close to the city and lots of small stores/banks/etc right outside the gate, nice hot showers, really nicely landscaped gardens!

Cons: The room decor is certainly dated and lighting quite dingy, no pool or gym, they don't allow laptops in the restaurant (really annoying for those of us on business trips), and the street noise is quite loud!

Overall, I'd stay here again for the price, but next time I'd hope they don't kick me out of the restaurant for a laptop or because they want to clean at 10am.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TTapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChezLandoMgt, customer care at Hotel Chez Lando, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear,
It's a pleasure for us to hear a feedback of our services as it's also an opportunity for us to improve our services and to ensure a decent stay to our customers,we really appreciate your positive feedback and we took a note of the negative ones but note that:
-Chez Lando is a hotel which is still under a reconstruction& rehabilitation process after being destroyed during the genocide, so the pool and the gym may be part of this process in the coming future.
-our guests are allowed to use their laptops everywhere in the hotel(Rooms &balcony, lobby, bar, Barbecue,upstairs Terrasse, Gardens, etc) except the restaurant which is a dinning area reserved only for the mentioned above.
we humbly apologize for any inconvenience that it has caused,
Thanks for staying with us,
You're always welcome at Chez Lando,
Customer care Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kigali hotels
3.3 mi away
Hotel Des Mille Collines
0.3 mi away
Grand Legacy Hotel
Grand Legacy Hotel
#4 of 49 in Kigali
182 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Convention Centre, Kigali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Heaven Restaurant & Boutique Hotel
2.0 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#11 of 49 in Kigali
178 reviews
3.2 mi away
Kigali Serena Hotel
Kigali Serena Hotel
#2 of 49 in Kigali
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chez Lando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chez Lando

Address: KG 201st , Airport Roa | Remera, Kigali, Rwanda
Phone Number:
Region: Rwanda > Kigali Province > Kigali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kigali
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kigali
Price Range: £86 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chez Lando 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Chez Lando, is your first window to Rwanda. At Chez Lando, we apply the tradition of Rwandan hospitality to the needs of modern travelers; we cater to the smallest detail of your stay. Our quaint garden-style hotel is located just five minutes from Kigali International Airport and is right on the way to the heart of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HRS, Ebookers, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Chez Lando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chez Lando Kigali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing